English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 February 2017, 01:45   #1
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 88
Amiga 600 Case Tabs

The tabs on the sides of my A600 finally broke off. This isn't so bad on the left side where a case screw helps to hold the case together, but on the side by the floppy, it sucks -- the case just gapes without the tab. Tried gluing with ABS glue, but it just breaks off again and again. Sigh.

Curious, what do others do? Do you accept the fact that the case is 20+ years old and let it be or have you rigged something to keep the case closed tight? Curious to see what ya'll have done.
mattsoft is offline  
Old 27 February 2017, 06:26   #2
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,614
Try acetone to see if they can be secured. Super glue will not work.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 27 February 2017, 08:48   #3
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 906
I fabricate new tabs from a old spare case and file them to shape and super glue them , they work great.

@ Tjlazer it has to be `superglue gel` then it will work

Last edited by supaduper; 28 February 2017 at 09:13.
supaduper is online now  
Old 27 February 2017, 18:09   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I let it be, but I thought about fixing this for a while. Maybe a project for the future. But I like how "used" my Amiga looks. I had it for over 20 years, it must keep and show history :P
Akira is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 20:51   #5
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,307
A simple way to keep the back closed is just to use matte scotch tape. Practically invisible and easy to replace.
ajk is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 21:13   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
A simple way to keep the back closed is just to use matte scotch tape. Practically invisible and easy to replace.
I love that scotch tape but after it being applied for a while it becomes super difficult to remove. Also not very good if you have to pop open the machine frequently (like I do, damn that stupid keyboard connector!)
Akira is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 22:08   #7
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 42
Posts: 626
Generally just live with it but I did try a proper repair on my main A600. Light brass plate/foil, the heaviest guage than you can shape easily enough, epoxy glue and clamp the snapped pieces back in place til set. Worked pretty well -

http://s181.photobucket.com/user/doo...tml?sort=6&o=1

http://s181.photobucket.com/user/doo...tml?sort=6&o=3
jimbob is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 22:36   #8
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Generally just live with it but I did try a proper repair on my main A600. Light brass plate/foil, the heaviest guage than you can shape easily enough, epoxy glue and clamp the snapped pieces back in place til set. Worked pretty well -

http://s181.photobucket.com/user/doo...tml?sort=6&o=1

http://s181.photobucket.com/user/doo...tml?sort=6&o=3
That's impressive. I tried to do something similar using marine epoxy but they still failed. if only Commodore was able to put a single screw mount in the right side of the case like they did on the left -- then the clips become redundant.
mattsoft is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 10:49   #9
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 906
These are the clips I made from a broken case ,I just cut rough pieces from the case and shaped them with a needle file
Click image for larger version

Name:	A600 clips.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	498.9 KB
ID:	52315
supaduper is online now  
Old 02 March 2017, 12:07   #10
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I love that scotch tape but after it being applied for a while it becomes super difficult to remove. Also not very good if you have to pop open the machine frequently (like I do, damn that stupid keyboard connector!)
That is true, it's no good if you need to open the machine up often.

I haven't had problems with the keyboard cable coming loose mechanically speaking, although if the contacts are worn, re-seating the cable is sometimes needed.
ajk is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 17:40   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
I haven't had problems with the keyboard cable coming loose mechanically speaking, although if the contacts are worn, re-seating the cable is sometimes needed.
Yeah mine never comes off, is that the slightest whatever that happens in the Universe makes a re-seating needed, often times a very long and annoying process until all keys work fine!
I have to do this more often than I'd want.
Akira is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 19:25   #12
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 40
Posts: 827
I just use thin strips of white duct tape to hold it... not ideal, but those damn clips break off way too easily.
alenppc is offline  
Old 03 March 2017, 13:52   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsoft View Post
if only Commodore was able to put a single screw mount in the right side of the case like they did on the left -- then the clips become redundant.
Make a screw hole yourself using epoxy putty.
idrougge is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 600 Rack mount Case Spacemonkey Hardware mods 28 12 July 2017 19:23
AMIGA CASE : New computer case for classic Amiga 1200, Thin Mini-ITX and Raspberry PI Schuimpy Amiga scene 141 13 June 2016 12:42
Example Code MUI Tabs tygre Coders. C/C++ 1 12 September 2015 02:29
Amiga 600 in Amiga 1200 case? Amelia Skye support.Hardware 1 24 September 2014 22:02
Amiga 600 in a 1200 case? sleggan support.Hardware 6 15 February 2011 08:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07954 seconds with 14 queries