English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 August 2014, 16:55   #1
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 626
What kind of C64 is this?

Hi! I have the opportunity to buy the C64 as seen in the pic attached, but i don't know much about this model.

It looks like a strange combo by having the breadbin's keyset with C64c casing.

I would like more info about it, in particular as to what Sid chip does it have, and is it based on the old breadbin motherboard or the newer revised C64c motherboards?

Also does this model of C64 hold much value, and what year did it get released?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	C64.JPG
Views:	263
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	40858  
hansel75 is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 17:20   #2
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 771
Looks just like a breadbin keyboard put into a 64c case. They're the same length & width so should be no issue unless you don't like the way it looks :-)

Last edited by klx300r; 08 August 2014 at 23:06. Reason: spalling arrers
klx300r is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 17:26   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
hate are wise = height and width?
s2325 is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 17:28   #4
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 626
Most important for me to know is, does it have a 6581 or 8580 Sid chip in it, and is it a Pal machine, i presume it is since it's for sale in Oz!
hansel75 is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 17:44   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 44
Posts: 3,186
If it's a breadbin inside it's a 6581 for sure.
Retroplay is online now  
Old 08 August 2014, 17:44   #6
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 626
The guy selling it just sent me this pic from the back of it if it's any help!

I presume it's a Pal machine from the look of it, but what Sid chip is in it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5353.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	17.7 KB
ID:	40864  
hansel75 is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 17:59   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Nothing is for sure. At some point Commodore put anything in any cases. Unless you open it you can't be sure what's inside.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 08 August 2014, 18:03   #8
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,863
It's probably the ultra rare Franken64 Just make sure it has a brain inside along with that keyboard!!
BarryB is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 18:56   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
This could be:

- a C64C with a breadbin keyboard
- A breadbin 64 in a C case but with the breadbin keyboard.

Obviosuly a frankenstein, do not buy until more details come to you.
Usually if from below you can see the motherboard covering like half of the grills from the front of the computer, it's an old motherboard and not a C64C (so 6581, no 8 pin video port/lumachroma video capability and all that).

Maybe a PAL machine. No way to know by looking at it without having a peek inside.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 19:00   #10
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansel75 View Post
The guy selling it just sent me this pic from the back of it if it's any help!

I presume it's a Pal machine from the look of it, but what Sid chip is in it?
One is sure (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MOS_Technology_SID):

The 6581 use 12V DC to operate and 8580 requires less power 9V DC !

If the same values are on PSU, then is probably 8580 inside. (see EDIT2)


EDIT: PAL or NTSC ... according to pic from the back, there are some words in German, so if it is original could be PAL version I guess.

Also, you never know, could be a frankenstein ... never seen something similar before!


EDIT2: Still hard to say what is inside according PSU voltage values -> http://www.c64-wiki.com/index.php/Po...pply_Connector

Last edited by amilo3438; 08 August 2014 at 19:33.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 19:57   #11
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Impossible to say what motherboard it is without opening the case. I'm pretty sure it's a frankenstein though.
john1979 is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 23:05   #12
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
hate are wise = height and width?
lol damn spell check & typing on tablet at 3am
klx300r is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 23:08   #13
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
Impossible to say what motherboard it is without opening the case. I'm pretty sure it's a frankenstein though.

yup have to open case & have a look. I've got my original C64 case from 82 but with a 64c MB inside.
klx300r is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 23:13   #14
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
just ask the person to open the case and take a picture of the board,read whats on the sid and/or motherboard revision.

chroma luma is on c64c's

i would simply ask for the motherboard revision.or assembly number.it would give it away.

if you want to know if its pal or ntsc,just ask whats written on the vic chip,we will tell you what it is mate.
roy bates is offline  
Old 09 August 2014, 00:03   #15
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
chroma luma is on c64c's
And breadbins. Only the very early breadbins had composite only.
john1979 is offline  
Old 09 August 2014, 00:15   #16
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
And breadbins. Only the very early breadbins had composite only.

yes,of course

EDIT: power supply has nothing to do with what motherboard is in it.
roy bates is offline  
Old 10 August 2014, 12:05   #17
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 626
Hey thanks guys, i don't think he is willing to open it up so will give it a miss i think.

I was just curious about it as i hadn't seen a model like this before.

I will keep searching around for a proper breadbin with 6581 in it, i already have a C64c but it's just not the same to me as i grew up with a breadbin.

Unfortunately there hard to find in Australia, and on ebay they go for high prices here to.
hansel75 is offline  
Old 10 August 2014, 12:22   #18
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Hansel i have both

A) breadin in c64c case and
B) real c64c,

neither have dark keys.

Easiest way to check what model it is (without pulling it apart) is a vic chip test program.

It can tell you if its a new or old vic chip model. If its an "old" type its a breadbin board with 6581.

http://csdb.dk/release/?id=35884

Last edited by Vot; 10 August 2014 at 12:47.
Vot is offline  
Old 10 August 2014, 12:55   #19
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
if you can get someone to open one up,try to get one with assembly number 250425,or 250407 for the 6581 sid.

i would be leaning towards the 250425 for an easier repair mate!

best of luck,they do turn up in the uk for not alot.if your willing to fork out for the shipping.
dont go for the ones with the same revision in the us as they will be ntsc obviously,but they are easy to convert if you get the parts.(an oscillator,vic and move/replace a jumper link)
roy bates is offline  
Old 10 August 2014, 13:26   #20
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 626
Thanks for the advice guys.

As mentioned i already have a C64c (in which i did the audio mod with to increase the sampled sound volume as well).

And i have my original breadbin here from 1984, the case is ok'ish but the motherboard is stuffed and rusted out in it.

So i will keep looking for an original breadbin to replace my original.

With the guy selling this hybrid C64, i am not sure if he is able to run the vic chip tester on it, and he lives on the other side of Australia so i haven't got access to it either.

That's why i am not worrying about it now, i was just curious about it though.
hansel75 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help: What kind of ram is this? HRMeinert support.Hardware 4 02 June 2009 11:01
What kind of Amiga user are you? APFelon Nostalgia & memories 17 12 January 2003 00:50
Convert different kind modules mtb support.Apps 4 08 September 2002 19:26
the oath what kind of game and... matthew request.Old Rare Games 2 28 April 2002 22:07
Can anyone explain this kind of virus to me? andreas Retrogaming General Discussion 8 22 October 2001 14:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10551 seconds with 14 queries