English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 April 2012, 02:36   #1
Snowwie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Veendam, Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 28
Send a message via ICQ to Snowwie
CF0 won't show up

I am trying to get my CF adapter and CF card to get working with my A1200, but what I try it won't show up.

This is the hardware I am using:



I used the floppy which came with this set, so it installed:
- Fat95 in the L directory (as shown here.)
- Compactflash.device in the Devs directory (as shown here.)
- CF0 (+CF0.info) in the Devs/Dosdrivers directory (as shown here.)

If I try to mount CF0 is says "CF0 is already mounted" (as shown here.), so I guess the install floppy did alter the Startup-sequence to mount cf0: automatically.

I have reloaded Fat95 from Aminet, but to no avail.

The CF card is working fine under Windows, I have formatted it with the FAT File system (not Fat32 or NTSF).

Why won't it show up on my Amiga WB 3.1?

Is there any order in which comes first? such as:
- Booting WB 3.1, then inserting the Adapter+CF card
- Inserting Adapter+CF Card, then booting WB 3.1
- Booting WB 3.1, insert Adapter, then insert CF card into adapter

If it does appears as NODOS, the research in troubleshooting FAQ says:
"Make sure that the CF0 mountlist is using the correct file system." Can you tell me HOW this is done?

Same goes for:
"If you want to read a card with amiga filesystem, you need to change filesystem in the CF0 mountlist PLUS define the size etc of the card."

It's nice to know WHAT to do, but it is nicer to know HOW to do it.

Last edited by Snowwie; 06 April 2012 at 02:54.
Snowwie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 April 2012, 03:33   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Try doing "cd cf0:" on the shell. If that doesn't fix it, there's a problem with your card. Try formatting it again.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 06:42   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
I once tried the same PCMCIA adapter (DeLock) and the same brand of CF cards (Platinum) on my A600 and I experienced that a 1GB CF card did not work while a 4GB CF card did work.

So it can well be that your CF card is not compatible. Meybe it's not compatible to CF0 in general or it is not compatible to this PCMCIA adapter, I don't know. My 1GB card works perfectly as harddrive on the IDE connector.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 10:44   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,863
I have the same card as you and I couldn't get it to work as fat/fat32.
Arnie is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 14:48   #5
Snowwie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Veendam, Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 28
Send a message via ICQ to Snowwie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I have the same card as you and I couldn't get it to work as fat/fat32.
It works fine on the PC.

But, did you buy another card?

And, for those who used the Delock adapter, which CF card did work?
Snowwie is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 18:49   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,863
I meant, I couldn't get it to work as fat/fat32 on the Amiga.

I use a 4gb Sandisk for the Pcmcia adapter.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install ClassicWB using CF0: Retroplay project.ClassicWB 6 04 December 2012 13:50
Cf0: Reynolds request.Apps 1 16 August 2010 09:31
A600 system freezes w/ CF0: Reynolds support.Apps 2 14 July 2010 20:18
How can I change the default CF0: icon? keropi support.Apps 3 21 March 2008 11:53
Need to boot from Wb floppy with acess to CF0: zigmund support.Apps 5 15 March 2008 15:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07431 seconds with 13 queries