English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 July 2018, 03:05   #41
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 602
The Mac OS is broken with v2.10 GOLD. v2.8 GOLD works fine. Running FUSION v3.2.

The Mac stops booting right after the palette change (which is after the "Welcome to Macintosh" dialog box). Using the same SAGA driver for both v2.10 and v2.8 (and v2.8 works). So, either the SBCD "fix" is broken or there was some change to the FPU code that breaks the Mac.

Same issue with Shapeshifter on the same A2000/V500 VAMPIRE setup. I can flash v2.10 and it doesn't work, then flash v2.8 and it works.. back to v2.10 it doesn't, and v2.8 it does. I did this 6 times back and forth, all with the same result.

So, for my customers using FUSION, go back to the stable v2.8 GOLD release.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 03:39   #42
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
The Mac OS is broken with v2.10 GOLD. v2.8 GOLD works fine. Running FUSION v3.2.

The Mac stops booting right after the palette change (which is after the "Welcome to Macintosh" dialog box). Using the same SAGA driver for both v2.10 and v2.8 (and v2.8 works). So, either the SBCD "fix" is broken or there was some change to the FPU code that breaks the Mac.

Same issue with Shapeshifter on the same A2000/V500 VAMPIRE setup. I can flash v2.10 and it doesn't work, then flash v2.8 and it works.. back to v2.10 it doesn't, and v2.8 it does. I did this 6 times back and forth, all with the same result.

So, for my customers using FUSION, go back to the stable v2.8 GOLD release.
Can you try 2.9? I can confirm shapeshifter works in 2.9. Can't speak for Fusion tho'.

I say 2.9 because I think that is where the new expansion port pins are reassigned so anyone connecting ethernet via expansion port using the wiki pinouts can fry the vampire if it's wired for the 2.9 instructions and they are on 2.8. The 2.9 pinout assignments are the only ones I know of for the expansion port.

Basically, anyone who wants to use the expansion port will need at least Core 2.9.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 03:59   #43
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 602
Yep... v2.9 works fine.

I thought this might be a speed issue, but my Vampire boards work at x12 just fine.

So, with the Mac OS with x11 v2.8 and x10 v2.9 work fine. x11 or x12 v2.10 does not work.

Everything else seems to work with the v2.10 GOLD core, at either x11 or x12. So, I guessing that a CPU/FPU instruction was broken with v2.10. The Mac OS uses every single 680x0 instruction available... literally.

Last edited by JimDrew; 31 July 2018 at 05:01.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 09:53   #44
pcotter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
I can also confirm that Shapeshifter boots fine on Gold 2.10. Both x11 and x12. Pal and Rtg
pcotter is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 12:52   #45
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
GOLD2.10 works fine here on ShapeShifter, I even got it online with iCab and our latest multicast compatible driver. I'll record a video later today.
TuKo is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 16:19   #46
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Same issue with Shapeshifter on the same A2000/V500 VAMPIRE setup. I can flash v2.10 and it doesn't work, then flash v2.8 and it works.. back to v2.10 it doesn't, and v2.8 it does. I did this 6 times back and forth, all with the same result.
Shapeshifter works here at v2.10. See attached picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1973.JPG
Views:	237
Size:	711.3 KB
ID:	59050  
buggs is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 19:48   #47
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
Just recorded a small video of it
[ Show youtube player ]
TuKo is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 19:53   #48
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,245
Testing doesn't look very useful without knowing which version of Mac OS actually fails...
meynaf is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 20:38   #49
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs View Post
Shapeshifter works here at v2.10. See attached picture.
What's that board to the left of the A500?
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 23:20   #50
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
So now with the updated library you can use the Vampire FPU without side effects?
Depends entirely on the software in question. The rounding errors when doing apparently simple math is the most annoying, showing up as funny "side effects" in rexx scripts and whatever (see attachment for example). I rather keep FPU off by default, and only enable it for specific "safe" tasks.

I think "the team" should provide math libs substitutes as a work around.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rexxmath.png
Views:	132
Size:	1.6 KB
ID:	59051  
kolla is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 08:26   #51
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Testing doesn't look very useful without knowing which version of Mac OS actually fails...

