English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2020, 22:35   #101
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 220
I guess it is needed for a classic Amiga game to put in some special support for specific hardware if it is going to work without calibration. In Marble Madness there are 3 options. Joystick, mouse or trackball. The trackball I have I must set to mouse as it does not work correct if I select trackball. I'm sure there where some special trackball that could be bought with Amiga, Marble Madness.
I guess for Playstation adapter this could be done but seams complicated.
This is the one I have. https://amigastore.eu/622-cyclone-rx-amiga-v10.html

Last edited by nikosidis; 25 May 2020 at 22:44.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 12 June 2020, 22:02   #102
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
So since the last update I've been working on the thing that interests me the most - the car physics. This is by far the hardest part of the game, the rest is all very straight forward.

It's still not right, but feel free to try it for your self and let me know what you think.

http://109.228.4.199/SuperSprint_EAB1.adf

Graeme
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 12 June 2020, 22:10   #103
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,986
It kinda works, but the controls (directions) are too fast and sensitive. Tried it via joypad.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 12 June 2020, 22:13   #104
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
It kinda works, but the controls (directions) are too fast and sensitive. Tried it via joypad.
The arcade is pretty fast mind so you might wanna try that one too just to compare as I was surprised how fast it was.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 12 June 2020, 22:17   #105
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,986
Yeah, but the original Arcade uses analog controls. Try the PSX version via Analog stick. For pure digital control i think its too fast. Couldn't play this on the Amiga like you did in this first demo.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 12 June 2020, 22:29   #106
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Yeah, but the original Arcade uses analog controls. Try the PSX version via Analog stick. For pure digital control i think its too fast. Couldn't play this on the Amiga like you did in this first demo.
OK, I'll slow it down... cheers for the feed back.

I'll also try and calibrate to the arcade version more accurately as I use the same controller in mame as I do with this and same frame rate.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 14 June 2020, 23:24   #107
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
So done a lot of work callibrating things to the arcade and I'm pretty happy with the result so far - still more work to do but mainly tweaks to the car handling.

I've also added other players controls, Joystick in port 1 controls the Blue Car, Joystick in port 0 (Mouse port) controls the Red Car and Keyboard controls Z/X and Space controls the Yellow Car.

Here's the link. http://109.228.4.199/SuperSprint_EAB1.adf

Time to move on to the collisions again as the way I see it that is the hardest part over with.

Geezer
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 14 June 2020, 23:51   #108
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 220
Works good Tested on my A1200/030. About the screenmode it is a little flicker. Would the game work on euro72 screenmode?
nikosidis is offline  
Old 14 June 2020, 23:54   #109
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,986
Has to flicker, if you use the original graphics. The Arcade version is in 512x384. Controls are better now.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 15 June 2020, 00:05   #110
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
Works good Tested on my A1200/030. About the screenmode it is a little flicker. Would the game work on euro72 screenmode?
Yes, it's in hires interlaced mode - it has to be like that.

Sorry I don't know what a Euro 72 screen mode is?
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 15 June 2020, 00:21   #111
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 220
It is part of OS 3, AGA screenmodes from Commodore. There is no flicker in those screenmodes but they are kinda slow. At least with to many colors. If of any interest I could try them out.

Productivity
640×400 @ 72Hz up to 4 colors
64 color palette
Productivity Laced
640×800 @ 72Hz up to 4 colors
64 color palette
nikosidis is offline  
Old 15 June 2020, 02:36   #112
lmimmfn
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mullingar
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Yes, it's in hires interlaced mode - it has to be like that.

Sorry I don't know what a Euro 72 screen mode is?
Does DBLPAL work or does it mess with your sprite routibes?
lmimmfn is online now  
Old 15 June 2020, 10:44   #113
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 862
Euro72 is 72Hz screen mode with little to no flickering in laced modes. But it needs proper monitor which can handle these modes.

More about Amiga screen modes is here. Just remember that AGA can handle all modes with all colour depths (including HAM6 and HAM8) which is often omitted by people reading this page.

Quote:
All resolutions could now be used with all color modes.

Last edited by Solo Kazuki; 15 June 2020 at 10:53.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 16 June 2020, 23:01   #114
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
Dev update #5 on it's way up to Youtube right now.

[ Show youtube player ]

Geezer
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 19 June 2020, 10:34   #115
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
I had bit of a brain wave last night as I was trying to think of a good way to cover the bases of a CD32 system and multi-player.

I'm going to try a cable that has four female DB9 ends and two male ends, I'll map up/down/button 2 on each port to car players 3 and 4 respectively.

It should be interesting and not cost more than £10 to make - this would give the Amiga the edge even over the Arcade game for multi-player.

I know there's a parallel port adapter too and I might add support for that, but I also wanted to cover off multiplayer for people running emulation.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 19 June 2020, 10:39   #116
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 416
Cool 4 players
winuae manages joysticks 3 and 4 (of the parallel adapter)
Aladin is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 11:09   #117
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,172
playing with winuae defeats the purpose of having super sprint on amiga... if you have winuae play super sprint on MAME...

real amiga to play games, no replacement
jotd is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 11:18   #118
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
playing with winuae defeats the purpose of having super sprint on amiga... if you have winuae play super sprint on MAME...

real amiga to play games, no replacement
I agree but I think you are missing the point, the arcade version can't have 4 players - I'm proposing I can change the game to support 4 players either by Keyboard or Joysticks (with an adapter that can be built or supplied).
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 19 June 2020, 11:51   #119
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 416
please support the Joy 3 and Joy 4 parallel adapter that we have always used on our real amiga. Even if you want to add another solution.
in all that, it's great this new 4 player mode
Aladin is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 16:43   #120
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,172
ah if it's remaking the arcade 1:1 AND add features, now that's even more interesting
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Sprint and Oids for Amiga / ST Emulator Photon support.Games 4 31 July 2018 01:48
super sprint motor sound turrican3 support.Games 3 03 November 2014 08:21
[REQ] Super Sprint angel_killah project.Sprites 6 21 April 2012 07:26
Super Sprint - Atari ST Conversion Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 83 12 March 2012 21:34
Super Sprint & Oids ??? BeelzebubUK request.Old Rare Games 10 30 January 2002 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09768 seconds with 16 queries