English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2020, 22:31   #1
Graham
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: IPSWICH
Posts: 4
Question Hard File Block Size >512 causes WinUAE to shut down

I am trying to create a hard file with block size 4096. It seems that when using larger than 4GB hard file the Amiga will boot slow because it is taking longer to validate the disk and the work around in the 3.1.4. doco says to make block sizes larger than 512 e.g. 4096 or more.

*Problem is when creating a hard file with block size=4096 and booting the Amiga up, WinUAE waits for a bit then just shuts down.

I can however make a hard file with block size=512, and then partition the hard file with HDToolBox and make partitions with block size=4096.

*Question is, does making the hard file with block size=512 and partitions with block size=4096 still take effect or does the hard file block size=512 counteract the partition block size=4096 setting?

*The Amiga does boot ok but not much increase in boot speed suggesting maybe still taking time to validate the hard file partition when booting.

How can I make a hard file with block size=4096 so that WinUAE does not quit and the Amiga boots ok? It would be interesting if this improves the validation process on boot up and reduces boot time.

I am using A1200 Quickstart settings with ROM version that supports >4GB hard disk, and modified this template in various ways; e.g. increased Chip RAM to max, increased Z2 Fast RAM to max, added RTG board and increased Z3 Fast RAM, and of course using Full drive/RDB mode with FFS support. scsi.device version is 45.7, but I have used uaehf.device and modified HDToolBox tool types to recognise this.

I am not using ClassicWB but going through my own process from scratch. This should provide more opportunities to customise the Workbench installation how I want it and not be stuck with unmaintained ‘all in one’ packs that may not be updated in years. I may use something like ClassicWB later but giving customisation a go with out it.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I have been searching and racking by brains to no avail

Cheers.
Graham.

Last edited by Graham; 14 January 2020 at 13:29. Reason: Added stuff about using FFS and uaehf.device as well, and not using ClassicWB option
Graham is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 16:05   #2
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,157
Which version of WinUAE are you using? Can you post the log output when it exits/crashes?

Which emulated HD controller are you connecting the HDF to? If IDE, that probably explains the problem! The IDE specification only supports 512 bytes/sector. But WinUAE probably shouldn't exit in that case.
mark_k is online now  
Old 14 January 2020, 19:37   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,520
Assuming it is IDE, it probably is caused by some buffer overflow because IDE does not support other block sizes than 512. (and no one has tried previously)

There won't be any speed gains because filesystem reads/writres as many physical blocks as logical block size needs using single read/write command and no device driver is as stupid as doing reads/writes block by block.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 January 2020, 22:29   #4
Graham
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: IPSWICH
Posts: 4
Hard File Block Size >512 causes WinUAE to shut down

WinUAE 4.3.0 (2019.12.19) 64-bit
HD Controller UAE (uaehf.device) + Full drive/RDB mode - HDToolBox tool types modified to uaehf.device

I changed the HD Controller to SCSI (Auto) + Full drive/RDB mode which does boot ok with the hdf block size=4096 but HDToolBox does not recognize the hdf - I tried with HDToolBox tool types = uaescsi.device also but HDToolBox still does not see the hard disk…?

Log output attached when it exits/crashes with HD Controller UAE (uaehf.device) + Full drive/RDB mode + block size=4096 - HDToolBox tool types modified to uaehf.device
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (19.0 KB, 13 views)
Graham is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 17:17   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,157
Maybe winuaelog.txt could provide more info? Also check Enable full logging in WinUAE Paths settings.
mark_k is online now  
Old 15 January 2020, 22:25   #6
Graham
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: IPSWICH
Posts: 4
Hard File Block Size >512 causes WinUAE to shut down

Ah thanks for the tip; winuaelog.txt attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (10.5 KB, 17 views)
Graham is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 12:52   #7
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,157
Ah I don't think that's much more help. You could perhaps try running WinUAE with -log -scsiemulog arguments but can you post the config file you're using too?
mark_k is online now  
Old 18 January 2020, 13:48   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,520
I haven't yet debugged this (CPU stuff to do first) but config file probably is needed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 January 2020, 10:52   #9
Graham
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: IPSWICH
Posts: 4
Log files and Config

Logs and config attached.

I executed with using following:
C:\Amiga\WinUAE\winuae64.exe -f .\Configurations\Amiga1200_3.1.4.uae -log -scsiemulog
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (17.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (9.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: uae Amiga1200_3.1.4.uae (11.9 KB, 7 views)
Graham is offline  
Old Today, 21:01   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,520
Physical max reserved buffer size was 2048 bytes (to support mounting HDFs as fake CDs) but there was no range checks. Max will be increased to 8k and range check will be added (if larger, ignore the drive).
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE OS4.1: Block Size SFS/02 AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 2 16 August 2016 16:02
Hard Maximum File Size AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 6 13 August 2016 16:41
WinUAE 2.6.1 just quits the second time Phantom support.WinUAE 11 31 July 2013 22:08
Any way to stop winuae from writing out the config file after it quits? jimmy2x2x support.WinUAE 5 31 March 2012 23:04
WB 3.x: Modify block size of built-in RAM disk? andreas support.Apps 11 24 June 2005 22:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07367 seconds with 16 queries