English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 June 2019, 09:49   #1
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,781
Upscaling to HDMI

If I have a console that only has composite out and I use a Composite to HDMI is the image any better than Connecting the Composite direct?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 11:01   #2
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,540
I'd say no, as Composite is best viewed on CRTs (the old box TVs). But if you can't find one or don't have room for the CRT, then you really have no choice but to go HDMI. Just go for a good converter.
Foebane is online now  
Old 28 June 2019, 12:01   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 3,747
I'd look at modding the console. What is it?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 13:37   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
No, because this cheap HDMI scaling boxes are doing exactly the same as the internal scaling functions of your TV. Both looks shitty. You would need a professional video scaler for better results, e.g. the Frame Meister. But this doesn't make sense then, quality-wise. So, yes. If a RGB/component/s-video mod is possible for the console, this would be the best solution.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 28 June 2019 at 13:46.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 28 June 2019, 14:04   #5
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,781
Some videos on YouTube suggest that it would take away the rough edges you get from composite.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 14:13   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,411
Composite outputs in home computers and consoles hardly have any rough edges, just a blurry mess. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 15:53   #7
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,781
The TV probably displays at 576i or whatever when connected direct but when upscaled 1080p etc

Now I know in theory there shouldn't be a difference but some videos suggest the rough edges round Text seem better and in general sharper image, only really interested if someones had first hand experience.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 16:16   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
Maybe. But this highly depends on the used chip inside the HDMI scaler box. And you never know what you get with the cheap chinese boxes/adapters. Even in the same product line they can change the chip for the worse or better. It's a bit like gambling.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 28 June 2019, 16:20   #9
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Maybe. But this highly depends on the used chip inside the HDMI scaler box. And you never know what you get with the cheap chinese boxes/adapters. Even in the same product line they can change the chip for the worse or better. It's a bit like gambling.
Your probably right
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 29 June 2019, 05:21   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,146
Whether you use the TV's built-in decoder or an external one, it needs to decode the Composite signal, sample it and scale to the panel resolution (1080p?). So it all comes down to which one has the better implementation and that is impossible to tell without naming specific models.

I have a RetroTINK 2X and it does a very nice job decoding and sampling the video signal from 240p sources:
https://www.videogameperfection.com/.../retrotink-2x/
It doesn't do any scaling though except for line doubling, so the monitor you are connecting it to must support 480p through HDMI, but I think most do.
demolition is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 14:41   #11
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 705
I have a fairly decent laser disc collection and that format for those that don't know is composite only. I find the best picture I can get is to go direct from the player into the TV and let the TVs scaler deal with the image. The TV is a £1200 panasonic plasma from 7 years ago so fairly high end at the time and it does a fantastic job with the image. Likewise running my Amiga via composite to the TV direct produces a nice clean image, far better than that on my CRT TV. A cheaper TV may not do such a good job and when I say clean image its as good as it can get over composite, workbench for example is still hard on the eyes. Running RBG into the same TV from the Amiga produces an even better result but again its just straight computer to TV.

I find most TV will have an input for composite, RGB or component. You may need a breakout cable for it but it will be there. Even our new (well 1 year old now) Sony 4K OLED screen has this option all be it I haven't tried it.

Another option is with some TVs that have a VGA connection then use a scan doubler like the GB8200. That what I'm doing now in the mancave and the image is good enough for me. FYI the TV in the cave is faulty and the AV inputs don't work. If I could get RGB directly into it that would be my first choice.
Glen M is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 15:07   #12
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
I have a fairly decent laser disc collection and that format for those that don't know is composite only. I find the best picture I can get is to go direct from the player into the TV and let the TVs scaler deal with the image.
I was about to comment that some LD players had S-Video output as well, but reading up on the format I can see that the data on the LD is composite so any S-Video signal must have been decoded by the player from the composite signal as read from the disc.


You should be happy that your current TV has a decent image from composite sources - my experience is that it is generally quite bad as this is not a selling point for any new TVs.
demolition is offline  
Old 21 February 2021, 15:42   #13
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,781
How much lag do these cheap converts have?
Retro1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire II and HDMI Toryglen-boy support.Hardware 11 08 June 2017 04:20
Upscaling Filters robwired support.FS-UAE 1 26 February 2017 09:13
HDMI with Amiga? lordofchaos support.Hardware 5 17 November 2011 15:05
Amiga to HDMI Reynolds support.Hardware 6 20 April 2011 18:47
Scan Doublers / Upscaling Loedown support.Hardware 1 19 February 2009 09:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11710 seconds with 15 queries