English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2011, 15:17   #2261
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
It is the graphic produced through the graphic card, not from the native Amiga graphic chipset.
I thought it was a function to allow graphics to be piped through any manner of graphic port (AGA, cards, etc.)? Am I wrong??
LuMan is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 15:51   #2262
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,625
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I'm sure it's:

ReTargetable Graphics
It can mean both, I spose.
I know it as Real Time Graphics.

But I missed out on the CG days.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 20:10   #2263
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheese View Post
I keep seeing the phrase PPC + RTG but have no idea what it means. Would any kind person let me know please?
If it's okay if an unkind person explains it you can read here !!
Photon is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 21:22   #2264
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Sorry to be demanding but can Jens or AmigaKit confirm when:

1.) the 1231/42 will be available to buy?
2.) more 1230/56 accelerators will be available to buy (if ever)?

Fang Q.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 21:26   #2265
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
Sorry to be demanding but can Jens or AmigaKit confirm when:

1.) the 1231/42 will be available to buy?
2.) more 1230/56 accelerators will be available to buy (if ever)?

Fang Q.
I think someone on this board has two of the 56mhz ACA's for sale:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=790593
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 21:30   #2266
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
1.) the 1231/42 will be available to buy?

Fang Q.
My crystal ball is all fogged up but I think I can make out the date "mid-January".

Yuriy Walkow M.

I mean

E. Orwell Comb.
Photon is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 21:38   #2267
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Fitzsteve - Thanks for the info but ideally I'd like a nice, shiny new one.

Photon - Hillarious!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 22:31   #2268
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
Fitzsteve - Thanks for the info but ideally I'd like a nice, shiny new one.
Well, lets just say, "don't hold your breath". Jens might have a few 1230/56 left for warranty purposes, but he ain't making any more. Thats the whole reason he made the 1231. So if you want a 56MHz part you have to hope he finds some CPU's real cheap and can make a 1231/56, but that to is somewhat unlikely.
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 16 December 2011, 08:44   #2269
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Ah, I see. Well maybe I'll be buying a 2nd hand 56 then unless the 42 is going to be good enough in comparison to my current 28.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 16 December 2011, 13:46   #2270
MrCheese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
If it's okay if an unkind person explains it you can read here !!
Very unkind. I wasn't expecting to see that kind of pr0n! Like the snow on the site as well.
MrCheese is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 13:28   #2271
zgermans
Registered User
zgermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Stavanger/Stord, Norway
Age: 31
Posts: 11
ACA1230/56 in stock at Amigakit today(!), must be the batch kept for warranty or something...

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1005
zgermans is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 15:23   #2272
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Not any more! I was nearly ready to buy one then!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 14:21   #2273
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Amigakit - Are you taking pre-orders for the 1231/42? I think I can justify buying a new accelerator that is 50% faster than my current one.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 19:04   #2274
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
Sorry, we do not have any current plans for taking pre-orders for that card as we are not involved in that particular project.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 19:40   #2275
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Thanks for the info, Amigakit. That's a shame. So you won't be stocking it at all?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 12:54   #2276
MrCheese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 91
You can pre-order here http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca1231-42.htm
MrCheese is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 14:58   #2277
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheese View Post
Part of the description in the above link reads:

Quote:
The MMU can not only be used to map a Kickstart ROM image to FastMem, it's also crucial for WHDLoad.
I'm probably being thick here, but I don't have an MMU on my 030 card and I've had no problems.

Am I missing something?
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 15:01   #2278
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthazelby View Post
Part of the description in the above link reads:



I'm probably being thick here, but I don't have an MMU on my 030 card and I've had no problems.

Am I missing something?


nope,not really.
roy bates is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 15:50   #2279
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,625
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthazelby View Post
Part of the description in the above link reads:



I'm probably being thick here, but I don't have an MMU on my 030 card and I've had no problems.

Am I missing something?
Most users wouldnt even need an MMU, is only good for mapping kickstarts and apps that actually take advantage of it.
Retro gamers, would'nt even notice if it was there or not.
FOL is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 15:51   #2280
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthazelby View Post
I'm probably being thick here, but I don't have an MMU on my 030 card and I've had no problems.
It's even worse. I bought a 1230/56, with MMU, and WHDLoad can't use it. For one reason or another, i cant remember what it is. Jens offered to fix it, for a fee + shipping back and fourth. Bert has no intention to "fix" WHDLoad as it works in the way it's intended to. And just for reference, Bert stated that if the only thing the "fix" by Jens is good for is WHDLoad, then it's not worth it, you won't notice it when gaming. MMU or not doesn't make that big a difference apparently. (In a thread on a (this?) forum i actually was recomended to get a accelerator without MMU as it's supposedly more compatible for WHDLoad needs. No idea if this was true or not. So far the only thing that hasn't behaved as expected with the ACA1230 is Theme Park, which is SLOW... No idea if this is down to the accelerator or the WHDLoad.)

B!
Mr B is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 22:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 12:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 12:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 16:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13321 seconds with 14 queries