English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2010, 23:06   #1
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
A4000/a1200?

Hi all,

Is there any real benefit of owning an A4000 over an A1200? I am happy with the A1200 I have but would also like an A4000. I know as soon as another "old computer" enters the house, one of them will have to go!

What would the benefits of an A4000 have over say an A1200. I know expandability will be one.

Or failing that, ingenious places to hide an A4000/A1200

Thanks
Wasagi is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 23:45   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,599
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Wow you really have caught the Amiga bug

As you say, the A4000's main benefit is that its much more expandable, they come with at least an 030 and can take 16mb of fast memory on the motherboard so you get a nice quick Amiga straight out of the box.

After that the sky's the limit, a vast array of Zorro expansions to look at, sound/graphics/networking/USB/SCSI, its all there and you've got the space to use it.

The native IDE is 40pin so takes full size hard drives and on my A4000 performs much quicker than on the A1200's I've had.

I've also noticed that the 040/060 accelerators are a little cheaper for the A4000, then the A1200 models.

I recently joined the 'big box' Amiga club and so far I'm really enjoying it

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 00:10   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
The only disadvantage of the A4000 is that it has no PCMCIA port.
prowler is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 00:13   #4
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 39
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasagi View Post
. I know as soon as another "old computer" enters the house, one of them will have to go!
I get this allot, still got to mention i want a 500 yet, but the 600 convo did not exactly go to plan
ck1200 is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 00:21   #5
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
I had 2 A1200 in the past and after owning an A4000 for 16 years i can't praise it high enough. Of course is more expandable than the A1200 (it's a box! ) It depends seriously on what goals you have in my opinion. By the time, 1994, i needed RTG graphics, SCSI and 16bit sound, more memory and larger storage capacity so my goal was that and that's why I jumped from the A1200 to the A4000.

Now you just have to ask yourself, if you have to exchange one for the other, you'll have to seek also all the bits to expand the A4000 from the ground up. Failing that, it's just an A1200 in a big box nothing less.

If you plan to expand later the base configuration, of course the A4000 is the perfect computer, but the A1200 as great expansion potential, if much more clumsy, and great hardware for it too.

One of the obvious benefits is that there are much more choices for the A4000 (if you can find them) regarding expansion cards.

Fitsteve also pointed out good reasons for owning an A4000, so best of luck deciding.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 01:13   #6
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 51
Posts: 1,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Wow you really have caught the Amiga bug

As you say, the A4000's main benefit is that its much more expandable, they come with at least an 030 and can take 16mb of fast memory on the motherboard so you get a nice quick Amiga straight out of the box.

After that the sky's the limit, a vast array of Zorro expansions to look at, sound/graphics/networking/USB/SCSI, its all there and you've got the space to use it.

The native IDE is 40pin so takes full size hard drives and on my A4000 performs much quicker than on the A1200's I've had.

I've also noticed that the 040/060 accelerators are a little cheaper for the A4000, then the A1200 models.

I recently joined the 'big box' Amiga club and so far I'm really enjoying it

Steve.
I have to agree with FitzSteve, I am not knocking the A1200 in any way, they have their own place in AmigaLand, and I personally have my 4000, and my A1200 on the same desk, and they equally get booted up the same.

My 4000 DOES have an 060 Processor, and an Indivision scan doubler (Indivision for A1200 is planned), and my A4000 loads in a fraction of the time the A1200 does, The A4000 is just a Blink and its loaded, and that is off of the Native IDE. (Both A1200 and 4000 use ClassicWB 3.9 from Compactflash).

My A1200 - 4GB CF card, 030 28Mhz 64MB ram.
My A4000 - 4GB CF Card, 060 50Mhz, 128MB Ram, Indivision.
whiteb is offline  
Old 21 July 2010, 15:21   #7
merlinkv
Amiga user since 1989
merlinkv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Spain
Age: 57
Posts: 113
Recently I abandoned my A1200T project and bought one A4000D and some expansion boards. My last A1200 060/50, remains like a "WHDLoad Machine" for my sun (a younger Amiga "fanatic" ).

Of course I spend more money for my "new" A4000D project. But for some expansion boards I make a "swap".

Now I'm waiting my "new & powerfull" A4000D, is not a PPC but a 060/50 128MB....

My idea is to have a real desktop Amiga with RTG, USB 2.0, Fast Ethernet, .... for programming, demos, play retro-games......

I don't know, but for me, is a good solution. Not a "monster" tower like the A4000T, and fully expandable.
merlinkv is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 or A1200 ? diablothe2nd support.Hardware 65 03 April 2012 15:11
Wanted A1200 or A4000 FreakyDan MarketPlace 0 09 February 2012 21:25
A1200 > A4000. Sallinen Swapshop 0 28 July 2010 11:27
A4000/40, Upgraded A2000, A1200 DoogUK MarketPlace 20 12 November 2009 20:27
A1200 3.1 roms on A4000? dmrvf support.Hardware 1 15 January 2003 16:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11441 seconds with 13 queries