English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 December 2014, 19:32   #1
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
Best Commodore 4000 Monitor?

What is the best Commodore 4000 Monitor? Thanks
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 December 2014, 20:05   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,728
The 1960
Jope is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 02:26   #3
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
What's the 1940 like compared to the 1960 monitor?
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 06:29   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,728
Terrible..

Oh, reasoning.. yes..

- no two amiga screen modes use the same adjustments so you will spend a lot of time twiddling the knobs
- unsharp dot pitch
Jope is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 07:07   #5
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
On a website I read, it said that the 1940 Monitor is Compatible with the Amiga 1200 and 4000.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 08:01   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,409
You haven't specified what sort of monitor you need. If only 15khz is required, you can't beat a flat screen Trinitron.

If a multisync monitor is required I believe the NEC Multisync monitors are highly regarded. I personally wouldn't touch any Commodore monitor with a barge pole. They're old and clapped out, they're far too small, and the CRT's are curved.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 11:25   #7
gazj82
Registered User

gazj82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cambs / UK
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
You haven't specified what sort of monitor you need. If only 15khz is required, you can't beat a flat screen Trinitron.

If a multisync monitor is required I believe the NEC Multisync monitors are highly regarded. I personally wouldn't touch any Commodore monitor with a barge pole. They're old and clapped out, they're far too small, and the CRT's are curved.
[ Show youtube player ]
gazj82 is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 13:28   #8
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
Just a monitor that will work well with the Amiga 4000 components.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 13:50   #9
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
I guess M1438S is the best monitor for AGA Amigas (1200 and 4000 are very similar) since it can display resolutions up to 1024x768. (although AGA becomes very slow at that resolution. 800x600 on the other hand is great and fast with a fast Amiga and it has very little flickering that is hard to notice)

There is also the M1764 which is the bigger brother of M1438S with more features, but there is no possibility of finding one (I have been looking for one since 2004 and was prepared to pay up to 300€ for it until I realized that shipping such a monitor to Turkey would cost a fortune) so M1438S should be the best. I guess you can find one of these being sold once a year.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 13:51   #10
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,028
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 13:59   #11
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,028
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 14:13   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
On a website I read, it said that the 1940 Monitor is Compatible with the Amiga 1200 and 4000.
Yes, it is. And your original question was what was the best Commodore monitor [for the] 4000. The answer to that is not the 1940. It's a terrible monitor.

I added the bits in square brackets myself and adjusted the word order a bit. I had to guess since you didn't form a complete sentence.

I hated my 1942. I was so happy to see it go. I even got some money for it, yay.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 14:24   #13
gazj82
Registered User

gazj82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cambs / UK
Posts: 311
The 1084S is sufficient for my A1200 needs. Mind you I have no other monitors to compare it with. I do know it isn't much good for high resolutions needed for web browsing etc.

EDIT: My 1084S is different from the one above.

gazj82 is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 14:51   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,728
The 1084/8833 is a fine monitor for PAL/NTSC use. And let's be honest, the rest of the AGA modes are so slow that it's best to just forget them anyway. :-)

If bigger resolutions are needed, it's best to get a flicker fixer + VGA monitor and run an interlaced 15kHz mode..
Jope is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 14:52   #15
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The 1084/8833 is a fine monitor for PAL/NTSC use. And let's be honest, the rest of the AGA modes are so slow that it's best to just forget them anyway. :-)

If bigger resolutions are needed, it's best to get a flicker fixer + VGA monitor and run an interlaced 15kHz mode..
800x600 32 colours IBrowse is bearable with a Blizzard 1260. (of course with the usual blizkick, fblit, ftext, peterk iconlib, cosmos patches combination)
ancalimon is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 14:57   #16
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,941
This one looks quite nice, a Commodore-badged version of Iiyama 21" FST.
mark_k is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 14:58   #17
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 30
Posts: 1,233
I have an amazing Multisync Microvitec 1548 at home. Excellent monitor.

Too bad it goes purple after 5-10 minutes
jbenam is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 15:09   #18
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
So if I had a choice to buy a 1960 Monitor or a 1940 Monitor for an Amiga 4000 and chose the 1940, what differences would I notice when I'm using Video Toaster, Personal Paint and playing Games.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 17:20   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,728
If you use anything but the PAL screenmode, you'd notice yourself adjusting all the size + position knobs all the time on the 1940.

Why not get a 1084S instead and stick to PAL. They can be had for less money and effort.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 December 2014, 22:35   #20
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
Thanks. Does the Multisync on the 1960 Monitor solve the problem of adjusting knobs for the size and position of the display. Also, why was the 1940 Monitor released in 1993 2 years after the 1960 Monitor (1991) when it's Bysync, less advanced than Multisync.
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore monitor or TV? endre1952 support.Hardware 3 29 April 2012 08:06
Commodore monitor Seblington MarketPlace 1 19 August 2011 18:17
FS: Amiga 4000 030 with 1960 Monitor Retro-mania MarketPlace 7 14 October 2007 17:52
Commodore PC monitor with amiga 4000 Dizzy support.Hardware 0 01 February 2006 18:35
Amiga 4000/40 with monitor on ebay sturme MarketPlace 2 14 September 2002 19:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09032 seconds with 15 queries