English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 December 2011, 16:51   #1
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,491
A4000 and IDE CD-ROM

EDIT: Installed IDEFix '97 and made it use L:AmiCDFS and atapi.device -- works nicely now!

I can't get any of my known working IDE CD-ROM drives to work with the internal IDE connector on my A4000...
I've tried both CDFileSystem and AmiCDFS, and changing Unit in CD0/CD0.info. No drives show up in HDToolBox (scsi.device)... I know that Mount works, because CF0 mounts fine (SCSI CF/SD/PCMCIA adapter).

I use a GVP A4000 HC+8 SCSI card for my SCSI HDD, and the IDE connector is left for use with the CD-ROM.
I have tried to put the CD-ROM in "cable select", "master" and "master and single" jumper mode. The Amiga boots fine (no 20+ secs boot delay), but no CD-ROM shows up in Workbench no matter what CD I put in. I know that the CD-ROM drive gets its +5v and +12v in good levels, also I know that they work fine in my PCs.

I have kickstart 3.1, Buster 11 and Workbench 3.1 installed -- need help!

Oh, forgot to mention.. The internal IDE works fine, I used to have an IDE HDD connected to it.

Last edited by 8bitbubsy; 07 December 2011 at 17:32.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 07 December 2011, 17:43   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,121
So .. You put the edit on top, then the following text was your original question?

But yeah, scsi.device doesn't support ATAPI devices before OS 3.9. Or maybe 3.5 already had support? I don't remember for sure any more.
Jope is online now  
Old 08 December 2011, 11:19   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 52
Posts: 2,824
have you tried it in slave and changing the dos driver to cd1,and changing the tooltypes to suit.

i dont think it can see a cdrom on the first port as master.it's not a bootable device.
roy bates is offline  
Old 08 December 2011, 12:03   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,121
It doesn't make any difference whether it's bootable or not, it will work just as well as master and slave. The problem here was the missing atapi support in the OS3.1 scsi.device.
Jope is online now  
Old 08 December 2011, 14:07   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Installed IDEFix '97 and made it use L:AmiCDFS and atapi.device -- works nicely now!
Why don't you use CacheCDFS which comes with IDEfix?
thomas is online now  
Old 08 December 2011, 20:30   #6
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Why don't you use CacheCDFS which comes with IDEfix?
I was wondering about this. What's the difference between CacheCDFS from OS3.9 and the one (CacheCDFS2) from Idefix from Aminet?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 07:07   #7
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Why don't you use CacheCDFS which comes with IDEfix?
Isn't AmiCDFS more polished and better?
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 08:58   #8
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Isn't AmiCDFS more polished and better?
AmiCDFS is inside OS3.1

CacheCDFS is inside OS3.9 and CacheCDFS2 is inside Idefix

confusing. Which one should we use
ancalimon is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 09:57   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Isn't AmiCDFS more polished and better?
AmiCDFS is older and has less features than CacheCDFS.

You probably think of AsimCDFS which is a commercial product and comparable to CacheCDFS.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
AmiCDFS is inside OS3.1
AmiCDFS is a third-party product, it is not inside anything. And it is shareware, you have to pay for it if you use it. (Although the author probably does not care any more.)


Quote:
CacheCDFS is inside OS3.9 and CacheCDFS2 is inside Idefix
There is no such thing like CacheCDFS2. CacheCDFS of OS 3.9 is just a recompile of IDEfix with another version number and without nag requesters.
thomas is online now  
Old 09 December 2011, 11:52   #10
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 52
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It doesn't make any difference whether it's bootable or not, it will work just as well as master and slave. The problem here was the missing atapi support in the OS3.1 scsi.device.

sorry,what i was thinking was first ide channel as master.
roy bates is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 11:54   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,121
It still doesn't make any difference. They're just unit numbers of a device driver to the handler.
Jope is online now  
Old 09 December 2011, 12:11   #12
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It still doesn't make any difference. They're just unit numbers of a device driver to the handler.
Yes, that's right. But if the CD has a lower unit number than the boot HDD, it can slow down the boot process significantly. If on unit 0 a HDD is found and the HDD has the "last ID" flag set in its RDB, the CD drive (and any other device) is not examined for a bootable partition any more and the Amiga starts to boot immediately. If a CD drive is found at the first unit number, it needs some time to recognise that there is no CD in it or that there is no RDB on the CD.
thomas is online now  
Old 09 December 2011, 12:33   #13
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
AmiCDFS is a third-party product, it is not inside anything. And it is shareware, you have to pay for it if you use it. (Although the author probably does not care any more.)

There is no such thing like CacheCDFS2. CacheCDFS of OS 3.9 is just a recompile of IDEfix with another version number and without nag requesters.
Yes I mixed it with the CDFilesystem found in OS3.1.

But when I did a version full check with the CacheCDFS from Idefix, it said CacheCDFS2 version xxx as far as I remember.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 14:59   #14
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Code:
1> version l:cachecdfs file full
CacheCDFS 42.19 (02.06.99)
1> version ram:ide-fix/l/cachecdfs file full
CacheCDFS 113.20 (30.10.99)
1>
thomas is online now  
Old 10 December 2011, 01:29   #15
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,491
Okay thanks, learnt some new stuff today. I'll stick with CacheCDFS 113.20.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 14 December 2011, 19:00   #16
MalleII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 28
As Jope said before: the scsi.device doesn't support ATAPI devices!
You need to patch the kickrom 3.1-based scsi.device to a later version.
Here are the files and the (german) manual how to do this:
http://home.arcor.de/micky.d/IDE.html
I use this on my a4000 and it works great with a liteon CD-RW device.
Instead of the above patch, you can install OS 3.5 or OS 3.9, both have the above patch included in the supplied romupdate file.

Then use the 'finddevice' utility from idefix to check if the atapi cd-rom is now detected.
Then mount CD0: with your preferred filesystem, cachecdfs or whatever.
MalleII is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 IDE just died T_hairy_bootson support.Hardware 14 05 August 2008 05:41
A4000 IDE Suggestions Olecranon support.Hardware 13 25 March 2007 03:07
A4000 Ide Heavyweight7t6 support.Hardware 22 07 April 2006 14:25
IDE CD-Burner on a4000 th4t1guy support.Hardware 13 03 February 2006 04:29
IDE cd-burner for A4000 th4t1guy support.Hardware 6 19 January 2003 20:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11335 seconds with 13 queries