English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2020, 21:57   #1
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 481
Keyboard problem with ReAmiga 1200

Hey all, I've got a brand-new ReAmiga 1200 here that Chucky himself built for me and I've got a weird issue with it. The keyboard mostly works except that the CTRL key initially was unresponsive and the CAPS LOCK LED did not turn on. Thinking it was a bad keyboard membrane, I bought a new one, one of the hard PCB types. I've just put it into the machine and first time I booted it, I got a fast GURU LED, but the subsequent attempts it booted up just fine. However, the CTRL key and the CAPS LOCK LED still are not working. What should I look at next?

Also, the hard PCB membranes also has this little PCB that connects to the ribbon cable from the membrane, but to plug it into the 1200, I had to take off the little plastic piece which is supposed to hold the ribbon in the socket. With it on, the PCB won't fit through the slot, but it plugs in nicely direct to the motherboard connector. Any problems with this?

Could I have a bad CIA or bad keyboard controller chip in the 1200?
brett71 is offline  
Old 23 December 2020, 01:21   #2
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,732
May be unrelated but I had a non responsive keyboard on A500 and it turned out (or so I'm led to believe) to be due to a short on the expansion port - undoing the short and it worked perfect.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 December 2020, 15:35   #3
Krashan
Hardware Designer

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bialystok/Poland
Age: 47
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
Also, the hard PCB membranes also has this little PCB that connects to the ribbon cable from the membrane, but to plug it into the 1200, I had to take off the little plastic piece which is supposed to hold the ribbon in the socket. With it on, the PCB won't fit through the slot, but it plugs in nicely direct to the motherboard connector. Any problems with this?
No problems. It should be done exactly this way, the plastic clamp is not needed and should be taken off.
Krashan is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 02:44   #4
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 161
It's not the CIA as it's getting keyboard codes from the controller. The issue(s) is(/are) either between the keyboard controller and the keyboard socket or with the components of the keyboard. Try swapping the plunger under the CTRL key with another one. Does the LED flash during power up and does the caps lock key work even though the LED isn't lighting if not check the plunger on that key too?

Last edited by IanP; 24 December 2020 at 02:53.
IanP is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 09:02   #5
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
U13 read the keyboard
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 01:53   #6
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
It's not the CIA as it's getting keyboard codes from the controller. The issue(s) is(/are) either between the keyboard controller and the keyboard socket or with the components of the keyboard. Try swapping the plunger under the CTRL key with another one. Does the LED flash during power up and does the caps lock key work even though the LED isn't lighting if not check the plunger on that key too?
Before I went the route of buying another membrane, I did swap the plunger between the CTRL key and one of the blank keys which did read properly. It had no effect, CTRL still did not register.

The LED does not come on at all, either during power up or if I press the key, however, the key works properly and does register. At the same time that I swapped the plunger for the CTRL key, I also flipped over the little rubber piece that is on the LED leads, but that had no effect either.

I've sent the machine to Acill to take a look at...we're hoping the problem is either a bad keyboard connector or maybe a solder bridge or bad solder joint on the keyboard connector. Worst case is that it's the keyboard controller chip. The only place I know of to get one of those is in the UK, and apparently shipments of anything in and out of the UK are currently blocked.
brett71 is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 10:22   #7
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
ok, i have repaired some membrane with "conductive silver paint"
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 11:45   #8
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 161
That pretty much rules out a problem with the keyboard then. Hopefully it just needs some rework on the soldering of the connector or controller or an easy and inexpensive repair. Good luck.
IanP is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Absolute last resort] Solution to A600 (maybe 1200?) keyboard cable problem Akira support.Hardware 134 21 September 2020 23:47
ReAmiga 1200 Rev 1.5 (hopefully final) released Chucky Amiga scene 6 11 June 2020 04:23
ReAmiga 1200 1.4 compatibility suppah support.Hardware 3 24 March 2020 23:38
The ReAmiga 1200 Rev 1.0 Chucky Hardware mods 60 18 August 2019 16:31
Amiga 1200 keyboard problem wlcina support.Hardware 6 13 February 2005 14:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08303 seconds with 15 queries