English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2012, 03:08   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
AROS on Mac PPC?

Is this possible? I saw references to a PPC version of AROS availabe but I didnt find it. Is there any distro that caters for this?

Would be awesome to install AROS on my iBook.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 August 2012, 00:31   #2
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 482
I know that Jason is working on the PPC version (I think for SAM computers). There is still a problem to create a distribution because you need all compiled for PPC. But it is possible.
OlafSch is offline  
Old 04 September 2012, 19:40   #3
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
The only native PPC versions of AROS are for Efika and Sam440, with a Sam460 port being worked on.

Most other PPC hardware will run AROS, but hosted.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 04 September 2012, 19:52   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It would be great if this hardware is considered, since it's a very cheap and portable alternative.
Akira is offline  
Old 05 October 2012, 12:19   #5
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Is this possible? I saw references to a PPC version of AROS availabe but I didnt find it. Is there any distro that caters for this?

Would be awesome to install AROS on my iBook.
I know nothing new regarding Aros (X86). But I know that PUAE and my distribution "Aros Vision" runs on Mac.
OlafSch is offline  
Old 05 October 2012, 17:23   #6
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Too slow to be usable though unfortunately. PPC uae currently has no jit, and 68k aros itself is slow. Combine the 2 and it verges on useless
OS3.x should be usable, albiet quite modest in terms of speed, but 68k isnt the point here anyway
fishyfish is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 16:51   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
So, again, why has nobody built AROS PPC to run on actually widely available and cheap hardware like PowerPC Macs?
This is ridiculous. Why support junk like efika and Sam4** and not iBooks, mac Minis and Powermacs?

Akira is offline  
Old 25 September 2018, 22:48   #8
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 42
Posts: 101
I could not agree more, even in 2018.
That hardware is cheap and available past few years, and it could give boost to Amiga community, much more than overpriced new PPC boards.
amigappc is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 01:45   #9
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,447
Back thread necromancer back! The power of Persephone compels you!

Though this changed, there is now JIT for UAE PPC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfish View Post
Too slow to be usable though unfortunately. PPC uae currently has no jit, and 68k aros itself is slow. Combine the 2 and it verges on useless
OS3.x should be usable, albiet quite modest in terms of speed, but 68k isnt the point here anyway
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 11:19   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfish View Post
and 68k aros itself is slow.
Now no more, AROS 68k is growing considerably

WinUAE AROS 68k
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 14:23   #11
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Now no more, AROS 68k is growing considerably

WinUAE AROS 68k
[ Show youtube player ]
So still slow then? That's on an 060 and you can watch the windows drawing!
Dunny is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 00:56   #12
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
So still slow then? That's on an 060 and you can watch the windows drawing!
First of all I used an old DualCore PC and old AROS versions, second the slowness you notice is not a power problem but linked to the graphics drivers, otherwise he could not do this:

AROS 68k: Warp3D
[ Show youtube player ]

AROS 68k: NetSurf 68k
[ Show youtube player ]

AROS: Quake3
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 September 2018 at 01:09.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 05:16   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,447
Right, one of the major complaints against AROS are the slowness of the graphics API. That you have some fast possibly 3d accelerated drivers for games is nice and all but when you're saying a DualCore PC can't possibly be as fast as a 50MHz 060 with a Zorro Graphics card drawing windows in AmigaOS 3.x, that sort of means it's slow.

But it can get better one of these days.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 11:27   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
DualCore PC can't possibly be as fast as a 50MHz 060 with a Zorro Graphics card drawing windows in AmigaOS 3.x, that sort of means it's slow.

But it can get better one of these days.
These RTG configurations require a powerful PC, if you do not have a high performance CPU, a good Video Card or a good Audio Card the difference is noticeable.

Do a little try, install an RTG system like that of my video and then try it on a DualCore with powerful Video Card and then do it on a DualCore with Video Card "integrated", well the difference will be considerable.

[ Show youtube player ]

Another test you can do is to try playing 3 MP3 or more at the same time, if you do not have a PC with the right hardware you will not be able to do it.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 12:32   #15
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
One of these days I should record AROS/68k that I have installed on MiST and MiSTer
kolla is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 12:40   #16
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
one of the major complaints against AROS are the slowness of the graphics API.
This slowness can also to some degree be avoided by simply configuration. Most people also don't expect OS3 Workbench with 8bit plane (256 colours) mode to be particularly fast, and the same is of course also the case for AROS/68k. Nobody expects true colour OS4 or PNG icons to fast on ECS/AGA with OS3, and the same is of course also the case for AROS/68k. Same for theming. Once you trim away all the "bling bling" and cosmetic cruft of the default AROS and replace them with OS3 equivalents of your choice, things speed up quite a lot. I use AmigaOS scsi.device (needed for IDE controller at this point), pfs3aio, PeterK's icon.library and DirectoryOpus 5.91 on AROS/68k. The fact that LoadModule works to load scsi.device under AROS/68k, and that scsi.device and pfs3aio, as well as icon.library just work without much hassle, is a testament to how compatible AROS really is.

As for AROS on PPC - anyone with a PPC system can do that, it is a matter of interest and accessible hardware. Also, AROS can be used hosted on PPC, which is how I prefer running AROS on "capable" systems anyways.

Last edited by kolla; 28 September 2018 at 12:46.
kolla is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 00:47   #17
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,447
Well it's also slow with RTG too. I mean run the same hardware with a comparable screen resolution and bit depth and AROS is far slower. Some have said it's the Workbench replacement that's slow too, but as you said Directory Opus could be used instead.

I'm not hating on it, just when I tried running it on real hardware the response from people with more AROS experience was basically yeah, the graphics API is just not good yet.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 21:43   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,878
I believe they are working on the graphics AP, we wait confident, in the meantime AROS 68k is starting to be more and more compatible even with the old Amiga games.


[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 08:36   #19
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,624
I love how the title of the video says it "works well". It's completely unusable!
Hewitson is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 09:42   #20
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,878
Meanwhile, it is a system under construction that is not currently directed to common use, but in any case there is a lot of compatibility with OS3 and many things work if you know OS3. At the moment no Amiga system is usable and is in step with the times, so there is nothing to reproach at Aros 68k.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Video of my Aros 68k distribution "Aros Vision" OlafSch Amiga scene 26 16 February 2016 12:16
Why isnt Amiga OS running on a ppc mac? mjnurney Amiga scene 26 22 September 2009 13:27
UAE + Hi-Toro + PPC Mac = Your Experiences? Fingerlickin_B support.OtherUAE 32 13 June 2009 23:23
Problems with changing resolutions on e-uae (on an ppc-mac)... CryzleR support.OtherUAE 4 24 September 2007 11:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08975 seconds with 13 queries