English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 April 2013, 17:08   #1
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
Eek Green IDE A1200 port

Today I got myself an A1200, seems to be working fine (even the IDE port), considering that some of the IDE pins are green/black O_O with what looks like gunk.

I have taken a look at the traces and they seem fine to me. What's this green stuff, and more importantly which is the best way to remove it (safely)?

Thanks!


Just noticed some caps next to the IDE port are leaking

Last edited by Nostromo; 04 April 2013 at 17:42.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 17:48   #2
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 44
Posts: 1,024
hi that is indeed the caps leaking

they need replacing
johnim is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 18:27   #3
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
Does it mean it is too late though? I notice some of the green stuff is now on the tracks on the surrounding area.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 18:52   #4
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 44
Posts: 1,024
no you should be ok but they need replacing

for cleaning look here

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=876235
johnim is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 19:05   #5
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
Thanks for the link - I looked at that thread and its way over my head though
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 19:17   #6
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 44
Posts: 1,024
wash it with IPA (Iso Alcohol) to remove/neutralize the capacitor residues that may get leaked.
johnim is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 19:21   #7
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
How do I apply Iso Alcohol? With some cotton?
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 19:27   #8
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
just tip it on and use a toothbrush to scrub it up lightly,then mop it up with a cloth dont worry too much it evaporates.
roy bates is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 19:49   #9
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
Ah ok, cheers!

Umm sorry, is Iso Alcohol same as surgical spirit?

Last edited by Nostromo; 04 April 2013 at 19:56.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 20:16   #10
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,977
similar, both should work. One thing i noticed when the caps leak over the pins on the ide connector is that the pins themselves become weak and will sometimes come out when you unplug the cable from the header so if you notice the ideport acting up in the future it will mean removing the header completely, cleaning up the pads and replacing it.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 20:22   #11
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
Stupid question.... When cleaning the motherboard with iso, should dark areas in tracks become light in color similar to the rest of the track? I am asking because I tried and the color didn't change.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 20:54   #12
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,306
It sounds like the leakage has somehow got in underneath the solder resist (green surface layer). Somewhat uncommon if it's just capacitor leakage and not battery leakage. Could you take some good close-up photos of the situation? Would be easier to see what is going on.
ajk is offline  
Old 05 April 2013, 13:06   #13
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 439
Today I showed the motherboard to a technician at work. He says that the green stuff on the IDE connector is not leaked capacitors but oxidization due to storage in a humid place, he has now cleaned the board thoroughly and it looks pretty clean except for where it has reached some areas on the tracks, but he says it is going to be ok anyway. Next week he will replace the caps anyway.

Nostromo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ide Port Not Working, How To Check alexraffa support.Hardware 13 27 April 2013 22:44
Broke IDE port on motherboard. Suitable replacement? Turran support.Hardware 42 23 June 2012 02:35
Two CFs on the A600/A1200 IDE 2.5 port Cosmos Hardware mods 8 03 June 2011 09:49
Can't boot from Buddha 2.5" IDE port tonyyeb support.Hardware 9 18 September 2008 20:27
A1200 with green hue stainy support.Hardware 10 02 November 2006 13:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07748 seconds with 13 queries