English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 July 2018, 21:30   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Tearing in double/triple buffered screen with WinUAE 4.0.1 (issue from 4.0.0b8+)

For you to test this Toni I have attached a zip file with a James Pond II configuration (from DamienD collection) and a host configuration from me. Load both the main config and the host config via the autoload checkbox and start the game. The issue is only present in WinUAE 4.0.0b8 and up as I said. (I checked!)

Strangely I have not found this issue before! I am not sure if this happens only in my machine or if other users have the same issue as me.

I have also included some log files in the zip.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Logs 4000b8.zip (14.2 KB, 27 views)
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 21:58   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,351
You should probably try the latest WinUAE 4.0.1 and report back

...just download the [zip-archive (32-bit)] and extract into "C:\WinUAE".
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 22:04   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Sorry DamienD I tried it also and the issue is still there. The issue is present in WinUAE 4.0.0 b8 and superior.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 22:08   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,351
Ok, gotcha

I haven't experienced that but use Direct3D 9; and no Lagess VSync as yet.

What happens if you don't use your host config file; problem still there?

Edit: thread title adjusted.
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 22:43   #5
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, gotcha

I haven't experienced that but use Direct3D 9; and no Lagess VSync as yet.

What happens if you don't use your host config file; problem still there?

Edit: thread title adjusted.
Without my config file it works.

With my extra config file changed to use Direct3D 9 it works too.

So only with Direct3D 9 it works without tearing. But it works more slowly than the normal. Direct3D 11 has issues.

From what I remember both Direct3D modes ran very fast without glitches some time ago. The only change I did in my computer that I think changed everything was reinstall the Direct3D 9 drivers from an archive I have in my harddisk... I don't know why, but I thought it was a good idea to reinstall it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Edit: thread title adjusted.
Thanks.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 23:18   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
One thing got me a bit worried: may the Direct3D 9 runtime dll's in it's installer form be incompatible with newer Windows 10 updates?
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 23:37   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,151
For me it's actually the other way around. D3D11 lagless vsync works rock solid in Windows 10. And D3D9 lagless gives me a terrible tearing. Though i don't know when it started. Standard Vsync is still fine though in D3D9.

edit: Ah, in my case it's something more specific. It happens only with D3D9 lagless, and a specific CRT shader. So, not the same problem. I don't care since in D3D11 it's all fine for me.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 18 July 2018 at 00:06.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 July 2018, 20:18   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
The only change
"only"..

Create single config file that does it. Less chances for unknown variables.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 July 2018, 20:57   #9
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"only"..
Yes I know...

I will reinstall Windows 10 and DirectX 9 to see if the issue persists.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Create single config file that does it
Here it is.
Attached Files
File Type: uae RobocodSingle.uae (12.8 KB, 27 views)
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 10:07   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
Was that latest DX9? (June 2010). It should be perfectly safe to install (and required if program needs DX9, even if using Windows 10). Unless you had some older version previously that accidentally "worked better"..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 13:59   #11
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Yes, it was the latest DX9 that I got from the Microsoft website.

I reinstalled Windows, this time without DX9 and the issue persists with DX11.

I guess the culprit is KB4345421. I installed it a little before the DX9, so maybe I did not realize that it might be the problem. Interesting is that the Microsoft support page is a bit vague, generalizing what changed.

As I said I have the issue only with WinUAE 4.0.0b8 and superior, including 4.0.1. But I ended up not saying that I'm running the game at 50Hz in addition to triple buffering AND when I run it at 60Hz it is perfectly normal with the usual bad VBL syncing. This rings you a bell, maybe?
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 14:32   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
You sure display driver didn't get (hidden) update at the same time? No display driver forced options enabled?

Which kind of tearing? Single slow/fast moving tear line or static line?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 15:55   #13
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You sure display driver didn't get (hidden) update at the same time? No display driver forced options enabled?
I have not changed anything in the video driver for this to happen. The driver is the same as I have used in the last few months and it worked perfectly until this day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Which kind of tearing? Single slow/fast moving tear line or static line?
Of the first type. It is only visible when a large portion of the screen is being updated, such as when scrolling the screen.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 03:34   #14
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Since July (!) I could no longer use any emulator with VSync, but today I finally received a cumulative update from Microsoft that fixes this bug with the Intel HD4400 chipset. Hooray!

Thank you to Toni, DamienD and Retro-Nerd.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 13:28   #15
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
False alarm Microsoft. Grrr...
Leandro Jardim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is WinUAE using a real triple buffer or render-ahead queue? rsn8887 support.WinUAE 0 17 January 2018 01:22
WinUAE v3.3.0 - AGA - Screen "tearing" DamienD support.WinUAE 12 05 August 2016 22:16
Screen tearing on small portion of display lordofchaos support.WinUAE 12 17 January 2015 10:04
Amiga 1200 Screen Tearing - rev 1D1 Mobo [SOLVED] Amicol support.Hardware 2 28 February 2014 23:03
No-buffering display mode with zero screen tearing, the next step? Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 87 22 January 2012 18:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08132 seconds with 16 queries