English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2020, 12:16   #1
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
PicassoIV screen resolution and memory support

Hi,
It is normal for PicassoIV not to accept 1920x1080 @ 60
For lack of memory (4mb)
Or am I wrong in the settings?
Thank you
White is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 14:15   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,934
Come on, use your pocket calculator.

1920 * 1080 = 2073600

That's the amount of bytes you need for one byte per pixel (256 colors). If you choose a 16bit mode you need twice as much. If you use a 32bit mode it needs it four times, 8294400 Bytes, that's almost 8 MB.

In addition to that, high resolutions also need high frequencies. The PIV is not able to run at such a high pixel clock.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 14:38   #3
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
@thomas

I thought that somehow the obstacle could be overcome.
many times I need to use PicassoIV to install software without problems.
For example AmiCygnix as well as E-UAE cannot be installed with UAEGFX mode.
So I will use the allowed PicassoIV mode.

Thanks a lot for your reply.
White is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 17:28   #4
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 195
I think that none of old RTG cards use HD mode. For that use UAE Zorro.

This is from http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/picasso4 :

" screen modes
1600×1200×16 interlace
1280×1024×24 non-interlace"
Tomislav is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 17:52   #5
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
@Tomislav
Thanks again for the further explanations
I thought that with winuae there could be a way to overcome the obstacle.
I use UAEGFX, with PicassoIV I only need it for compatibility for the installation of some programs.
Although I must say that Odyssey and SMTube works very well with PicassoIV obviously with lower resolutions.
Once the software is installed with PicassoIV then I can use it with UAEGFX without problems.
I was testing AmiCygnix once installed with PicassoIV
Using it with UAEGFX currently seems to work.
But the amiga environment is sometimes very closed obviously if you use winuae, but this does not limit the freedom to use and try it.
In addition to many users available and there are many, towards this use of "emulated Amiga"
because computer science remains computer science, it just has to work.
It is not a choice of factions but it is pure freedom :-)
Thanks again.
White is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 06:47   #6
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Hi,
It is normal for PicassoIV not to accept 1920x1080 @ 60
For lack of memory (4mb)
Or am I wrong in the settings?
Thank you
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Come on, use your pocket calculator.

1920 * 1080 = 2073600

That's the amount of bytes you need for one byte per pixel (256 colors). If you choose a 16bit mode you need twice as much. If you use a 32bit mode it needs it four times, 8294400 Bytes, that's almost 8 MB.

In addition to that, high resolutions also need high frequencies. The PIV is not able to run at such a high pixel clock.
I muse with Thomas here, he's correct and knows it.

Picasso 4 was made well before 1920x1080 was a consideration. Well before WinUAE was considered. You need UAEGFX..which doesn't use Picasso 4 but uses Picasso96.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 12:11   #7
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
Hi AC/DC HACKER!,
Yes, generally I use UAEGFX for everything, PICASSOIV I need for a greater compatibility for some installations that otherwise fail.
In this case the question about the resolution was only an aesthetic improvement.
But as you say, UAEGFX is better.

separate note:
many people do not watch videos, for example using PicassoIV with SMTube associated with MickjT-MPlayer it works, but it has some color problems for example in some cases the video is played sometimes on a grayscale with other colors.
And keep in mind that I have never set PicassoIV as the main graphics driver.
But somehow this shows that the configuration of WinUAE is important, but the settings of AmigaOS 4.1FE are fundamental for a good use.
Here I simply set PicassoIV as a graphics driver without going to configure the rest of the operating system to adapt it to PicassoIV.
Obviously, for example, Emotion-Player does not work with PicassoIV
while MickjT-MPlayer works well.

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by White; 07 March 2020 at 12:27. Reason: edit
White is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 13:17   #8
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
Here for example FFPlay works with PicassoIV
but there is the problem of grayscale otherwise it is perfect.
To be honest I have never set up the entire system based only on PicassoIV I should probably change settings in the player.
But I don't think that's the problem.
here FFPlay with PicassoIV

[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 14:04   #9
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
@All
Okay, my mistake, it's fair to admit the mistakes but I don't really know the Amiga NG hardware
Just select RGB 16 with PicassoIV

Here FFPlay video and TwitchTV Live with Odyssey with the right colors.

