English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 April 2020, 23:08   #1401
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
You cannot boot off an Amithlon CD and expect audio or USB or anything to work, it is a completely unpatched system with zero kernel modules loaded.

You can tell if a system can easily boot Amithlon, but you need to install AmigaOS so you are booting off your HD and then install all the patches and all the kernel drivers and utilities to get audio, network and USB working. Audio and USB work as well as the wired nic. HW accelerated graphics do not...so only vesa displays.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 09 April 2020, 20:13   #1402
oguzog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Ankara / Turkey
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
You cannot boot off an Amithlon CD and expect audio or USB or anything to work, it is a completely unpatched system with zero kernel modules loaded.

You can tell if a system can easily boot Amithlon, but you need to install AmigaOS so you are booting off your HD and then install all the patches and all the kernel drivers and utilities to get audio, network and USB working. Audio and USB work as well as the wired nic. HW accelerated graphics do not...so only vesa displays.

@SnkBitten


Ok. Let me be more clear.

I've installed amithlon using Alpyre's 1.4v CD.
Graphics fine, i can use higher resolutions.
When i try to AHI and LAN they simply doesn't work.
After i enable kernel310 (by modifying user-startup file as follows
SYS:c/AmithlonC/pciinsmod <>NIL:

still cannot get the audio work. When i go to AHI i don't see amithlon device.

Same for LAN, amithlon1 device doesn't identify lan card.

Then i enable kernel4 and drivers4 along with it.
Same.
oguzog is offline  
Old 09 April 2020, 21:10   #1403
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
Thanks for the details.

Make sure you don't mix kernel 3.1 and kernel 4 drivers, use either one or the other as well as using the appropriate matching pci_modules file in S:

Which patches have you installed?

Which AHI version are you using?

Is pciinsmod actually loading your kernel modules which would be your sound and network drivers (not in the kernel itself).

open up a shell and see if you have the modules loading.

System:> stack 65536
System:> pciinsmod

I'm using kernel 4

I see it loaded the following modules:
devs: pcidrivers/sound/soundcore.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/snd.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/snd-mixer-oss.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/snd-timer.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/snd-page-alloc.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/snd-pcm.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/oss/snd-pcm-oss.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/seq/snd-seq-device.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/acore/snd-rawmidi.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/drivers/mpu401/snd-mpu401-uart.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-codec.o
devs: pcidrivers/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o

and for network:
devs: pcidrivers/net/b44.o

When I fired up my 5150 just now I didn't have an IP stack. I think the last time I played with this device I was getting ready to try Roadshow with it. I popped in the Amithlon CD, installed the internet options (Genesis and Aweb) and then configured the settings as described in my guide (Part 2). Connected and ran AWeb and was able to access Aminet.net.

I then went in to AHI preferences and was able to play a test sound in AHI (beep tone) for each channel (Music, 0, 1, 2, etc... all set to Amithlon-1:HiFi 16 bit stereo++

When you launch loadlin to kick off Amithon I assume you are using "small" since you said Amithlon was installed to your HD. Your "small" file has the appropriate kernel you plan to use and then you are only loading the extra modules for that kernel (copying them to the appropriate folders in DEVS: and having them loaded my pciinsmod which will read the pci_modules file in S: and that it matches the driver module/kernel you are using?

Since I'm using kernel 4 my small has kernel4 as the name of the kernel I want to use, kernel4 is the name of the kernel on my Dos boot partition, and then I extracted and copied from the drivers4.lha archive the drivers modules to their required locations. Once rebooted doing a pciinsmod should show you what modules are being loaded (or will load them if not loaded).

Graphics are still VESA modes and not accelerated I was hoping the nVidia geforce card would allow for it. You can get higher resolution color in VESA.....but you just don't get the speed.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 09 April 2020, 21:31   #1404
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
For another audio test I put the Amithlon CD back in and loaded the included Utilities:amplier/amplifier app and loaded the Millennium_Bug_-_Why.mp3 from the Multimedia folder and it is playing fine.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 09 April 2020, 23:57   #1405
oguzog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Ankara / Turkey
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
Make sure you don't mix kernel 3.1 and kernel 4 drivers, use either one or the other as well as using the appropriate matching pci_modules file in S:
Which patches have you installed?
Which AHI version are you using?
Alypre 1.4 CD He said everything patched and ready


Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
Is pciinsmod actually loading your kernel modules which would be your sound and network drivers (not in the kernel itself).

open up a shell and see if you have the modules loading.

System:> stack 65536
System:> pciinsmod

Tried but showed up NOTHING.


And that point i had some ideas.


Go for Driver090.lha and extract it to system disk.


Result?


Working onboard LAN
Working onboard Sound.


Thank you very much. It is a bit late now, so i will check for USB tomorrow.


SysInfo shows 029,1 Mips (must be 1029)


P.S. After i placed drivers (why they weren't there i don't know) my boot screen has one more line saying " Opening framebuffer : No such device (and underneath that line so96 start) please see pics.


Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7187.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	1.05 MB
ID:	66758   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7188.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	66759  
oguzog is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 21:48   #1406
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 558
I am also unable to get Amithlon to work with secure sites with AmiSSL 4.x. Latest version I tried, 4.5. Anyone have a solution? Is it because the underlying kernel/linux is being used? And it's too old?

Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 21:30   #1407
oguzog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Ankara / Turkey
Posts: 25
@SnkBitten

I tried another install from scratch following your guide step by step.

