English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 October 2020, 09:47   #81
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 356
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Well, I just tried Caprice32 reborn (not its actual name, it's simply Caprice32 version from last March), and I couldn't "press" F8 (Fn keys are used for emulator e.q. full screen, so disabled for any in-game command) using the virtual keyboard (displayed by pressing Shift+F1). Pressing F8 was needed to confirm disk change for "l`île oubliée" (the forgotten island), an adventure game inspired by Ubi Soft previous games, now I am stuck. Which gives not so great upgrade from v3.6.1, sorry Mr. ColinPitrat whoever you are . Thanks for trying anyway.

EDIT : Ah I wasn't using the cracked / fixed images of the game.

EDIT² : Granted, WinCPC is more convenient. For example, said game bears a basic arcade sequence at some point. To choose action while diving, one must use the "Copy" button, which WinCPC documents, but not Caprice32 (its virtual keyboard being tiny, barely readable)

Last edited by SquawkBox; 15 October 2020 at 11:18.
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 15 October 2020, 10:15   #82
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
At the moment i don't emulate BBC Micro and Apple 2 computers ..... are they important too ?
My Dad had an Apple 2 back in the day, but I myself used the BBC Micro a lot, in school and college. The cool part was, during one Easter break, they allowed a few students to borrow (take home) the school's computers, and I was one of them! Made a couple of games in that fortnight, both long gone, but it was fun!

However, revisiting old commercial games on the platform was fun, but the Demoscene is practically non-existent there, only two dozen or so altogether on Pouet.net! The hardware of the machine just wasn't up to fast graphics and sound. Teletext ones are fun, however.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Well, i checked by myself

Games for BBC Micro and Apple 2 don't seem nothing of special

Actually i tried a lot of those for both the machine and nothing good is coming out
I remember a few good games for BBC Micro, namely Frak!, Starship Command, Zalaga (great Galaxians variation), Attack on Alpha Centauri, Repton (sort of a Boulder Dash variation) and a few others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
That is just plain blasphemy!!!

BBC Micro is where Elite originated from, by far best version for Home computers and thanks to good processor in BBC, bit faster then rest of the home computer market.
Why bother with the BBC Micro, when we can play it on Amiga? And I'd say Thrust was another great game that originated on the platform.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
This is not what i experienced looking the BBC Micro games actually
There are quite a few games out there, but a lot of them are either 3-colour hi-res affairs, or gaudy 8-colour lo-res monstrosities in 3-bit RGB. It takes a lot of getting used to those concentrations of so many primary colours.

Oh, and if I remember, the BBC Micro had no joystick so it was keys only, and while sometimes keys could be redefined, most of the time you were stuck with baffling choices for controls.

Last edited by Foebane; 15 October 2020 at 10:17. Reason: Correction
Foebane is offline  
Old 15 October 2020, 15:22   #83
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,413
Just for curiosity i just discovered that CPC and ZX Spectrum use the same soundchip
chip is online now  
Old 15 October 2020, 15:31   #84
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 826
Only the later (128K) ZX models. Early on we only had the mighty Beeper
dreadnought is offline  
Old 15 October 2020, 15:35   #85
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,413
Yup .... thanks for the info
chip is online now  
Old 15 October 2020, 15:50   #86
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Just for curiosity i just discovered that CPC and ZX Spectrum use the same soundchip
You know that in 1986 Amstrad (Alan Sugar) purchased Sinclair??
Anubis is offline  
Old 15 October 2020, 15:51   #87
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,413
No, i didn't know that
chip is online now  
Old 15 October 2020, 23:07   #88
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 356
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
IBM PC - pcEM
PCem is a virtualizer, not an emulator . For such tool to run at 100% accuracy, a powerful PC is required (I am not sure even a fast Core2Quad could fit the bill), that's something to have in mind before setting aside VirtualBox and similar more user friendly tools.

Last edited by SquawkBox; 16 October 2020 at 00:10.
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 21 October 2020, 10:25   #89
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,413
After i tried a lot of other systems, i always return to Amiga only

Not because i don't like other consoles or computer .... it's just a question of time

Indeed ADA requires a lot of time and i can't waste it with other systems
chip is online now  
Old 21 October 2020, 11:06   #90
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 39
Posts: 4,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Not because i don't like other consoles or computer .... it's just a question of time
I hear you. It's also a question of comfort, I already spend so much time just sitting behind a PC especially now in these Corona times and working from home that I don't really want to be doing emulation and such on the computer as well. This is why I'm following Anubis' example and I'm looking at an emulation handheld so I can just plop on the couch or bed for a little gaming time.
gimbal is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 00:45   #91
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquawkBox View Post
PCem is a virtualizer, not an emulator . For such tool to run at 100% accuracy, a powerful PC is required (I am not sure even a fast Core2Quad could fit the bill), that's something to have in mind before setting aside VirtualBox and similar more user friendly tools.
pcEM is not virtualizer, it is emulator. It is very different from Virtual PC, VMWare Player/Workstation etc.
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS UAE Arcade - other platforms? torturedutopian support.FS-UAE 22 04 January 2018 15:11
tricks on others platforms ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 11 24 November 2013 16:23
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 18:28
So... getting AmigaE to other platforms Doc Mindie Coders. General 9 18 November 2011 12:21
What is your favourite Shoot'em-Up ? (all platforms) RCK Retrogaming General Discussion 177 25 February 2007 17:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.19356 seconds with 14 queries