English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

Thread Tools
Old 29 October 2017, 07:42   #1
Registered User
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 414
ReSource bug - can you replicate?

I run KS 40.68 (well, my buggy 4000 grinds to a halt if I use MapRom for more than an hour or so) on my CS060 but I always get a bus error when I do this:
-Disassemble memory $f80000,$ffffff
-Search, binary, $6303, forwards
Both virgin 6.06 and my old 060 patched version.

Instant $80000004 and halt/reboot requester or full self-reboot.
Anyone who can confirm/deny? (Works just fine with WinUAE ofc...)

EDIT: I wonder if I'm running into 68060 hw bugs here. Having patiently done "Run History Task" in BDebug (which is probably single-stepping instructions) I get the same result as in WinUAE and no errors.
CPU060 reports my chip as Mask 0-1f43G,2f43G,0g65V Revision 1.
I use "CPU060 NOSTOREBYPASS" from a recommendation way back. Are there other options I should be turning off?
EDIT2: Bug went away with "CPU060 NoAllocateOperand". Machine feels a bit more sluggish now.
EDIT3: Except it did only half-way.If I search forwards and then backwards it seems like ReSource bugs big time by going into non-mapped address areas. And this time WinUAE agrees with me!

Last edited by NorthWay; 29 October 2017 at 10:03.
NorthWay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 October 2017, 21:50   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,831
If you're wanting to disassemble Kickstart, specify $F80000,$1000000 otherwise you miss the last byte.

I could get ReSource to hang doing that search (testing in WinUAE), so it looks like there's a bug in it. Maybe when disassembling memory, it doesn't stop searching on reaching the end of the region? The problem doesn't happen if you dump the memory region to a file, and load that file into ReSource.

Last edited by mark_k; 29 October 2017 at 22:01.
mark_k is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 03:56   #3
Registered User
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 414
Rev6 cpu arrived. Much breath holding to get old out and new in.

Boot up. Start Resource. Fall over again. Not cool.
I _do_ see a difference in that it will do the search and jump to the correct spot before guruing now."NoAllocateOperand" still fixes the guru.
NorthWay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug in x64 file requester and bug in Blizzard PPC ROM filesize headkase support.WinUAE 5 26 June 2016 15:17
ReSource 6.06 yoki request.Apps 6 04 November 2009 18:29
ReSource drago request.Apps 2 08 July 2008 01:30
ReSource 6.XX MrZammler request.Apps 7 30 October 2007 15:15
ReSource v6.06 A.I request.Apps 3 08 October 2005 22:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41196 seconds with 13 queries