English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2018, 14:46   #21
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by flype View Post
In your case it seems to hang after the cold reboot.
Right. As I said, I will debug this, since it is annoying, I was just looking for potential known culprits. One obvious thing I will try is to disable Poseidon and other rom modules that I load using LoadModule early in s-s.
kolla is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 16:54   #22
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanderbeanz View Post
Hi, as a casual observer of the team’s progress, does anyone know, extremely roughly, when the Gold 3 release is planned for? The one that will let you play AGA games on an A500/600?

Maybe 6monhs, a year?

Thanks.

Gunnar announced it for this summer.
TuKo is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 17:49   #23
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Right. As I said, I will debug this, since it is annoying, I was just looking for potential known culprits. One obvious thing I will try is to disable Poseidon and other rom modules that I load using LoadModule early in s-s.
OK, my hunch was spot on...

Removed loading of ENVARC:PsdLoadStack and poseidon modules as rom modules fixed the problem. Just having poseidon modules loaded and then running PsdLoadStack causes trouble for VControl (and c:reboot for that matter), but running PsdLoadStack without having modules resident works fine. Since the kickstart that comes with the core already supports pressing "help" to enter early startup menus, it is not really a big deal, though I will have to navigate them using the keyboard. So, I removed loading of poseidon modules, and run PsdLoadStack from s-s instead.

If there is any interest, I could look further into it and find out if it is exactly one module or combo that causes the problems.
kolla is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 20:24   #24
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
@kolla very good

Out of curiosity do you need a feature in vcontrol to detect if fpu in On so that you could have a line in your SS to disable only if enabled, some sort of permanent disabling. That would save you to do the operation by hand. Still would need a reboot of course.

Something like this early in the ss :

VControl hasfpu >nil:
If $rc eq 1
VControl fpu 0
Endif

Last edited by flype; 25 July 2018 at 20:39.
flype is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 20:30   #25
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Sure, I was a little puzzled that "vcontrol fp" (without argument) doesn't already report 0 or 1

This said, it looks like disabling the FPU now is "reset proof", at least c:reboot doesn't reset the cpu back to default (can't recall if I tried with ctrl-a-a).

EDIT: yes, FPU state also survives ctrl-a-a now, good... I now see a chance to have the FPU permanently off by default

EDIT2: Second thought, why not have VControl check the state of the FPU already, so that "VControl FP 0" does nothing if it is already off?

Last edited by kolla; 25 July 2018 at 20:44.
kolla is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 20:36   #26
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
Ok. Deal. In some days, miggy is far right now.

Last edited by flype; 25 July 2018 at 20:43.
flype is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 20:49   #27
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by flype View Post
Ok. Deal. In some days, miggy is far right now.
No rush here.

In general, VControl has a lot of "knobs" for turning features on and off or set a value, but I don't see a way to print out what current settings are for all those "knobs". But it happens sometimes that I miss the obvious.
kolla is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 21:25   #28
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
'Vcontrol cpu' output the DFP bit among others such as the ESS bit (Enable SuperScalar). Also the ATTNflags etc... I recon it is quite lowlevel but it helps. Some others switches being write only registers, it is not always obvious to output current status. This is why the vampire.resource module is intended for. Nice to have feedback. I intend to put more efforts into this tool also a gui.

For your EDIT2: Indeed i came to same conclusion.

Last edited by flype; 25 July 2018 at 21:37.
flype is offline  
Old 26 July 2018, 23:38   #29
systmcrsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nyc, usa
Posts: 42
in the meantime, if you want to disable the fpu by default i wrote a small program that i put in my startup sequence:

disablefpu -> will check if an fpu is detected and if it is will run "vcontrol fp 0" (which will reboot the system). if no fpu is detected the program doesn't do anything.

disablefpu will only work if vcontrol is somewhere in your path (ie, Workbench:C)

attached, source included
Attached Files
File Type: zip disablefpu.zip (1.8 KB, 24 views)
systmcrsh is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 15:15   #30
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
@systmcrsh

Nice. Thanks.

Maybe better use AFF_FPU40 rather than AFF_68882 ** in our case **. It is guaranteed it will always be set.
flype is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 19:50   #31
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
It just occurred to me that the sources of PPT, one of the pieces of software that just crash on the AC68080 with FPU enabled, is available.
If there is any interest for the Apollo Team (or others) to figure out why....

http://aminet.net/package/gfx/conv/PPT_dist
http://aminet.net/package/gfx/conv/PPT-source

EDIT: I meant to write that it only crashes on startup with FPU enabled, but forgot to mention that little vital detail.
I suspect it tries to detect what FPU, if any, that is available, and then fail miserably.

Last edited by kolla; 28 July 2018 at 21:26.
kolla is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 11:53   #32
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
@kolla

Interesting.


About our previous discussion :

VControl 1.8

Changelog:

Now, the "VControl FPU 0 or 1" feature reboots only if the requested FPU mode is different than the current mode.

In other words, one can put "VControl FPU 0 >NIL:" as first line in the startup-sequence to permanently disable the FPU.

http://www.apollo-accelerators.com/f...ver.v1.4.2.lha
flype is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 12:21   #33
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Excellent!
kolla is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 12:50   #34
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
@kolla

Does PPT works OK when FPU is disabled ?
flype is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 13:24   #35
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by flype View Post
Does PPT works OK when FPU is disabled ?
Yes, albeit slowly.
kolla is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 17:22   #36
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
@kolla

I tried PPT with FPU enabled. Trying reproduce and locate the issue(s).

It works here, without using the installer, this in order to not overwrite my installed BGUI libs.

I wonder if the guilty files are related to BGUI.

The way i did (as super quick test, i must say), it miss some 'gadgets' so it is incomplete but for what i tried, the program works, it opens his screen, the child windows, and the render effects worked.

Maybe you could try by using the final public release of BGUI, over the ones installed by PPT (which are quite unusual, seems to me) http://aminet.net/package/dev/gui/bgui


I could be totally wrong, just trying locate issue & reproduce by elimination.
flype is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 17:42   #37
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,368
Sure, will have a closer look.

EDIT: Yes, it was bgui.library 41.08 that was the culprit... wonder what it was trying to do using FPU.

Last edited by kolla; 29 July 2018 at 22:12.
kolla is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 22:21   #38
systmcrsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nyc, usa
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by flype View Post
@kolla
In other words, one can put "VControl FPU 0 >NIL:" as first line in the startup-sequence to permanently disable the FPU.

awesome, thanx!
systmcrsh is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 22:46   #39
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Yes, it was bgui.library 41.08 that was the culprit... wonder what it was trying to do using FPU.
Very good

That 41.08 seems quite old hacky hacky beta.
flype is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 22:43   #40
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 450
@kolla:

So now with the updated library you can use the Vampire FPU without side effects?
grond is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire Gold Core v2.9 released Sinphaltimus News 39 11 June 2018 11:03
GOLD core released for Vampire 600 V2 guibrush News 23 16 September 2016 04:34
SILVER9 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 1 04 August 2016 13:13
SILVER8 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 3 02 August 2016 04:13
SILVER3 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 4 03 April 2016 14:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09282 seconds with 16 queries