English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2020, 21:55   #361
skan
emul-hat0r

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carnorum Regio
Age: 44
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by VladR View Post
Awww, that's so cute
Just like Vampire fanbois.

Seriously, don't get me wrong. Nothing against the platform per se, but if you start doing SAGA/AMMX/Pamela/whatever-only stuff, that's no longer Amiga, pretty simple. If you're aiming for a Vamp killer app that's ok, but please don't tell me that's an Amiga game because.... well, it would not run on anything else than a Vamp!

That said, even if I'd never pay the amount of money needed for a V4 standalone right now, I'd be intrigued to see some nice Vampire-only action (that flat-shaded engine you mentioned would rock f.i.). As well as I'd like to see the same kind of philosophy applied to 060 and/or unexpanded 1200.

On topic: we're talking about Outrun port on AMIGA, not VAMPIRE anyway!

Last edited by skan; 14 January 2020 at 00:20. Reason: typos all over the place
skan is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 00:07   #362
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 331
? Amiga AGA isn't amiga? PC is only 8086 CGA?
Aladin is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 00:14   #363
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,109
VirtuaGP ran like that even on a "lowly" 68020@28mhz and 4mb fast ram, it was a wonder to behold!
vulture is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 01:07   #364
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by VladR View Post
Yeah. That right there is going to be the problem with Virtua Racing. The environment polycount is all over the place. You know the spot with the animated rides on first track ? That's, like, 3x more polys than at other spots.


To drop to only 30 fps there, the other places would have to be running at around 60-75 fps. The arcade HW was pretty impressive - I don't recall how many CPUs it had, but it was a lot (it should be on wikipedia somewhere).


Especially on a single CPU - say like Vampire.


For sure, once my engine is ported to V4 and running, this will be one of the early tests - I do have a primarily-racing 3D engine working already (with a recent support of direct import from 3dsmax) so I will be very curious myself.


Golden days, eh I don't think my Wolfenstein ran at 15 fps other than perhaps main menu


Unfortunately, we now all experienced 60 fps+ on recent consoles and PCs, so it is now painfully obvious if something is running below 15 fps...




Sure looks awesome. But what kind of framerate was it at that level of detail on 030 ? I couldn't play F1GP on PC for years because formula in simulation mode is virtually unplayable in anything other than 60 fps. It's hard enough to play *properly* at 60 fps, let alone with random and frequent framedrops. It took many upgrades till framedrops in F1 became thing of the past and by that time, I believe we already had first 3dfx accelerators...


I think it was NFS1 that made me realize that even though I could play classic singleplayer just fine at 640x480 at <15 fps, to beat friend's record times, we had to lower the res to 320x200 and it took another month to notice what he said when he mentioned that it stutters even at 320x200 on my Pentium 100.


It did, I just didn't see it at the time, as it was much better framerate than 640x480.


But to achieve great times, you need precise control in curves, and 25 fps is nowhere near enough for that...


I just don't see how 030 could pull this off in 30 fps. Maybe it had options to turn texturing and details off ?
Virtua Racing was one of a bunch of untextured poly games SEGA released on the Model 1 platform, specs:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...specifications
Main CPU is not particularly strong right there I think Vamp has the upper hand. Also the combined Matrix co processor and the FPU managed 80 MFLOPS which is probably less than you can get out of Vampire using FPU and heavy use of AMMX instructions.

I think properly utilized the Vamp can maybe beat the Model 1 hardware except maybe for the rasterizer. (But as you may have heard, they're working on that :-) rumour has it it something like the first voodoo, but since we know nothing about the time frame its probably just as good to forget it for now)
(Also, vamp has superior memory bandwidth)

Now, I'm not suggesting we do a straight Virtua Racing port and get sued by SEGA, but a game with those looks would be nice and quite doable I think. You could in the game design stage optimize stuff like poly count wherever needed to keep it consistent throughout the track. (Each model would have several LODs ant the lods could be swapped on the fly if framerate dropped below a certain number. (We had a solution like that in Unity3d for those PCs with only Intel integrated graphx a bunch of years ago).