It would be nice to improve this.
For this reason I always ask
here the video:
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 22 March 2020, 04:35   #10
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 515
White,

Mistakes or something most people are programmed to "believe" in. If you learn, you don't make mistakes. So, anyway, you're not showing Amiga NG hardware in the video. It's totally WinUAE.

FFMpeg is functioning with Picasso 4 because it's the chosen screen resolution and driver. It would do the same with UAEGFx. You're misunderstanding how FFPlay functions.

Check FFPlay switches/arguments for Color options.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 22 March 2020, 06:08   #11
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 568
Hi, AC/DC HACKER!
you're probably right,
but as I have repeatedly said, everything works with UAEGFX the system has become truly usable.
With the new Odyssey beta 04 I can also access Youtube and work with YoutubeStudio and always upload videos with Odyssey.
Google Mail and others work.
I avoid doing it for security reasons.

Mine is a continuous search for a "standard" configuration that is compatible with all the software available for the 4.1FE update1

I finally achieved this goal.
Although somewhat strange the configuration works.

I would ask Toni many questions but I cannot continuously talk about 4.1 and I understand this because it would become boring for him.

Why WinUAE is made for 3.xx and works very well and personally I don't have many questions about it, although there is always something to learn.

After many requests this is the Radeon table on a real machine on which I want to try to work on other tests:
(0x00000052)
CLUT
R5G6B5PC
A8R8G8B8

CLUT8
RGB16PC
ARGB32

I will probably not be able to get much out of it, but at least I can try.
Currently the list of software that works with 4.1 is very long
the fact remains that a very fast processor is needed.
With FFPlay I see streams on TwichTv etc. using UAEGFX without any problem of wrong colors.

Toni got busy with winUAE and as I said several times his work is extraordinary.
In fact, he is also very patient in answering some questions made by many users, including me.

The research on my part of this compatibility is due to the installation of some applications that necessarily require the use of PicassoIV.

For example, try to install AmiCygnix with all its applications with UAEGFX will never be successful.
It is necessary to use PicassoIV during installation, then later you can use UAEGFX once installed.
And so it is with E-UAE.

It would be nice to have a "promiscuous" UAEGFX driver that has the characteristics of both.
But this is not part of my skills and I have no idea if it is possible to achieve it.

And then I ask questions to see if I can achieve these goals with my tests.
But they work, are not just words of requests without factual data.

The problem is that few people are interested in 4.1 but from the internet point of view 4.1 is better, even if emulated with winUAE
For games, the story is different, but years ago it was not said that amigaos could not be emulated.
Today we have the answer here, it's winUAE, many people contributed to get today's results with their reports.
And Toni has done an extraordinary job as mentioned above.

I conclude by saying that if you try to use sb128 with ahi with Odyssey you will hear a distorted sound when playing videos on Youtube.
The fix of the fm801 was an essential fix to make the best use of Odyssey with youtube.

And sincerely, every now and then I hope for some new fixes regarding the UAEGFX driver, improving it ultimately.

As always mine is a constructive speech.
And your opinions and advice are always welcome.
White is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution Autoswitch + Auto Integer Scaling: Screen stuck 25% below top of screen bladecgn support.WinUAE 21 17 March 2019 17:52
FS-UAE [Launcher] to support old tv resolution ViLXDRYAD support.FS-UAE 2 30 June 2017 01:12
Workbench Screen resolution Bullwinkle55 support.FS-UAE 6 04 October 2014 11:07
PicassoIV + Deneb bus master support? Geijer support.Hardware 5 12 August 2011 07:15
Getting screen resolution Another World support.WinUAE 15 09 December 2008 21:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07193 seconds with 13 queries