English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2021, 20:52   #1
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
Buddha Flash 20 year anniversary setup

Hi all

I am having some difficulty setting this up. My Amiga 2000 does boot to the installation screen but I don't see the CF card in "Select drive/medium for automatic installation" screen - which the Buddha presumably needs to install to? I have a Transcend 4GB CF card in the IDE socket.

Does the CF card need to be formatted first?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	16102182433691681540277416231451.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	784.6 KB
ID:	70251  
Sanxion is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 20:58   #2
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,608
Format as FAT. Also are you sure the card is compatible as not all Transcends work (including some reported as working) as I had to go through several before I found one which worked).
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 21:23   #3
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
I have been using a 4GB Transcend card in my Amiga 1200 so I am hoping this one will work in my 2000.

OK, I have formatted the card as FAT on my PC, placed it next to the Buddha card and still nothing on the Select drive screen except my Buddha card.

Does anything else need to be done before it will be recognised?

Last edited by Sanxion; 09 January 2021 at 21:32.
Sanxion is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 21:34   #4
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
This is a picture of my card.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	16102208399183316676053979386353.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	70252  
Sanxion is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 22:11   #5
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,608
Have drivers been set up? I don't think it works natively?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 23:02   #6
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
How do I do that?
Sanxion is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 23:17   #7
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,608
These links may help, some people required a flash update for their Buddha:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=102282

https://forum.icomp.de/index.php?thr...-4-amiga-2000/
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 10 January 2021, 11:17   #8
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Have drivers been set up? I don't think it works natively?

Drivers are not needed for the Buddha. It is Auto Bootable from KS 1.3 onwards.

https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...uddha-ide.html

The 20th Anniversary is no different. Compatible with more CF solutions than the original.

Your Media will need prepping with FAT or AmigaDOS to be seen.

Last edited by Kin Hell; 10 January 2021 at 11:25.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 10 January 2021, 12:42   #9
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
Drivers are not needed for the Buddha. It is Auto Bootable from KS 1.3 onwards.

https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...uddha-ide.html

The 20th Anniversary is no different. Compatible with more CF solutions than the original.

Your Media will need prepping with FAT or AmigaDOS to be seen.
I have formatted in FAT.

I will try running the flash update and see if that makes any difference. I assume you just insert the floppy and boot of it?
Sanxion is offline  
Old 10 January 2021, 17:40   #10
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanxion View Post
I have formatted in FAT.

I will try running the flash update and see if that makes any difference. I assume you just insert the floppy and boot of it?
Use the Workbench Install Disk. HDToolbox should see the CF Card
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 15 January 2021, 02:26   #11
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 81
I have tried the same brand and size of CF card with no issues on my A2000 with a Buddha IDE 20th edition.

I have also used generic CF cards with no issues.

I was not able to use a Lexar 32Gb CF card. The installation process failed. Perhaps a bad card. It was an Ebay purchase so I suspect it's a counterfeit card.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 15:12   #12
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
I have tried the same brand and size of CF card with no issues on my A2000 with a Buddha IDE 20th edition.

I have also used generic CF cards with no issues.

I was not able to use a Lexar 32Gb CF card. The installation process failed. Perhaps a bad card. It was an Ebay purchase so I suspect it's a counterfeit card.
Hi

Would you mind describing exactly what your method is?

I have tried multiple CF cards and IDE adaptors but none appear in the installation screen during the Buddha setup.
Sanxion is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 16:03   #13
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanxion View Post
Hi

Would you mind describing exactly what your method is?

I have tried multiple CF cards and IDE adaptors but none appear in the installation screen during the Buddha setup.
I use the supplied DOM to install WB 3.1.
The CF card is automatically detected.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 18:16   #14
Sanxion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Burnley / England
Posts: 116
Could my problem be related to the Kickstart version I am using, 1.3?
Sanxion is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 02:40   #15
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanxion View Post
Could my problem be related to the Kickstart version I am using, 1.3?
I wouldn't think so since the DOM is also supplied with WB 1.3 (and maybe 2, I don't remember).

What I would do is swap the ports/slots. Place the DOM in the other slot, and do the same with the CF card reader.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 12:54   #16
Traindriver69
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 64
It could be your cf card reader the first one I got sometimes it would show to install in budda software sometimes it would not changed it for a different one works everytime now.
Traindriver69 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buddha flash 20th anniversary edition flash rom corrupted. tomead support.Hardware 0 27 July 2018 17:17
Buddha IDE Flash Marmes support.Hardware 2 27 June 2017 02:28
WTBuy or Trade: Buddha Flash Phoenix (for Buddha Flash or money:) ) McTrinsic Swapshop 4 13 May 2016 22:03
15 year anniversary Ziaxx Nostalgia & memories 33 27 June 2008 12:55
AmigaMemo.com ::: 1-year Anniversary amigamemo Nostalgia & memories 8 09 November 2005 17:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09432 seconds with 16 queries