Also, very interesting you can read objects from 3dsmax. What format do you read? .obj, .3ds, something else?
Btw, let me know if you need some low poly models to play around with and I can provide it for you.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 01:41   #365
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,277
While on the subject of Virtua Racing; have you guys seen this: https://freds72.itch.io/virtua-racing
DamienD is online now  
Old 14 January 2020, 02:21   #366
PatmanQC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Bettendorf
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
While on the subject of Virtua Racing; have you guys seen this: https://freds72.itch.io/virtua-racing
Wow, that is fantastic
PatmanQC is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 08:57   #367
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,109
Yup! Great find D!
vulture is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 20:28   #368
VladR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Just like Vampire fanbois.
I would argue it's ridiculous to label me as an Amiga fanboy, given the fact I never even saw Amiga in person, let alone touched it, as I grew up in Atarilandia.
But not sure if that would make a difference here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
On topic: we're talking about Outrun port on AMIGA, not VAMPIRE anyway!
Yeah, like that YT vid with Outrun that had 21k views, and that was on *cough* Vampire
VladR is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 20:29   #369
VladR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
VirtuaGP ran like that even on a "lowly" 68020@28mhz and 4mb fast ram, it was a wonder to behold!
pics (vid) or it didn't happen
VladR is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 21:10   #370
VladR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Virtua Racing was one of a bunch of untextured poly games SEGA released on the Model 1 platform, specs:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...specifications
Main CPU is not particularly strong right there I think Vamp has the upper hand. Also the combined Matrix co processor and the FPU managed 80 MFLOPS which is probably less than you can get out of Vampire using FPU and heavy use of AMMX instructions.
Thanks for the link - so it has 5 GPU coprocessors (16 MFlops each) with a theoretical 80 Flops throughput.
This is where the Vampire is at disadvantage, as it has only one processor. From my experience, there's a huge difference between:
1. having second execution path where you have to interleave your FPU instructions with integer ones
2. having parallel execution of FPU code on those 5 GPUs



On Jaguar, over the years, I refactored my engine to work completely in parallel over all chips and only doing the sync at end of frame.
While GPU is busy rasterizing last frame, 68000 was preparing render lists, handling input, AI, collision detection, audio, menus, HUD, GUI and everything else completely in parallel to GPU.


Meaning, the Sega Model 1, can do the same. It doesn't need main CPU super fast, its 16 MHz NEC is more than enough to the above, as all the per-vertex & per-pixel heavy lifting is done by the 5x GPU in parallel.


Of course, somebody has to program it that way, so therein lies the catch


Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
I think properly utilized the Vamp can maybe beat the Model 1 hardware except maybe for the rasterizer. (But as you may have heard, they're working on that :-) rumour has it it something like the first voodoo, but since we know nothing about the time frame its probably just as good to forget it for now)
(Also, vamp has superior memory bandwidth)
Yeah, the bandwidth is insanely high, and the texturing unit, once finished, may easily push V4 into Playstation territory (likely PS2 level). I should get the board soon, so may play with it in near future
I still don't think the singular nature of 080 can beat the Sega Model 1 with two separate processors (NEC + 68000 for Audio) and 5 additional GPU coprocessors.


Point being, Vampire may never beat it in flatshading, but once texturing unit gets enabled, well then V4 will jump to Warp 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Now, I'm not suggesting we do a straight Virtua Racing port and get sued by SEGA, but a game with those looks would be nice and quite doable I think.
Oh, yeah. That's for sure. We could go for lower vertical resolution, as that's where most performance is killed - processing scanlines. VR is 384 scanlines, so halving that to ~200 would help tremendously.
From my benchmarking, it's not really the number of polygons (it's only so much work with transformation and culling), but number of scanlines (each poly covers) that most affect framerate. Tall, thin polygons (e.g. vertical pillars) are the worst.


Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
You could in the game design stage optimize stuff like poly count wherever needed to keep it consistent throughout the track. (Each model would have several LODs ant the lods could be swapped on the fly if framerate dropped below a certain number. (We had a solution like that in Unity3d for those PCs with only Intel integrated graphx a bunch of years ago).
Level design can probably help the most - that's why the racing games that drove through mountains were always the best as there was no draw distance glitches - everything was naturally occluded by curves through the hills - thus no pop-up
I do have the LOD solution in my codebase even for Jaguar - each track segment mesh has high+med+low version and the engine just swaps the pointers at run-time. But, StunRunner track is obviously different to this, complexity-wise It's like, 50 polygons vs 500+


My next iteration of engine was meant to handle generic list of 3d objects - meaning it could process this environment (though the framerate would by abysmall on jaguar) - and I got basics working last year.


LODs - it would, however, be much much work to create the meshes here - all the terrains, roadside objects - it's quite a lot of work. I doubt we could reuse 3dsmax modifiers here much for low poly - probably need to recreate the meshes from scratch.



Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Also, very interesting you can read objects from 3dsmax. What format do you read? .obj, .3ds, something else?
I, originally, used .ASE for my PC/X360 work, but for Jaguar eventually decided to write an .OBJ importer. Took about a week to iron out all details, but I think it's stable now...
Here's the screenshot showing my PC-based real-time previewer (crate object) without having to import the objects to jaguar to see how they look (I wrote a SW rasterizer on PC that is pixel-precise to jag). I will totally reuse this for Vampire:
Not sure if it is in attachments to the post or shows directly here within the post.
3D modeling productivity skyrocketed the moment I stopped running exporters, including the file, recompiling, deploying and running the executable on jag. Can't beat real-time

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Btw, let me know if you need some low poly models to play around with and I can provide it for you.
You're a 3d artist ? Why, that might come in handy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JagLoader00.gif
Views:	52
Size:	157.9 KB
ID:	65904  
VladR is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 21:12   #371
skan
emul-hat0r

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carnorum Regio
Age: 44
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by VladR View Post
I would argue it's ridiculous to label me as an Amiga fanboy, given the fact I never even saw Amiga in person, let alone touched it, as I grew up in Atarilandia.
But not sure if that would make a difference here...

