English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 13 March 2005, 02:58   #1
whorse

Amiga cd32 & sx1 help. newbie here!

Hello fellow amiga fans.
I am a video games fan from sunny Greece, and i would like to let you know that you have a great community here.

I was looking for such a place to get into the amiga, since i never really had the chance to do so in the past. Almost a year before, i won an amiga cd32 along with sx1, keyboard, mouse, many many cds, a hd, plus more for a few money (i was lucky). The amiga works fine, i have played some games fine. BUT, when i try to use the sx1, i have the following problem:

1)If i boot the machine up without the external floppy drive, it gives me a warning window saying to insert fd(0) if i am correct.
2)If i boot it with the floppy connected, it goes into a mode, where my tv is flickering and rolling. Since i am a long time video gamer, i know that this is probably something to do with the refresh rate.

After reading some faqs today about the rgb output of the sx1, i found out that it doesnt output a true vga out, (meaning it cant connect to todays monitors) since the refresh rate is 15-30 khz. So, is the above effect happening because the previous owner of this setup, set it up so it was connected to a monitor, and thus, it works on a refresh rate the tv cant support?

Thats the first problem.
After reading the sx1 manual, i understood that i could use the workbench floppy to boot the machine and then reinstall everything as i wanted. Correct? I think so. BUT, the problem is, that although i can find the workbench os online, i cant find a way to put it back on amiga compatible floppies to use it.

So, my problems are that i cant use the sx1 as it is setup right now, cause of the flickering and rolling of the picture, and that i dont know what to do in order to produce compatible floppies with the workbench os.