*Picasso96Install
This is very specific in what to install. I’m using Picasso96 2.1e so download it and extract it to RAM: Run the Setup from the Picasso96Install folder and make sure to choose “Update an installed version”, then make sure to choose “Expert User” as we want to specifically pick what is being installed. Choose ONLY the following selections:

Libraries
24bit picture.datatype
Picasso96Mode
Picasso96 Variable Setter (PVS)
Continue installing with until completed


Then i got the error in the attachment. any idea?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	66775  
oguzog is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 21:36   #1408
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
Yep, there's a step I left out when it asks for where the applications files are.....point it back to the folder you ran the install from.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 21:46   #1409
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by oguzog View Post
Alypre 1.4 CD He said everything patched and ready





Tried but showed up NOTHING.


And that point i had some ideas.


Go for Driver090.lha and extract it to system disk.


Result?


Working onboard LAN
Working onboard Sound.


Thank you very much. It is a bit late now, so i will check for USB tomorrow.


SysInfo shows 029,1 Mips (must be 1029)


P.S. After i placed drivers (why they weren't there i don't know) my boot screen has one more line saying " Opening framebuffer : No such device (and underneath that line so96 start) please see pics.


Thanks
Browse to LIBS:Picasso96 folder and delete the additional powerfb.card files, starting with powerfb1.card, powerfb2.card, etc.. I'm not sure how many are there but you only need the powerfb.card, powerfb.card.info and powerfb.elf.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 04:52   #1410
Blobby
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Perth / Australia
Posts: 9
Hi SnkBitten. Long time lurker now just joined. Firstly, I would like to thank you and others that have put so much effort and skills over the years into improving this marvelous piece of software. I have been using and following your guides for a while now to setup Amithlon - I previously had it running well on an Athlon system until the motherboard died. So I took your info and found a GA-P35-DS3L with a 3Ghz Core2Duo. I had a lot of trouble getting Kernel4sata to work (it could not see the ide HDD setup using kern310). So I switched to a SATA drive, re-setup and now have Kernel4S working great - except for 1 annoying issue. The onboard LAN (RTL8111/8168) and another RTL8111/8169 PCIE card I have, both lock up Amithlon when trying to connect. I have installed the RTL8111 driver files, PCILIST shows them correctly and PCIINSMOD appears to install the needed modules. I have the network working normally with a PCI RTL8139 card. I notice that Milanca issued a Kernel4 network drivers patch recently after K4 was released (it replaced crc32.o) but it doesn't seem to have made a difference. I was wondering if you had similar problems when you used this mobo and how or if you overcame them?
Blobby is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 05:08   #1411
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
Are you using this driver?
http://amithlon.snkbitten.com/files/...rtl8111nic.lha

Also what networking stack are you using?
I use Roadshow and the onboard nic. I have to manually set my IP, trying to pull DHCP results in an extremely long boot time, which looks like it has frozen.

Last edited by SnkBitten; 14 April 2020 at 02:47.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 05:20   #1412
Blobby
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Perth / Australia
Posts: 9
Thanks for the quick reply. I am using that driver - has it been updated at any time? Could I be using an older version? I have just re downloaded and will try again. Will let you know....

I use MiamiDX - works perfectly with a working card and uses DHCP aswell
Blobby is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 06:24   #1413
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
No, hasn't been updated.

You may want to try setting a static IP address and seeing if it still hangs. Roadshow does DHCP but not for me on my Amithlon system.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 07:47   #1414
Blobby
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Perth / Australia
Posts: 9
Tried both Miami and Genesis with the onboard 8111/8169 and the PCIe card 8111/8169, in all cases error says cannot open amithlon1_net.device. Can't try a static ip or dhcp if it can't open the device first. So, it appears there may be an issue with the driver.
Would you have another driver to try or possibly upload a copy of what is loading on your system? if you are still using it of course

If I switch back to the 8139 PCI card all is good.
Thanks for your help so far..
Blobby is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 08:04   #1415
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
That's the driver I'm using. You did copy the new pci_modules file to s: as well as the other two...and don't have the other network card physically installed?

I've used it on two different systems with the motherboard nic.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 08:05   #1416
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
Oh...and of course you have it enabled in the bios....
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 10:43   #1417
Blobby
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Perth / Australia
Posts: 9
Yes, have Pci_modules, vendors.txt and vendors_pci.txt copied to S:, and r1000.o to devs/pcidrivers/net.
8139 card removed and onboard enabled in bios.
I is a injuneer, so I knoze this sort of stuff
Anyway, am down to questioning the mobo rev level and bios - mine is Rev2 and bios is F9, would this be the same as yours?
Blobby is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 11:29   #1418
Blobby
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Perth / Australia
Posts: 9
Just out of interest - found this while looking for info on r1000.o

https://www.retrocomputers.gr/forum/...ithlon-project

looks familiar...
Blobby is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 22:02   #1419
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
Yeah, I've seen exact copies of my guide on a few sites....but as long as more people are getting Amithlon running I guess it's fine. Credit would be nice, I spent a long time and a lot of money (hardware testing) to write the guides.


I'm not sure what revision board I have but my bios is F8f
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 12 April 2020, 22:11   #1420
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 697
My pciinsmod shows the following loaded.
devs: pcidrivers/net/crc32.o, length 4136
devs: pcidrivers/net/r1000.o, length 20145

pcilist shows the following
Function 03:00.0 --> [10ec,8168] Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. / RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
I/O at addr c000 (c0FF0
Mem at addr 5d000000 - fd000fff (3Kb)
IRQ 11
SnkBitten is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first guide - Drakkhen leveling guide Fragger Nostalgia & memories 2 08 April 2010 21:35
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 22:51
Amithlon-Guide / PDF-version Paul News 0 10 March 2006 15:43
Amithlon Peter Leyland Amiga scene 1 11 February 2003 02:43
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 19:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11022 seconds with 14 queries