English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2018, 10:05   #1
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
CF Card Setup ?

I have a new CF card and just want to use it to go between my Mac and Amiga to transfer files between to two machines, not to use as a HD.

The card is read by my Mac OK but when I put it in the PCMCIA card adapter and put it in my Amiga it comes up on the the screen as unititilized.

I have another 4GB CF card that came with EasyADF kit from Amigakit and it is read by my Amiga as CF0: 4GB and I can use it on my Mac, how
that was setup I have no idea.

Last edited by Washac; 18 April 2018 at 11:00.
Washac is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2018, 12:15   #2
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 501
It must be formatted with fat32 file system. NTFS for example will not be read on the Amiga.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 12:32   #3
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
It must be formatted with fat32 file system. NTFS for example will not be read on the Amiga.
Yup done that, card all OK on the Mac, but shows as uninitialized on the Amigas workbench screen.
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 16:56   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
What card brand is it and what capacity?
Not all cards are compatible.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 18:47   #5
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
What card brand is it and what capacity?
Not all cards are compatible.
AGFAPHOTO High Speed 4GB
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 18:49   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
shows as uninitialized on the Amigas workbench screen.
Just do a quick format on the Amiga and see if the Mac can access it.
thomas is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 18:53   #7
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
AGFAPHOTO High Speed 4GB
Yeah like Akira said, I went through half a dozen CF cards before I found one compatible with the PCMCIA on an Amiga, I guarantee 100 % its the CF card, I found That the Sandisk range work best for me,it really is a suck and see situation

Last edited by supaduper; 18 April 2018 at 19:07.
supaduper is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 19:03   #8
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Yeah like Akira said, I went through half a dozen CF cards before I found one compatible with the PCMCIA on an Amia, I guarantee 100 % its the CF card, I found That the Sandisk range work best for me,it really is a suck and see situation
Yup... 4GB SanDisk Ultra 25 MB/s. Only thing I've gotten to work reliably and correctly over the years with PCMCIA slot. Watch out for fakes on FleaBay though!
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 19:11   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga4000 View Post
Watch out for fakes on FleaBay though!
Yeah man, almost anywhere nowadays actually.

Now I tend to buy storage media on a reputed chain or store, yes I pay a little bit more maybe, but I'm tired of dealing with fake cards all the time. Even some bought on Amazon proved to be fake years later when they broke and I tried to claim them. A reputable store will not risk the shitshow that can fall upon them for storing fake cards.

Now I always, ALWAYS pay attention to the card and look for the marks that make it fake or not, and return right away anything fake that landed on my hands.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:10   #10
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Just do a quick format on the Amiga and see if the Mac can access it.
I cant, It will not even format.
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:12   #11
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
I cant, It will not even format.
It wont format because its non compatible , you need a compatible CF card that works with the Amiga PCMCIA as we have said
supaduper is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:14   #12
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
It wont format because its non compatible , you need a compatible CF card that works with the Amiga PCMCIA as we have said
Yes I know but he did ask me to do that and I just replied.
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:16   #13
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Right so can anybody point me the direction of a card that will work because the Sandisk ones
seem to be a few and far between, and they seem to sell for high prices now ?
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:21   #14
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Right so can anybody point me the direction of a card that will work because the Sandisk ones
seem to be a few and far between, and they seem to sell for high prices now ?
I have a spare 4gb sandisk guaranteed to work with the Amiga PCMCIA you can
have cheap from me..just email me
supaduper is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:24   #15
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
I have a spare 4gb sandisk guaranteed to work with the Amiga PCMCIA you can
have cheap from me..just email me
Message sent
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:30   #16
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 789
Replied via email
supaduper is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:41   #17
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Deal done thank you very much
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:46   #18
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Deal done thank you very much

I need your address buddy
supaduper is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:47   #19
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
I need your address buddy
Just mailed you.
Washac is offline  
Old 18 April 2018, 20:59   #20
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Just mailed you.
Please send me your address through a Private message here on EAB as my email is playing up
supaduper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slave CF card setup disappears after reboot with dual CF card adapter tygre support.Hardware 43 22 March 2016 10:21
CF Card setup woes toddbailey support.Hardware 19 02 September 2015 06:18
Another help me with a 4GB CF card setup post SuperPlay support.Other 20 29 October 2013 22:39
Unable to setup my 4 gig CF card ... waltermixxx Hardware mods 8 04 August 2013 22:07
Setup CF card with Winuae help iowtheme support.WinUAE 1 22 March 2010 03:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08859 seconds with 13 queries