English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2009, 00:40   #1
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
A600 mouse partially working

As some of you may already know, i'm working on an A600 laptop. I have used a Cocolino with a PS2 touchpad and it used to work great about a week ago. Today i have finally assembled the whole beast, and went for ignition. Although the computer started, i had a dead touchpad. Thus, i tried using a classic mouse. What i got was vertical movement and both mouse buttons working. To double-cross the fatcs i even tested the other two Amiga mice i had, getting the same results. Which means it isn't a faulty mouse. Next, i went measuring the mouse port with a multimeter, and found pins 4 and 8 to be shorted! Supposedly, this has something to do with my problem. What i really want to know, is: if a CIA is burnt, would the mouse do even half its functions? (all i'm missing is horizontal) Is it logical for the pad not to work at all? And finally, if i can't manage to find a solution, would i be able to handle the 600 by using the keyboard and install the OS? I was thinking of getting advantage of the Subway's USB ports to plug a modern mouse, but that doesn't work from startup at least.. Any suggestions? It is rather difficult for me to disassemble everything to get to the rear part of the mobo at the moment! By the way, here's a link to the nearly-finished thingy..
http://s298.photobucket.com/albums/m...ent=TOTAL7.jpg
salax54 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 March 2009, 13:11   #2
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Have you checked the pins for any breaks in the mouse port? use a pair of tweezers and gently see if any of the pins move (slide in and out). This is a common problem if mice/joysticks are always being pulled or inserted into the ports.

It could be a start before suspecting the chips etc... you might need to wiggle the connection and see if it responds... just a suggestion
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 17:44   #3
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Thanks for the suggestion PowerPie5000, the port pins were intact (physically speaking).
Luckily, it was not a chip though! As suspected, a short in the port-extension cable was present and i had to desolder and re-solder. All is well now folks! Gotta get this beast completed tonight!
salax54 is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 11:38   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 right mouse button not working protek support.Hardware 48 18 March 2013 14:57
Amiga 500 mouse not working bigbangtech support.Hardware 12 15 February 2013 12:46
A4000T mouse and keyboard sometimes not working Calgor support.Hardware 33 05 June 2011 09:10
Right mouse button not working? NovaCoder project.ClassicWB 3 09 May 2011 06:26
Mouse not working DanE support.Hardware 4 26 September 2006 13:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05845 seconds with 13 queries