English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 December 2016, 07:31   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 556
ZIP drive not showing up

Hi All,

What's the process for getting a SCSI ZIP drive to show up in Workbench?

The drive shows up as Iomega Zip100 on my SCSI card utility, it has a unique SCSI ID and the termination is set correctly (I have a CD-ROM and HDD on the same SCSI chain that both work fine).

I've downloaded a couple of different ZIP utilities from Aminet - the instructions just say to copy the files (ZIP0, ZIPPC, etc, etc) into DOSDrivers, change a line in the script to match your scsi device, and they will work...only they don't.

If I mount the ZIP0 device from a CLI, nothing happens, if I mount it again I'm told the device is already mounted, but still nothing shows up, no "ZIP0:NDOS", nothing.

Any help appreciated. The machine is an A2000, 68020, 12mb RAM, Workbench 3.1.
Marchie is offline  
Old 19 December 2016, 08:52   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
the instructions just say to copy the files (ZIP0, ZIPPC, etc, etc) into DOSDrivers, change a line in the script to match your scsi device, and they will work...only they don't.
You have to change the unit number to the SCSI ID, too.

Also make sure that the file contains Activate = 1, otherwise you have to access the drive from DOS before it will show on Workbench. Try CD ZIP0: or Dir ZIP0:
thomas is offline  
Old 19 December 2016, 13:58   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,480
Ciao Thomas, I noticed that some links do not work anymore on your homepage, in particular from "Support" you can not download WBDock, BDWatch, DrawerSync and NewWBInfo.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 December 2016, 00:58   #4
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 556
Thanks Thomas,

I've made the changes you suggested, and I'm a little closer, but still not quite there.

If I mount ZIP0, then type "cd ZIP0" into a shell I get a "not a DOS DISK"; if I restart and mount ZIPPC (which, presumably, is supposed to support PC disks) I get "object not found".

Either way I still get nothing showing up on the desktop.

There's probably something obvious i'm not doing. What ZIP drivers are people using? (if, indeed, anyone's using a ZIP drive anymore) Is there an install script anywhere? (similar to AMICDROM which I used to setup my CD-ROM)
Marchie is offline  
Old 20 December 2016, 01:06   #5
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,003
When I used a ZIP drive, I just formatted the disk as though it was a regular hard disk.
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 December 2016, 00:52   #6
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 556
Thanks all, got it working with PC disks!

For reference:
* All programs are on Aminet
* Install MountDOS
* Install fat95
* Install the Zip driver (I used NewZipMount)
* Copy ZIP0 file (I renamed it ZIP5), edit it in ED using the instructions that come with fat 95.

PC Zip disks on Amiga Workbench!
Marchie is offline  
Old 09 January 2017, 23:28   #7
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 556
UPDATE/HELP:

Celebrated too soon - ZIP disks show up and I can open and browse them, but when I try to copy files on or off the disk, my machine back-screens and crashes.

Any suggestions for where or how to start error-trapping this?
Marchie is offline  
Old 22 April 2019, 14:14   #8
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 556
Alrighty, since you have all been hanging on the edge of your seats for these last two years until I got back to this...

ZipStandard and fat95 worked (both off Aminet). I can now swap data quickly from PC to Amiga.

Party at my place.

BYO beer.
Marchie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga formatted zip disks via USB zip drive in WinUAE? planetidiot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 02 February 2018 08:43
Zip drive problem marcel21674 support.Hardware 1 16 May 2014 06:33
Parrallel Zip Drive. Arnie support.Hardware 0 17 April 2014 21:31
zip drive ???? lost_loven support.Hardware 1 28 March 2010 10:56
Iomega Zip drive aohovland support.Hardware 4 29 November 2009 10:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07166 seconds with 13 queries