English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 September 2017, 10:40   #21
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
I've just tried Lagarith and it looks good. HOWEVER, I'm still having the sync issue with the audio.

I uncheck all the boxes above the "AVI Output" record button, and record as usual, but I notice that if there's a long silence before a demo starts, then when I play the video back the audio for the demo starts immediately, even during the loading WB screen! It's as if the audio part won't record until there's audio output. I don't see an option for that. What's going on?
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 13:34   #22
JanciB
Registered User
JanciB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bratislava / Slovakia
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I uncheck all the boxes above the "AVI Output" record button, and record as usual, but I notice that if there's a long silence before a demo starts, then when I play the video back the audio for the demo starts immediately, even during the loading WB screen! It's as if the audio part won't record until there's audio output. I don't see an option for that. What's going on?
In the Sound config untick "Automatic switching"
JanciB is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 17:47   #23
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanciB View Post
In the Sound config untick "Automatic switching"
What does that do? When does it switch?
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 17:52   #24
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
What does that do? When does it switch?
It switches off sound emulation after few second delay when there is no sound register/dma activity.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanciB View Post
In the Sound config untick "Automatic switching"
This should have been fixed already.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 18:28   #25
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Thanks, Toni.

I found the purpose on Google, from the Abime site itself: http://guide.abime.net/wb3.1/chap1.htm


Quote:
Optional - From WinUAE 1.3.3 you will notice a new tick box labelled 'Automatic switching'. Ticking this box will disable sound emulation when it's not required, reducing CPU load, and auto enable when the software requires sound)
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 18:31   #26
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This should have been fixed already.
I left it ticked, as that's how I found it. I didn't even know what it did back then, and I never noticed any problems. I might just untick it for good now, seeing as I've got enough processing power anyway.
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 19:47   #27
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Can someone recommend to me a good AVI>MP4 compression tool? I have tried Handbrake, as I used it with the Shadowplay videos, but it doesn't seem to convert that well, and in any case, I would prefer something that is simple to use, has good quality and retains the original 720x576 resolution and 50fps framerate I'm using.

Any ideas?
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 20:08   #28
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Tried Lagarith and it works fine with WinUAE. Just one BIG problem: Files gets MUCH bigger than files recorded with TSCC? I though Lagarith would have better compression? In TSCC there is a compression slider, there is no such thing in Lagarith?

Recorded a game with no scrolling for 30 seconds:

TSCC = 6 Mb
Lagarith = 35 Mb!
hipoonios is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 20:31   #29
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Tried Lagarith and it works fine with WinUAE. Just one BIG problem: Files gets MUCH bigger than files recorded with TSCC? I though Lagarith would have better compression? In TSCC there is a compression slider, there is no such thing in Lagarith?

Recorded a game with no scrolling for 30 seconds:

TSCC = 6 Mb
Lagarith = 35 Mb!
Because Lagarith is lossless.
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 20:35   #30
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
So is TSCC
hipoonios is offline  
Old 06 September 2017, 20:58   #31
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
So is TSCC
Fair enough.

I've settled on the video codecs, so now can someone recommend an MP3 or AAC codec? I'm using the default PCM but I think I need something compressed.

Any ideas?
Foebane is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 02:03   #32
Al82
Registered User
Al82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 87
I used to use VirtualDub and Lame MP3 codec, but I recently moved to using FFMPEG directly from the command line as this has support for x.264 (plus x.265), AAC and mkv/mp4 containers right out of the box.

Handbrake is basically a GUI slapped on top of FFMPEG, but I found that I still had more control over the output by using FFMPEG natively.

Example:

Code:
ffmpeg -i "input.avi" -vf scale=iw*4:ih*4:flags=neighbor -c:a aac -b:a 320k -c:v libx264 -crf 10 -profile:v high -level 4.0 -preset slow -pix_fmt yuv420p -f matroska "output.mkv"
The above would take an input video (input.avi) and create an upscaled (400%) output video using x264 and AAC audio in an .mkv container. It gives you an idea of what you can do with it

If you want an idea of the output quality: https://www.youtube.com/user/kkbigal/videos

They usually still look/sound pretty good even after going through the YouTube sausage machine
Al82 is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 06:13   #33
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Is there a keyboard shortcut for "AVI output enabled"?

Also, does FFMPEG offer fade in/out or any kind of support for AVISynth?
Foebane is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 11:01   #34
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,511
You can map any keyboard/joypad/mouse button to Audio/Video recording:



I also had the sound output problem. Had to manually synch audio and video in VirtualDub with audio interleaving. Good to know about "Automatic Switching".
john4p is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 20:17   #35
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Tried it, ran into problems, and I've given up. I think it's better to use an external recorder anyway rather than try and make WinUAE handle all recording duties as well as running the emulation, and I found one called Bandicam. I might consider giving it a try later on, but I think the live emulation should be a priority, the videos were only ever for when I was away from the PC anyway.

