English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2021, 00:30   #21
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 384
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
@kippee2k what is a SMDa1k ?
seb132 is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 00:40   #22
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,085
lets retry this, i moved folders















There, that is better.... THe SMD1k is my new 2MB A1000 still workin on it


The picture showing the 2 monitors ... HDMI on the left, RGB on the right. It is friggin awesome
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 00:54   #23
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Cool project, really.
For the A600, wouldn’t there be a way if we have A604 memory extension ?
The indivision ECS plugs in it and get all information it needs to « flicker fix » the video signal from it....
I am not sure, i have made a little board that hopefully allows this project to wok on the a600 without interfering with any accels plugged into the cpu, need to just do a few final checks before i submit it. (The A2000 will work ok)

Last edited by kipper2k; 19 January 2021 at 01:09.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 10:56   #24
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 384
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Cool, and yes, cool picture on the screen.
seb132 is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 08:52   #25
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Cool project, really.
For the A600, wouldn’t there be a way if we have A604 memory extension ?
The indivision ECS plugs in it and get all information it needs to « flicker fix » the video signal from it....
No, the Indi ECS works differently. It snoops the bus before the Denise and reimplements the Denise in FPGA.

This board needs the video signals that the Denise generates, which do not show up at the A604. Maybe if you insert this into an A604, then plug the Indi ECS on top it would be possible, if the Indi doesn't go into some kind of VGA only mode when it detects it's plugged into an A604.
Jope is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 19:46   #26
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 161
I got mine today and it looks great from the limited testing I've been able to do (I only have a 60hz compatible monitor currently), it's a bit of a tight squeeze however with the PSU frame being right on top of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0050 17.42.24.JPG
Views:	99
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	70507  
lilwshu is online now  
Old 21 January 2021, 00:36   #27
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 796
With different components is there any hope of an A1200 version being developed?
-Acid- is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 01:27   #28
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,138
It would be nice© if you could integrate a switcher of some kind or provide for some means of integrating a VGA input.
For instance lets say you had a GBA-1000 with the Picasso-II. Or an A2000 with a Merlin card (like me). It's not a terribly bad problem with that system as I have an Indivision ECS which goes into the Merlin switcher.
But folks with an A2000 and a Zorro-2 RTG card would benefit.
grelbfarlk is online now  
Old 21 January 2021, 03:39   #29
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,085
there is a new release image just released. I'll give the link here as i find searching through githubs a little confusing...

https://github.com/c0pperdragon/Amig...ideo/issues/21

it has a NTSC fix and a couple of other fixes.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 16:04   #30
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,085
I was playing with the features of this and here are a few screenshots i took...








pretty well pixel perfect

as for lag...

i put 2 screens side by side, rgb and hdmi and when giana jumps it is pretty well identical. i cant notice any difference

Last edited by kipper2k; 21 January 2021 at 16:11.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 16:57   #31
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 170
I wonder if the new Pi Pico will make for a better solution than the Pi Zero, considering stuff like this is already being teased.

https://twitter.com/wren6991/status/...322181120?s=19
Lemaru is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 17:08   #32
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemaru View Post
I wonder if the new Pi Pico will make for a better solution than the Pi Zero, considering stuff like this is already being teased.

https://twitter.com/wren6991/status/...322181120?s=19
there are only 8 IO's on the pico so i think no good, it could end up having other uses though
kipper2k is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 17:26   #33
Commodoreguy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 5
Where can I order the adapter for Amiga 600?
Commodoreguy is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 18:10   #34
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
there are only 8 IO's on the pico so i think no good, it could end up having other uses though
From what I have been reading the 8 IO pins isn't actually correct. So it should be possible with the Pico Pi and PIO blocks. To quote one post

"There are two PIO blocks with four state machines each, that can independently execute sequential programs to manipulate GPIOs and transfer data.

PIO is highly performant as well as flexible, thanks to a carefully selected set of fixed-function hardware inside each state machine. When outputting DPI, PIO can sustain 360 Mb/s during the active scanline period when running from a 48 MHz system clock. In this example, one state machine is handling frame/scanline timing and generating the pixel clock, while another is handling the pixel data, and unpacking run-length-encoded scanlines.

State machines' inputs and outputs are mapped to up to 32 GPIOs (limited to 30 GPIOs for RP2040), and all state machines have independent, simultaneous access to any GPIO"


That Twitter link I linked earlier is a DVI to HDMI (well actually he has two HDMIs off it).

There's some interesting articles already about the programmable IO
Lemaru is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 19:53   #35
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 676
Where can I buy the adapter full assembled?
I have ordered Pi 0
nikosidis is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 21:43   #36
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
there are only 8 IO's on the pico so i think no good, it could end up having other uses though
Think you also may be confusing the number of programmable I/O peripherals available looking at the specs. As it's for 26 GPIO pins

- 26 × multi-function 3.3V GPIO pins
- 2 × SPI, 2 × I2C, 2 × UART, 3 × 12-bit ADC, 16 × controllable PWM channels
- 8 × Programmable I/O (PIO) state machines for custom peripheral support

Alot of potential in this for a £3.80 board
Lemaru is offline  
Old 22 January 2021, 14:59   #37
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 161
My new monitor arrived today (Dell P1917S, 1280x1024) which supports 50hz, so I tried it on my V1 adapter in the A2000 and it looks SERIOUSLY GREAT. No detectable lag in SWOS so I will likely be very happy with it.

One issue I noticed however is that the top line of pixels is shifting rapidly left and right by about 1 pixel - has anyone else seen that?
lilwshu is online now  
Old 22 January 2021, 17:01   #38
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 676
Should not all digital screens support 50hz?
I though it was part of HDMI standard to support PAL.
Amiga 15khz is something different that for sure is not normally supported.
I guess this scaler make the signal 30khz and progressive. Kind of like
scandoubler, flickerfixer.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 22 January 2021, 17:12   #39
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
Should not all digital screens support 50hz?
I though it was part of HDMI standard to support PAL.
Amiga 15khz is something different that for sure is not normally supported.
I guess this scaler make the signal 30khz and progressive. Kind of like
scandoubler, flickerfixer.
My other monitor only has a DVI port which does not like 50hz.
lilwshu is online now  
Old 22 January 2021, 18:03   #40
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemaru View Post
Think you also may be confusing the number of programmable I/O peripherals available looking at the specs. As it's for 26 GPIO pins

- 26 × multi-function 3.3V GPIO pins
- 2 × SPI, 2 × I2C, 2 × UART, 3 × 12-bit ADC, 16 × controllable PWM channels
- 8 × Programmable I/O (PIO) state machines for custom peripheral support

Alot of potential in this for a £3.80 board
The Pico doesn't have HDMI, but I suppose you meant to implement that using the I/O state machines then?
hooverphonique is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Digital Video AJCopland News 24 10 February 2021 20:28
Digital video out options for AA3000+? matt3k support.Hardware 2 17 December 2020 05:40
Vampire 500 v2+: Is all video HDMI yet? Starglider 2 support.Hardware 37 06 April 2018 15:25
Review of No-name S-Video/composite NTSC to HDMI@720p Video scaler unit aperez support.Hardware 6 03 January 2011 20:39
Digital signals on Amiga video connector whitebird support.Hardware 7 26 September 2010 16:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09717 seconds with 16 queries