English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 May 2017, 21:40   #1
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
Post xBRZ... shaders for FS-UAE

Hi everyone!

I ported some fresh xBRZ (4x and 6x) shaders to the format FS-UAE uses.

Made them also much faster (simpler metrics; symmetry feature, works best with even scaling factors).

They work well with my old AMD card, hopefully they work in general.

If i produce something useful in the future, i'll post it here...

Edit: Some useful info:

Please copy the shaders into the

Code:
Data\Shaders
folder.

Example of setting up the shaders via the Custom Configuration option:
Code:
keep_aspect = 1.0
line_doubling = 0
low_resolution = 1
shader = scalefx-hybrid
FS-UAE (later versions) has some shaders built in, please check this link for the shader list:
https://github.com/FrodeSolheim/fs-u...fs-uae/shaders

I also made a collection of the nicest shaders around and hosted them on Github. These must be downloaded and put into the Data\Shaders folder.

https://github.com/guestrr/FS-UAE-Shaders

You can find more interesting shaders in this thread, so feel free to explore a bit.
Attached Files
File Type: rar xbrz-shaders.rar (5.7 KB, 1347 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 04 August 2019 at 15:32. Reason: OP post edit.
guest.r is offline  
Old 05 May 2017, 19:22   #2
ProfDrLuigi
Registered User
 
ProfDrLuigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
Send a message via ICQ to ProfDrLuigi
Where to install the files? PlugIns?
ProfDrLuigi is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 08:42   #3
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
I think there's currently no dedicated folder for shaders, you can just install them anywhere convenient and then write the full path to the selected shader in custom config option like this:

line_doubling = 0
low_resolution = 1
shader = d:\xbrz6x.shader

...if you extract your shaders directly to d:\ for example.
guest.r is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 08:48   #4
ProfDrLuigi
Registered User
 
ProfDrLuigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
Send a message via ICQ to ProfDrLuigi
Thats the only thing I tried before ... but FS-AUE crashes on OSX. Seems to work only in Windows.
ProfDrLuigi is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 14:14   #5
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
Sorry to hear the shaders don't work on OSX, hard to tell id it is a FS-UAE or OS/Driver issue i guess.

Meanwhile i managed to prepare another interesting shader. It's based on the excellent scalefx upscaler from spookyfox, which means superb shaping. I added some smoothing and pseudo-bump mapping sharpening.

Hope you have some fun with it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BT3-1.jpg
Views:	1947
Size:	199.5 KB
ID:	53006   Click image for larger version

Name:	BT3-2.jpg
Views:	1812
Size:	171.8 KB
ID:	53007  
Attached Files
File Type: rar scalefx-aa-bump.rar (6.8 KB, 872 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 20 May 2017 at 11:49. Reason: New shader version.
guest.r is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 14:31   #6
Ian
Global Moderator
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 2,287
Excellent filters by the looks of those screenshots, any chance of some WinUAE friendly .fx versions?
Ian is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 16:42   #7
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
I ported some fresh xBRZ (4x and 6x) shaders to the format FS-UAE uses.
Thanks!

scalefx-aa-bump does not work unfortunately:
Code:
512 characters
[SHADERS] Initialize
[SHADERS] Checking shader scalefx-aa-bump
[SHADERS] Checking shader /home/stw/FS-UAE/Data/Shaders/scalefx-aa-bump.shader
[SHADERS] GL_INFO_LENGTH was 0
[SHADERS] Compiled vertex shader successfully
0:7(16): error: could not implicitly convert operands to arithmetic operator
0:7(11): error: cannot construct `vec3' from a non-numeric data type
0:9(22): warning: `c' used uninitialized
0:9(13): error: could not implicitly convert operands to arithmetic operator
0:9(9): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:9(2): error: `return' with wrong type error, in function `eq' returning float

WARNING: [SHADERS] Failed to compile fragment shader
WARNING: [SHADERS] No shader passes loaded
[SHADERS] Done loading shader
I'm using Linux, xorg "radeon" driver, mesa 17.04

BTW: If you create a directory
FS-UAE/Data/Shaders
and throw your shaders in here, you don't need to write the full path to your configs. A simple
shader = xbrz4x
will do it.
jbl007 is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 20:56   #8
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
@Ian:
4xBRZ is an option the way Winuae handles scaling, i will test it and if it works properly also post it on the boards.
The scalefx-aa-bump shader uses 10 passes and it's impossible to implement it to the .fx atm.
The GLSL XML format is a bit aged but it still makes very complex shaders possible to implement.

@jbl007:
I'm very fond you cleared the 'shader folder' issue. Helps a lot.
I also reviewed the shader port, there were some constant integer numbers that refused to cooperate in float math. Fixed that.
Since both versions work in my case i'll be happy for more possible error reports.

Last edited by guest.r; 20 May 2017 at 11:50. Reason: Remove obsolete attachment.
guest.r is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 21:58   #9
Ian
Global Moderator
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 2,287
Thanks guest.r
Ian is offline  
Old 06 May 2017, 22:13   #10
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 466
Works fine now and it's looking great, thanks. Unfortunately my GPU is not "beefy" enough to output full FPS even at low res. uae_gfx_framerate=2 does help at least...
jbl007 is offline  
Old 07 May 2017, 20:02   #11
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
Yep the shader renders up to 6x resolution, that's why the output resolution doesn't make it faster.
This one is not much faster unfortunately, but could make super-xbr fans happy.
I think it's sharpening feature could make it a very good TV shader.
It comes in two versions, a clearer and a smoother one.

