English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

Old 26 August 2007, 21:01   #1
bryce_boi

No work bench?

hi, im kinda new to all this stuff just dug out my amiga and trying to get it all working again, so i bought a compact flash PC adapter so i could transfer, ADF files across to the amiga and onto amiga floppy disks, now didn't realize this when i bought it but ofcourse it makes sence to me now, you need a set of workbench disks to get this thing working, witch i dont seem to have anymore, i have an ADF of workbench and was wondering if there was a way of using my old laptop (witch has a floppy drive) to make an amiga disk using this ADF.

I know about the null-modem cable but i dont actually have a desktop computer only a laptop so thats not an option...

Please can anyone help, maybe theres some windows software that writes amiga disks from adf's or somthing.
Old 26 August 2007, 21:20   #2
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh

Sorry, I'm afraid with a laptop that's pretty much impossible. The only way I'm aware of to write Amiga floppies with a PC is using the Catweasel controller, which is a PCI (or ISA) card though, so you can't use it in a laptop.

Edit: Maybe you can find someone in the London area to do it for you.

Last edited by eLowar; 26 August 2007 at 21:23. Reason: suggestion
Old 26 August 2007, 21:22   #3
Marcuz

all the solutions i can think of require already a working Workbench* on disk... the only rewriting software on PC that i know of, it doesn't exist yet and maybe ever: the SPS tool that would require also special hardware i think... i'm sorry... anybody else?
[edit] oh yes there's also the catweasel, as eLowar says, but it requires a PCI. if you could grab hold of an old PC there would be also the expense for that card though