Ah, true! I am using Mac OS8.1. Quadra 950 ROM. I didn't realize you could turn off the FPU with v2.10. I should try that. The Mac OS runs WAY better on the VAMPIRE without the FPU (older cores) anyways because it needs the 96 bit precision (especially OS8.1) for everything. When there is no FPU available (like with a LC040), the Mac OS uses all integer routines instead of floating point.

Last edited by JimDrew; 02 August 2018 at 08:32.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 10:00   #52
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
My vid was using default GOLD2.10 FPU setting (=ON) and Quadra 950 ROM on OS3.9 based distribution (coffin).
Your problem sits elsewhere Jim.
TuKo is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 10:39   #53
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,541
Is it normal for Chooser to say 7.6.1 on 8.1?
kolla is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 20:08   #54
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 602
No - if Chooser shows 7.6.1 then that is the actual Mac OS version. I am using OS8.1 (not 7.6.1) with my setup. OS8.1 was the best/fastest Mac OS released, and the last 68K compatible version.

There is something definitely wrong with v2.10 running Mac OS8.1. I was able to run Mac OS7.5 with it, but OS8.1 hangs when it goes to start up. OS8.1 is quite a bit different from OS7.x, especially the FPU usage.

Flashing v2.8 or v2.9 allows the emulation to start up. Flashing back to v2.10 makes the Amiga hang completely (no crash - just no response, ie. Amiga-M/N doesn't work to switch screens, requires Amiga to be powered off!). No other changes - just flashing back and forth between cores. I also tried with and without the Picasso96 driver, so this is not RTG related.

Last edited by JimDrew; 02 August 2018 at 20:22.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 21:14   #55
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
Jim, could you post screenshot of your Chooser app window on MacOS 8.1 ?

Here is mine :


Following this approach, I think MacOS 9.1 should be considered then as MacOS 7.6.2.

Last edited by TuKo; 02 August 2018 at 21:29.
TuKo is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 21:58   #56
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,779
If it can serve this it is Chooser app window on MacOS 8.01 on WiUAE/AFA-OS

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 24 August 2018 at 09:46.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 22:25   #57
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,541
Well, wow, he fell for it
kolla is offline  
Old 05 August 2018, 15:50   #58
Crom
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 33
Hi Jim!

Here is my Vampire 600 v 2.1 running MacOS using my Fusion install from back in the day on the latest Apollo Gold core. Works for me.

https://imgur.com/EEMZsjy
Crom is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 17:47   #59
Crom
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 33
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
There is something definitely wrong with v2.10 running Mac OS8.1. I was able to run Mac OS7.5 with it, but OS8.1 hangs when it goes to start up. OS8.1 is quite a bit different from OS7.x, especially the FPU usage.
Hi Jim,
So does your interest level regarding comaptability with Gold core 2.10 and OS 8.1 mean you are developing a future 68k version of Fusion for Amiga 68k with 020/030/040/060/080 in mind?

Cheers!
Crom is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 20:55   #60
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 602
Yes. There is something broke in v2.10 though. I have narrowed it down to an instruction issue for sure, but I am not sure if it is FPU or CPU. The Amiga actually hangs - as in it requires a physical power off. Not even CTRL-Amiga-Amiga works!

I went back to older versions of FUSION and the same problem occurs. My MacOS 8.1 is the universal installer version, so I have ALL of the various Mac system resource files available. It looks like this issue occurs at some point of loading a resource, but since I don't have access to the Amiga (because it is hung) I can't just go look in Mac memory to determine what resource it is - so I have a debug version that is saving things to CHIP memory at $80000, but this erased (most of the time) even with a fast power off/power on. It makes debugging this a nightmare.

Now that Mikej has the 68060 daughter boards out for the Replay, I am very interested in producing a new version of FUSION. With Replay's daughter board 060 running up to 135MHz it will be the fastest (Amiga based) Mac in the world. Can't wait to post some benchmarks, especially FPU!

Last edited by JimDrew; 08 August 2018 at 01:55.
JimDrew is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire Gold Core v2.9 released Sinphaltimus News 39 11 June 2018 12:03
GOLD core released for Vampire 600 V2 guibrush News 23 16 September 2016 05:34
SILVER9 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 1 04 August 2016 14:13
SILVER8 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 3 02 August 2016 05:13
SILVER3 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 4 03 April 2016 15:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09484 seconds with 16 queries