English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 December 2008, 00:37   #1
JackTheKnife
Amiga Fetish
JackTheKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 43
Posts: 231
Question Simply bootable floppy disk

What I need to copy to create simply bootable floppy disk with CLI and FileMaster? After 15 years without Amiga I forgot how to do this

Thanks
JackTheKnife is offline  
Old 21 December 2008, 01:02   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackTheKnife View Post
What I need to copy to create simply bootable floppy disk with CLI and FileMaster? After 15 years without Amiga I forgot how to do this

Thanks
From CLI type install df0:
prowler is offline  
Old 21 December 2008, 01:11   #3
JackTheKnife
Amiga Fetish
JackTheKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 43
Posts: 231
Here is what I did:

- formatted blank disk
- run CLI
- put blank disk back
- changed dir to DF0:
- type install df0:

and I need to switch back to WB disk then got message that disk is write protected
JackTheKnife is offline  
Old 21 December 2008, 01:26   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Without a hard disk drive the simplest solution to having a bootable disk is to copy the Workbench disk using the Diskcopy command. This copies the boot block and all the necessary directories to the new disk. Then if you need memory for other applications, delete the directories and files not needed for the boot process.
prowler is offline  
Old 21 December 2008, 01:32   #5
JackTheKnife
Amiga Fetish
JackTheKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 43
Posts: 231
Diskcopy df0: gives me missing argument error. Back to deleting folders/files idk which one I can to delete anyway.
JackTheKnife is offline  
Old 21 December 2008, 01:34   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackTheKnife View Post
Diskcopy df0: gives me missing argument error.
Use Diskcopy from df0: to df0: (You will have some disk swapping to do. )
prowler is offline  
Old 21 December 2008, 01:38   #7
JackTheKnife
Amiga Fetish
JackTheKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 43
Posts: 231
Roger!
JackTheKnife is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help to make a bootable disk with pictures alkis21 support.Other 4 03 November 2012 12:05
HOW TO: Create a boot floppy disk to load a bootable partition NubeCheCorre support.Other 3 18 February 2012 15:05
How to create a bootable floppy disk for Amiga? UK-Wobbie support.Apps 3 25 November 2011 20:03
Bootable disk error xaero1 support.WinUAE 2 19 December 2008 12:50
Minimum Bootable Workbench Disk atrionfo New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 07 January 2007 22:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.69598 seconds with 15 queries