English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 May 2020, 20:50   #101
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 574
Well Done Toni ;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 31 May 2020, 21:43   #102
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,305
Yup, many thanks Toni for your continuous improvements, bug fixes and 24 / 7 support

I really don't know what people into Amiga and emulation would do without you at the helm...

It will be a very sad day indeed if / when you decide to throw in the towel; and I don't think anyone would have the necessary skills / knowledge to follow on.
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 May 2020, 21:59   #103
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 574
Well said DD!
Viceroy is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 08:26   #104
freddy
Registered User
freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 24
Toni could you create an entry for the translation of this option.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bêta5.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	182.4 KB
ID:	67571  
freddy is offline  
Old 05 June 2020, 12:11   #105
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,183
I'm using beta 5 and I can't get messages displayed when writing to $BFFF04/08

Here's the code I'm using

Code:
    movem.l A0,-(a7)
    lea arg_array(pc),a0
    move.l  (A5),(a0)+
    move.l  8(A5),(a0)+
    move.w  12(A5),(a0)+
    lea arg_array(pc),a0
    move.l  a0,$BFFF08
    lea arg_entry_format(pc),a0
    move.l  a0,$BFFF04
    movem.l (a7)+,A0
    RTS

arg_array
    dc.l    0,0,0,0
arg_entry_format:
    dc.b    "Entry: %lx Size: %lx Type: %d",0
    even
the code is executed but

- nothing is written in the console or in the log
- memwatchpoints don't even detect writes to $BFFF04/08

too bad as this feature is just top notch.
jotd is offline  
Old 05 June 2020, 12:54   #106
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yup, many thanks Toni for your continuous improvements, bug fixes and 24 / 7 support

I really don't know what people into Amiga and emulation would do without you at the helm...

It will be a very sad day indeed if / when you decide to throw in the towel; and I don't think anyone would have the necessary skills / knowledge to follow on.
We can't let this happen, move him to the Presidential bunker and chain him to a desk!

Just joking Toni, you (and your family) stay safe and well, we all need a rest and you deserve it 1000000%

Thank you...
Mclane is offline  
Old 05 June 2020, 14:00   #107
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I'm using beta 5 and I can't get messages displayed when writing to $BFFF04/08
"- Added misc panel enable checkbox for beta 1 introduced debug logging. Note that quickstart mode always disables it." ?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 June 2020, 15:37   #108
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,183
sorry can't find anything related to check in "misc" panel. There's "Debug memory space" but enabling this doesn't do anything.

Is it supposed to write in the debugger console? winuaelog.txt file?

using beta 5.

(and memory watchpoints don't work in that zone, when they work with the same config in BLTDAT)

Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae_misc.PNG
Views:	61
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	67608

Back to logging in memory in the meanwhile...
jotd is offline  
Old 05 June 2020, 17:07   #109
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,888
Your code works for me. More information needed. Some weird or special config? (EDIT: and you did tick the checkbox before starting emulation?)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 05 June 2020 at 17:20.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 June 2020, 10:13   #110
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,183
ok, nvm, I'll try to find a reproducible scenario.

I found another bug in b5, that one is pretty easy to reproduce

- start emulator
- shift+F12 to enter debugger
- start trainer: C 3
- lockup!!

just tested with b3 and it worked. I suppose something went wrong between b3 and b5
jotd is offline  
Old 08 June 2020, 20:04   #111
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,888
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_4400b6.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_4400b6.7z

Beta 6:

- Small 68030 prefetch mode tweak.
- Enable cycle accurate Paula DMA request emulation if more compatible is ticked. Previously either cycle-exact option was required.
- GUI reset button didn't do full hard reset, for example rom images were not reloaded.
- GUI configuration Delete button can be now used to delete empty configuration directory.
- b5 "Debugger fa and s commands skipped chip ram." fix was incomplete, caused some debugger search commands to hang in infinite loop.
- Fixed *.uae icon, it was most likely accidentally changed long time ago to winuae.exe icon without no one noticing.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 June 2020, 20:38   #112
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 2,617
Fixes greatly appreciated, thank you!
ross is offline  
Old 08 June 2020, 20:50   #113
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,305
Awesome as always, many thanks Toni
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 18:38   #114
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_4400b6.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_4400b6.7z

Beta 6:

- Small 68030 prefetch mode tweak.
- Enable cycle accurate Paula DMA request emulation if more compatible is ticked. Previously either cycle-exact option was required.
- GUI reset button didn't do full hard reset, for example rom images were not reloaded.
- GUI configuration Delete button can be now used to delete empty configuration directory.
- b5 "Debugger fa and s commands skipped chip ram." fix was incomplete, caused some debugger search commands to hang in infinite loop.
- Fixed *.uae icon, it was most likely accidentally changed long time ago to winuae.exe icon without no one noticing.
Oh no, Hexen is back to crashing every single time

...even with my new config using a 68030 CPU, which would only crash 1 in 10 times with previous betas.

The old config was using a 68040 CPU.

Edit: I've now changed to a 68020 CPU and all seems good again...

Last edited by DamienD; 09 June 2020 at 18:44.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 18:59   #115
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,888
Unless you had 68030 + more compatible (which makes no sense with PC ports of programs or with JIT), there is no way b6 updates would have any effect.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 June 2020, 19:10   #116
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Unless you had 68030 + more compatible (which makes no sense with PC ports of programs or with JIT), there is no way b6 updates would have any effect.
Yup, I had "More compatible" ticked...

Let me try without, thanks
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 19:58   #117
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
there is no way b6 updates would have any effect.
To be honest; not sure I tested thoroughly with b5.

Anyway, I've now switched off "More compatible".

Out of 10 tries the game still crashed 5 times; always within the first 10 - 15 seconds of play.

I assume you still have the .HDF I sent you?

I've attached my adjusted configuration file in case there's anything else you recommend that I should adjust?

I do need an FPU though for "Heretic".

Last edited by DamienD; 09 June 2020 at 22:05.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 20:24   #118
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,888
Sorry but I have almost zero interest in running or debugging Amiga programs in emulation if the game is boring straight PC port.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 June 2020, 20:40   #119
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,305
Ok, that's fine; and I know a lot of changes have occurred.

I'm just trying to work out why:
  • The game was stable / rock solid in v4.3.0 and never crashed once.
  • In beta 4 it crashes 1 out of 10 times (after changing from a 68040 CPU to a 68030 CPU).
  • Now with beta 6 it crashes 5 out of 10 times
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 20:50   #120
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,888
It does not prove anything as usual. If it is the only (similar) game crashing: it probably has some hidden bug. Or it is some weird JIT issue which is not my problem.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.3.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 256 06 June 2016 15:36
WinUAE 3.0.0 beta series (was 2.8.2/2.9.0) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 1012 15 December 2014 13:41
WinUAE 2.6.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 271 14 May 2013 16:51
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 751 22 May 2009 07:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11609 seconds with 14 queries