English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 24 March 2005, 22:25   #1
saturndual32

Newbie here, question about cd32 display.

Hi, this is my first post here, so excuse me if this has already been asked.
I am a CD32 fan from Mexico.
I bought a CD32 some months ago <pal version>, and since i needed a new tv, i decided to buy one of those multi system ones <those that are PAL and NTSC compatible>. But, although i get a complete, well centered image, there is no color, it is completely black and white.
Does anyone here have tried playing their cd32s on this type of tvs, is it normal that they display the image in black and white?
I was wondering if there is some way to mod my console to make it compatible with ntsc tvs, or if there are some software tools to force my cd32 to display a ntsc image, I already know about using an amiga mouse to make it display a ntsc image, but i dont have one and have never seen one.
Hope someone here can help me.
Thanks in advance.

Old 24 March 2005, 22:36   #2
oldpx

A black&white display means that the tv either doesn't recognize the PAL input and expecting you to set that manually or is not compatible with 50hz (PAL) at all.

I'm from the old world where tvs are PAL and the grass is green. When you connect a NTSC output to an incompatible PAL tv, you get exactly what you describe if you're lucky. If not, you might not even get an image. Should work the same way for you too.

Old 24 March 2005, 22:36   #3
Amiga1992

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturndual32
But, although i get a complete, well centered image, there is no color, it is completely black and white.
Hello mate,

You got pwned with lame latin american PAL systems . What sort of PAL does you TV accept? Probably PAL-M or PAL-N. If your CD32 is european it outputs PAL-B/g/etc, commonly referred to as just PAL, which leads into the incompatibility you mention, getting no color.