English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2011, 09:55   #1
petran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
Mike the Magic Dragon: in-game problem or WinUAE problem?

a simple platformer popular mostly in German-speaking countries.
You control a small dragon and in every stage you have to collect orbs and 3 letters in a specific order, usually related to computer science (RAM, CPU, KEY etc). If you do that correctly a key appears and you're off to the next stage. If not you start from the beginning with the same 3 letters and all orbs already collected. Orbs are necessary for the key to appear so key is already there.

You have to avoid the enemy's of each stage (ghosts, pumpkin heads etc), bullets and when time runs out a spider descends from above, making life even more difficult.

You can collect 2 parachutes in each stage so if you fall off a platform you can use it to land safely.

Intro music is the famous song from Miami Vice

[ Show youtube player ]

You can download the game here

http://www.back2roots.org/Games/ADF-Games/M/20/


Now here is tje problem. No matter in which order I collect the letters, even by going back through save states or replaying the stage I always get an "WRONG" code and repeat the stage.

I havent played the game in a real amiga for a long time but I remember that someone managed to reach the second stage where the platforms change and bullets become even more.

Back2roots hosts correct dumps from what I know. Has it to do with WinUAE or the game? can someone try this on a real Amiga?

thanks.
petran is offline  
Old 13 July 2011, 11:26   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,910
Usually these kinds of problems are caused by a bad crack.

Game is also very old, try using ks1.2 ocs 512k configuration without any extra drives configured.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 July 2011, 14:53   #3
petran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
you are probably right. so no chance to finish the game.

I also played the Commodore 64 version (easier since there are no enemies). when I collect all the letters and reach the key the game freezes and garbled colours flip in the background.

the demo version of the sequel, Runaway Mike, runs fine. there is no letter code though, you just collect orbs and the key appears.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mike.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	101.3 KB
ID:	29086  
petran is offline  
Old 13 July 2011, 14:58   #4
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
I see on Hall of Light that it's available as .ipf (SPS project).
http://hol.abime.net/2478

If you can find it you can play it from the original disk's image...
Supamax is offline  
Old 14 July 2011, 08:48   #5
petran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
Problem is I cant find it anywhere. Probably it is not officially released yet.
petran is offline  
Old 14 July 2011, 15:30   #6
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by petran View Post
Problem is I cant find it anywhere. Probably it is not officially released yet.
You're probably right... it's number 3072:
http://www.softpres.org/?id=:games&gameid=3072
Supamax is offline  
Old 14 July 2011, 17:00   #7
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 57
Posts: 564
I see it keeps high scores, maybe it needs to be write enabled..

On the atari 8 bit that caused issues with some games, maybe same with this on the Amiga?
Mclane is offline  
Old 14 July 2011, 21:51   #8
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 42
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by petran View Post
Problem is I cant find it anywhere. Probably it is not officially released yet.
It was given to the contributor(s). We don't distribute for obvious reasons...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 07 November 2011, 20:39   #9
petran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
On Youtube I had posted a clip from the game and got the following answer:

Emulation problem! To get to the next level, even the crack would only work on an Amiga 500 with Kick 1.2, and 512K of memory. Unfortunately, even with this config, WinUE fails. I can only play it on my original Amiga hardware.
petran is offline  
Old 07 November 2011, 23:29   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,780
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
kingsoft games are most of the time nastily protected.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 17:07   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,910
Sorry but I won't trust any youtube comments (or any other similar useless comments).

It must be confirmed by someone who can guarantee he used correct configuration (not just some "ks1.2" config from the net): quickstart 1.2, 512k only, most compatible, no extra drives.

EDIT: and of course to test it on real Amiga too. Using _exact_ same image.

(I don't test play games that require too much time)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 08 November 2011 at 17:25.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 November 2011, 13:44   #12
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
The original is protected, but I bet - like most games using the same protection - it is playable to some degree without the correct protection... so I'd say the game you are trying to use is missing the correct protection data.
IFW is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 14:38   #13
petran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
well that guy posted the comment

http://www.youtube.com/user/Thunderblade64

he seems proficient in Computer Science.

Anyway thanks for the feedback! There goes my dream of finishing a favourite childhood game
petran is offline  
Old 11 November 2011, 17:25   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,910
There are two versions in Tosec.

Mike the Magic Dragon (1987)(Kingsoft). This matches BTTR version. Perhaps this is not cracked (It attempts to read track 80 which is probably the protection track)

Mike the Magic Dragon (1987)(Kingsoft)[cr Quadlite] (Tiny cracktro and does not read track 80)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2013, 15:12   #15
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 42
Posts: 1,374
Ok, some time has passed...

I can confirm that the game works straight from disk, and yes, it accesses track 80.1, where it looks for a protection screen.

I am going to test one of the ADF versions now. If these access track 80, I am sure it won't work...
mr.vince is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mike the magic dragon petran support.Games 7 03 June 2011 20:28
Mike the magic dragon s2325 HOL data problems 1 03 February 2011 07:38
Pinball Wizard - f*ck mike the magic dragon edition Bamiga2002 support.Games 1 19 January 2011 01:07
Problem with Dragon's lair (WHDload version) Amigamancer support.Games 6 22 March 2005 17:06
WinUAE 0822R3 - Telechubbies pd game problem... ElectroBlaster support.WinUAE 2 14 December 2002 19:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07920 seconds with 14 queries