Yeah, like that YT vid with Outrun that had 21k views, and that was on *cough* Vampire
It's prerry obvious we have some misunderstanding going on here... anyway, ok, never mind.
skan is offline  
Old 20 January 2020, 23:16   #372
Dustyarddog
Officially retro

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maidstone, Kent
Posts: 24
Whilst I loved Outrun back in the day, and still love playing my retro games more generally; I have to confess to only playing Outrun on Xbox OG these days.

I know, I cant believe I owned up to that. But both Outrun 2 and Coast to Coast are great game. Nostalgia but with a welcome modern twist.

I'll just leave this here and leave.
Dustyarddog is offline  
Old Yesterday, 02:49   #373
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,595
@VladR theoretical question: How would you create the 3d track - from a driving *simulation* programming perspective.
I mean... the way I *think* its done is that the road geometry is only a representation of a "mathematical" model that is used for the simulation itself. Meaning you're not actually doing per polygon collision against the track/environment.

Most Amiga true 3d racing games have very simple road geometry, but if you look at say Virtua Racing on Model 1 hardware they use about 7 quads in width for the road geometry alone (yes, model 1 hw used quad polys, not triangles like modern hardware, that tech even got transfered into the Saturn).

So how would you do it, do a "mathematical model" of the track first then translate it into a polygon model, or the other way around, extract the necessary info from a polygonal model? Why do I ask this? Well for example if someone would create a medium poly track for testing, would it even be useful?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old Today, 08:03   #374
VladR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 61
Usually, that's where the army of 3D artists comes in.

For example, in a first-person-shooter, when they create a level, they separately create collision-detection boxes. Or if the engine requires it, they create "walkable" polygons - which specify where exactly you can go.

The way I addressed it in my StunRunner is that in 3dsmax, I create a track curve/spline - along which the engine, at loading-time, extrudes the 3D mesh of the track.

The 3D engine then, each frame, only checks and interpolates the math on the center point between two consecutive track segments (each segment is just a single 3D point).

So, even if the 3D mesh of each track segment would be 1,000 polygons, it doesn't matter from performance standpoint of physics, as those polygons are totally ignored.


BTW, I am using quads both on Jaguar and Apollo too. It was a lot of work but it saves scanline processing costs by 50%, plus you save about 20% additionally on clipping.


How do you know it's about 7 quads for Virtua Racing ? Have you seen some screenshots ? Can you share some ?
VladR is offline  
Old Today, 14:22   #375
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by VladR View Post
Usually, that's where the army of 3D artists comes in.

For example, in a first-person-shooter, when they create a level, they separately create collision-detection boxes. Or if the engine requires it, they create "walkable" polygons - which specify where exactly you can go.

The way I addressed it in my StunRunner is that in 3dsmax, I create a track curve/spline - along which the engine, at loading-time, extrudes the 3D mesh of the track.

The 3D engine then, each frame, only checks and interpolates the math on the center point between two consecutive track segments (each segment is just a single 3D point).

So, even if the 3D mesh of each track segment would be 1,000 polygons, it doesn't matter from performance standpoint of physics, as those polygons are totally ignored.


BTW, I am using quads both on Jaguar and Apollo too. It was a lot of work but it saves scanline processing costs by 50%, plus you save about 20% additionally on clipping.


How do you know it's about 7 quads for Virtua Racing ? Have you seen some screenshots ? Can you share some ?
Howdy Vlad,
I was just looking at a bunch of different situations in the game. I assembled some screenshot here:
http://www.exretro.com/galleries/seg...ing/index.html
Take a look at the pix at the bottom of the album. Its when the road isn't flat where you can see the geometry. They aren't using any textures so they kind of randomized colors on the flat shaded quads, so its fairly easy to see the geometry. So maybe its like 8quads for the road + more for the "edges of the road".
Id say the key difference here compared to most old racing games is that the road isn't flat on the X-axis so to speak. Its not just flat with an angle, it actually has a curvature like the inside of a bowl rather than just an angled line.
Now.. lets toy with the idea one would wanna remake OutRun in polygons, then that wouldn't be an issue because road is always flat in X axis. (Just changes in Z-value.)
eXeler0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outrun likes games question sandruzzo Nostalgia & memories 51 20 July 2013 18:40
would you like to have an Outrun like for Aga? sandruzzo Retrogaming General Discussion 50 30 January 2013 13:03
Problems running outrun europa dlfrsilver project.WHDLoad 12 23 November 2007 23:30
good retro racer in Lotus/Outrun style s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 27 May 2007 21:57
Outrun arcade challenge.......... Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 0 12 September 2003 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13678 seconds with 16 queries