English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2021, 00:47   #1
spawnerbr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: RJ, Brazil
Posts: 39
Amiga 500 PSU 312503-01 with screen noise

Hi all.
I'm having a problem with an Amiga 500 PSU 312503-01. Using this PSU model I'm having some kind of noise on the RGB output. I tested with 3 other PSU and the image was very clean.

This is how the image is:

Click image for larger version

Name:	PSU A500.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	117.4 KB
ID:	70446

So, any idea about to fix this? A recap? Where can I find the caps list of this PSU model or an schematic? Thanks
spawnerbr is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 07:31   #2
bender
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Queretaro, Mexico
Posts: 10
Hello!

I'm not sure if a recap will solve your issue or not, probably it will. but I have a couple of those same PSUs (Same part number 312503-01) and I replaced their caps a few months ago. They are both working fine, no issues at all.

The list I used is this (Sorry it is not properly aligned):


Número Faradios Volts Mouser Part #
C7 or C5 220uF 200V 647-UVK2D221MHD
C23 470uF 35V 647-UVR1V471MPD1TD
C16 1uF 50V 710-860010672005
C17 1uF 50V 710-860010672005
c28 0.47uF 50V 710-860010672004
c25 10uF 50V 710-860010672009
c24 22uF 25V 647-UVR1E220MDD1TD
C19 220uF 25V 647-UVR1E221MPD
C11 1000uF 25V 647-UVR1E102MPD
C13 3300uF 10V 647-UVR1A332MHD
C14 3300uF 10V 647-UVR1A332MHD
C23 or C15 3300uF 10V 647-UVR1A332MHD


Still you may want to double check. I removed all caps from one of them and came up with the list. It worked fine for both.

The Mouser part# is just for the brand I bought, of course there are many options for that.

Hope this helps

Regards,
Efrén
bender is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 14:40   #3
spawnerbr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: RJ, Brazil
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by bender View Post

Número Faradios Volts Mouser Part #
C7 or C5 220uF 200V 647-UVK2D221MHD
C23 470uF 35V 647-UVR1V471MPD1TD
C16 1uF 50V 710-860010672005
C17 1uF 50V 710-860010672005
c28 0.47uF 50V 710-860010672004
c25 10uF 50V 710-860010672009
c24 22uF 25V 647-UVR1E220MDD1TD
C19 220uF 25V 647-UVR1E221MPD
C11 1000uF 25V 647-UVR1E102MPD
C13 3300uF 10V 647-UVR1A332MHD
C14 3300uF 10V 647-UVR1A332MHD
C23 or C15 3300uF 10V 647-UVR1A332MHD
Thanks for the list. I read some of my caps on the PSU board and they are not the same of your list. This are the ones that I take note without remove them:

C6 / 250v 220uF
C18 / 50v 0.47uF
C21 / 25v 22uF
C23 / 16v 10uF
C25 / 25v 2200uF

Maybe the board inside is different? Mine is DSP-A500 REV-2 DVE 0388.
spawnerbr is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 05:48   #4
bender
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Queretaro, Mexico
Posts: 10
Hello!

I just opened one and I think yes they are different. Mine has the legend "DVE DSP-128CON" on the small board that's perpendicular to the main board.

The "DSP-128CON" is also on the bottom part of the plastic case. right below the part number.

So yes... apparently Same Part Number but different board inside :S

Anyway... replacing them won't hurt and it may very well solve your issue

Regards,
Efrén
bender is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 23:43   #5
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 847
One of my A600 PSUs gave some noise on the screen. Noticed it in a game. It also had this fishsmell to it. Fishsmell was worse as the PSU heated up. I recapped it, I couldn't see any CAP leakage but after the recap the fishsmell was gone and the noise aswell. So must have been some bad caps.

I have another A500 PSU which showed no signs of problems, but when recapping it I found a leaking cap.

I am in the process of recapping all my PSUs.

So it's most likely cap problems causing that noise on the screen.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 22 January 2021, 21:50   #6
spawnerbr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: RJ, Brazil
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
One of my A600 PSUs gave some noise on the screen. Noticed it in a game. It also had this fishsmell to it. Fishsmell was worse as the PSU heated up. I recapped it, I couldn't see any CAP leakage but after the recap the fishsmell was gone and the noise aswell. So must have been some bad caps.

I have another A500 PSU which showed no signs of problems, but when recapping it I found a leaking cap.

I am in the process of recapping all my PSUs.

So it's most likely cap problems causing that noise on the screen.
I did today the recap and the noise is still on de screen. Don't know what to do.
spawnerbr is offline  
Old 22 January 2021, 21:53   #7
spawnerbr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: RJ, Brazil
Posts: 39
I took note of all caps from this PSU model.

312503-01
DSP-A500 REV-2 DVE 0388

C6 250v 220uF
C13 16v 220uF
C15 10v 3300uF
C16 10v 3300uF
C18 50v 0,47uF
C20 25v 220uF
C21 25v 22uF
C22 50v 1uF
C23 16v 10uF
C24 10v 1000uF
C25 25v 2200uF
spawnerbr is offline  
Old 23 January 2021, 15:13   #8
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnerbr View Post
I did today the recap and the noise is still on de screen. Don't know what to do.
Did you see or smell any leakage? If so, check for corroded traces/vias. On one of my A500 PSUs, the one where a small cap had leaked, the corrosion under it was quite bad and had corroded the via to the point it fell appart and lost contact with the trace as I unsoldered it.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 17:01   #9
spawnerbr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: RJ, Brazil
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Did you see or smell any leakage? If so, check for corroded traces/vias. On one of my A500 PSUs, the one where a small cap had leaked, the corrosion under it was quite bad and had corroded the via to the point it fell appart and lost contact with the trace as I unsoldered it.
No leakage on the PCB. The PCB is very clean.
spawnerbr is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capacitor list for Amiga 500 PSU Model 312503-03 amigappc support.Hardware 4 25 February 2021 18:29
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503-03 singapore (Heavy PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 15 07 October 2020 18:28
Amiga 500 Rev 6a Power Supply Rev 312503-01: -12V line/pin has 0V xbox123 support.Hardware 0 04 March 2020 17:09
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503 WEST-GERMANY (Light PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 0 18 November 2014 01:54
Good values for Amiga PSU:s - noise problem. ascp support.Hardware 5 21 November 2012 01:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07517 seconds with 14 queries