BTW, how do I uninstall the Techsoft codec? There's nothing on "Programs and Features" to allow me to do so.
Foebane is offline  
Old 09 September 2017, 13:56   #36
Al82
Registered User
Al82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Tried Lagarith and it works fine with WinUAE. Just one BIG problem: Files gets MUCH bigger than files recorded with TSCC? I though Lagarith would have better compression? In TSCC there is a compression slider, there is no such thing in Lagarith?

Recorded a game with no scrolling for 30 seconds:

TSCC = 6 Mb
Lagarith = 35 Mb!
The codec appears to be available here: http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...ture_codec.htm

I downloaded it and recorded 2 identical longplay videos (1 hour 55 minutes of footage) using Lagarith and the TSCC codec (set to best compression).

You're absolutely right - the TSCC compression was over twice as efficient with no apparent degradation in quality:

Lagarith: 10.4 GB
TSCC: 5.2 GB
Al82 is offline  
Old 09 September 2017, 14:25   #37
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al82 View Post
The codec appears to be available here: http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...ture_codec.htm
Guess this is the 30 days trial version?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al82 View Post
I downloaded it and recorded 2 identical longplay videos (1 hour 55 minutes of footage) using Lagarith and the TSCC codec (set to best compression).

You're absolutely right - the TSCC compression was over twice as efficient with no apparent degradation in quality:

Lagarith: 10.4 GB
TSCC: 5.2 GB
Thanks for testing and confirm. I got 8 times smaller files by using TSCC. But need do more tests with games that uses scrolling. I actually upload all my videos in loseless/TSCC for best results. I will also later offer my longplays in lossless for download once my new website is done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al82 View Post
If you want an idea of the output quality: https://www.youtube.com/user/kkbigal/videos
Good videos! - You are one of the few people on YouTube that can record Amiga Longplays properly (50 fps/cropping/centered etc..)
hipoonios is offline  
Old 09 September 2017, 14:45   #38
Al82
Registered User
Al82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Guess this is the 30 days trial version?
Doesn't seem to indicate whether it is or isn't - the file appears to be dated from 2012. I guess I'll find out in a month

Thanks for the comment about the videos - it was watching your videos (and World of Longplays) that got me into doing them in the first place

In fact, I'd like to ask you about your recording process for your Amiga videos. I'll send you a PM if you don't mind?
Al82 is offline  
Old 09 September 2017, 15:22   #39
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Well,

I plan to write a detailed tutorial on how to make longplays like a PRO! But I'd rather wait until the new Amiga longplay site is finished. Not that you need a PRO guide because you are already PRO enough

I have many new ideas for a new Amiga Longplay site and can now encode my files much smaller than the method we used for Recorded Amiga Games (..and the one they still using on World of Longplays).

The new website will be a bit different than Recorded Amiga Games. The biggest difference will be that there will be no official YouTube account. Instead we will let people have the videos on their own channels. So we will link to these videos from the site (..of course they need to encode a download version for the site). We think this will make people more motivated to make longplays because they will get more views on their videos (+more subscribers).

Do not watch the World of Longplays videos. Now there's only 1-2 people that submits Amiga videos and all these videos are just re-uploads from their own channels. Ironclaw is the one who records most of these longplays. But you can watch them on his own channel 6-8 months earlier on his own channel
hipoonios is offline  
Old 12 September 2017, 17:09   #40
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Tried it, ran into problems, and I've given up.
It looks like I was wrong. When I ran into problems with running the AVI encoder, it was with a demo that had worked before, but it turns out the demo fails under 3.5.0 - the demo is "Hotstyle Takeover" by Loonies, and it crashes early on in the second half when before it didn't.

In any case, I've found a better way of recording Amiga demos, externally:

OBS Studio

You have to download it and the CoreAudio drivers by Apple to encode better quality audio, but it can produce smoother, better results with no changes to configs or anything. I've also tried it with other emulators and they work fine.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording sound in WinUAE ldaneels support.WinUAE 13 25 May 2013 13:44
recording audio via winuae stevorino support.WinUAE 2 27 May 2011 13:17
Input Recording Problems (Winuae 1.3+) hipoonios support.WinUAE 19 11 October 2010 08:21
Recording Amiga games videos project bLAZER Retrogaming General Discussion 1 20 December 2009 15:29
Recording makes the Winuae superslow MRZ support.WinUAE 24 13 March 2002 01:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09576 seconds with 14 queries