Feel free to post a nice screenie if you like it.

Edit: more compatible versions uploaded, thanks to jbl007.

Edit2: new versions with better anti-ringing and other settings.

PS: BONUS INCLUDED!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	X-S-01.jpg
Views:	1686
Size:	166.8 KB
ID:	53033   Click image for larger version

Name:	X-S-02.jpg
Views:	1574
Size:	197.5 KB
ID:	53034  
Attached Files
File Type: rar xbr-super.rar (13.8 KB, 899 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 23 May 2017 at 19:28. Reason: Shader screenshots, new shader versions.
guest.r is offline  
Old 08 May 2017, 18:42   #12
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
This one is not much faster unfortunately, but could make super-xbr fans happy.
Argh! My nitpicky shader compiler complains again:
Code:
[SHADERS] Compiled vertex shader successfully
0:71(40): error: could not implicitly convert operands to arithmetic operator
0:71(36): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(28): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(27): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(67): error: could not implicitly convert operands to arithmetic operator
0:71(63): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(55): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(77): error: could not implicitly convert operands to arithmetic operator
0:71(54): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(27): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(22): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:71(17): error: cannot construct `vec4' from a non-numeric data type

WARNING: [SHADERS] Failed to compile fragment shader
WARNING: [SHADERS] Error occured while loading shader
jbl007 is offline  
Old 08 May 2017, 20:23   #13
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
I have an idea where the problem may be. Thanks for reporting the 'bug'.
Could you test this version if it works?

Last edited by guest.r; 09 May 2017 at 20:44.
guest.r is offline  
Old 08 May 2017, 21:09   #14
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
Could you test this version if it works?
It doesn't work. I get the same error messages as before plus several
warning: Float suffixes are invalid in GLSL 1.10
jbl007 is offline  
Old 08 May 2017, 22:01   #15
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
I hope it works now. Was all clear even on my old gf.

Last edited by guest.r; 09 May 2017 at 20:45. Reason: Remove obsolete attachment.
guest.r is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 19:01   #16
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
...back to the mainstream!
I prepared two more cool CRT shaders, a tweaked classic CRT Lottes and a version with xbr (super).
The classic version is quite fast, the latter might need some muscle to run in full speed.
Hope you like it.
Attached Files
File Type: rar crt-lottes-shaders.rar (9.0 KB, 861 views)
guest.r is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 19:50   #17
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
I hope it works now. Was all clear even on my old gf.
Yes, you got it, works ok now. I still prefer the scalefx-aa-bump. The bumpmapping effect looks super cool in games with simple gfx and/or much text.

Quote:
The classic version is quite fast,
Well, not really. It looks like it depends on the output resolution, it's ok in a smaller window but in fullscreen it's quite slow for me.
Anyway... it looks very CRTish :-)
Integer scaling is recommended here, scale_x=2, scale_y=2
jbl007 is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 20:04   #18
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
Quote:
it's quite slow for me.
Challenge taken.

I've made it super fast now (at least 6x, means it runs in 5x5 resolution with same speed as before in 2x2), and it still looks good ole lottes.
The bloom effect was really slowing things down, not to mention power functions in gamma management.

I think it should be the default version here since it's really more usable with higher output resolutions.

IGP friendly...

Edit: New version (17.5.2017). Almost 20% faster, still accurate.

Edit2: New fast version (18.5.2017). Almost 2x faster and nice looking.

Edit3: Renamed and added original version so you can have all np.
Attached Files
File Type: rar crt-lottes.rar (2.0 KB, 809 views)
File Type: rar crt-lottes-fast.rar (1.9 KB, 818 views)
File Type: rar crt-lottes-orig.rar (2.3 KB, 777 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 19 May 2017 at 19:59. Reason: New shader version.
guest.r is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 21:54   #19
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 466
Yes it's much faster now, it can output 50FPS in fullscreen (and >80FPS with warp mode enabled).
jbl007 is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 15:26   #20
guest.r
Registered User
 
guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 342
Glad to heat it works with full speed.
I've got it even faster and better looking in my new version (please download from above).

Here is a link how a crt-lottes shader looks in action...

online photo sharing

Edit: I developed a new fast version. The implemented XML shader format really worked as stated.

It's very fast even when compared with already speedy single pass shader. I have tested it with my old integrated radeon HD 4200 (40:4:4) in 1620x1050 resolution.

The results:

CRT-Lottes original: 3 FPS
CRT-Lottes classic: 25 FPS
CRT-Lottes fast : 47 FPS

I switched to 5x4 scale and got comfortable 60+ FPS, nice.

Curvature edges aren't getting any aliasing so i removed it in this version. The blur is of higher quality and a tiny bit more intensive (compensated with #hardpix adjustment), everything else looks/works the same.

Where is the catch? I used 2 passes which allows some neat speedup tricks.

So if you have a modest laptop/basic desktop machine you can still play with this shader full speed/high res.

Download at the post above.

Last edited by guest.r; 18 May 2017 at 17:27.
guest.r is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shaders Zeraphine support.Amiga Forever 2 15 March 2020 18:46
Looking for dithering shaders for FS-UAE switchblade support.FS-UAE 1 28 July 2015 18:13
CG Shaders Enverex support.FS-UAE 2 05 October 2014 18:51
fx Shaders in WinUAE 2.6.0 crazy46guy support.WinUAE 8 16 June 2013 14:30
Using shaders with FS-UAE on Ubuntu [Solved] DaveMB support.FS-UAE 2 14 October 2012 15:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:09.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.37123 seconds with 14 queries