English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2017, 01:06   #21
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Heheh I am looking forward for that emulator!!
it does read command line options, reads config file, but no feedback on configured keys.
i made some tests, added some debuging lines (printf) , it does "stop",
after initializing the video part, no crash. dunno whats wrong.
but this way it is more fun, than struggle with the compiler

#1) it is the sdl audio, i just skiped the audio ini, so no sound,
but emu does work

zoned. dgen68k-WIP.lha *update*

includes:
dgen_no_audio ( dos work for me)
dgen_audio_enabled ( does not work for me)
dgen_tobin will convert roms to raw format.

try both version, maybe the sdl audio problem is on my side / related to ahi.

you can use dgen -r dgen.cfg to load the included example config
dgen -h gives more options. use F5 to change color mode.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dgen68k.png
Views:	196
Size:	12.6 KB
ID:	54322  

Last edited by emufan; 27 August 2017 at 03:06.
emufan is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 08:34   #22
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
@emufan

I LOVE IT!! I LOVE IT!!!

Hehe..but it super slow. It works, but super slow. It needs NovaCoda touch again It needs him to do complete code optimization and effeciency to make it functional. NovaCoda would you take on this job task too?

eeeeeeeeeeeee


Soon we will have SDDApple and dgen eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!! - claps hands together - By the way, it feels like the real console emufan the dgen...it have the console quality graphics output and I am literally playing a console game...I can run earthworm jim hahaha!!

Thanks man you are doing an excellent job.
xboxown is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 15:25   #23
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
cool it works for you

but what about the sound? does dgen_audio_enabled works for you?

#1) dgen comes with with differnet emulated cpu cores, some are in x86 assembler,
so not useable when building the 68k binary

since it emulates the 68000 of the console, it would be better to let the amiga do the
68000 stuff and not using the 68k emulation.
this needs some skilled coder, this I cannot do myself.

#2) did you test the -G option ( -G 320x200 ), reduces the window size, maybe a bit faster?
emufan is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 18:26   #24
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 46
Posts: 1,416
What are the requirements to run this?(dependencies)

If you use the Amiga CPU then probably would run on 030/50 or so full speed I guess.
nobody is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 19:15   #25
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
What are the requirements to run this?(dependencies)

If you use the Amiga CPU then probably would run on 030/50 or so full speed I guess.
i build it with -O2 -m68040, but does work here on my 030/882 setup in emulation.
you need P96 rtg and ixemul.library 48+ - i run my workbench in RTG mode,
so it does open the emu window on the workbench rtg screen.
using uaegfx 32bit screen 800x600 here.

#1) it does use Musashi 68k emulator, if we could skip this,
it would be faster for sure.

#2) btw. the z80 core you can change with F10 - 2 modes available.

Last edited by emufan; 27 August 2017 at 22:23.
emufan is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 22:23   #26
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
one strange thing: you have to use the CTV filter "swab" (F5) to get the correct color,
it is definied to change endianess of the colors.
it does work, but framerate drops alot - average 30 fps - using this swab filter.

in default mode (F5 = off) you have false color, but framerate reaches 60 fps here in emulation.

i build the emulator without the CTV filter, and get allways false color, cannot switch anymore.
so there is some kind of endianess in the color code of the source.
there is just one ENDIAN check for the audio, but not for the video, despite the fact,
the configure script set to build for bigendian target :/

can anyone report, what framerate you get? in dgen.cfg set bool_fps = true
and read the config with dgen -r dgen.cfg

#1) good news: after changing tons of rgb values in the src code - without success,
i found an option for the color Depth in the config file.
so if you get false colors in default CTV mode ( F5 = off ):

edit in dgen.cfg: int_depth = 16 ( you may try 15 and 24 ) 32 gives false colors
this does work on my 32 bit rtg screen, colors are correct now at 50-60 fps

Last edited by emufan; 28 August 2017 at 00:17.
emufan is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 17:00   #27
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
updated dgen, so it now does read dgen.cfg in current folder, without any commandline option.
example dgen.cfg included, with fps display enabled.
fps stats will be printed, once you quit the emulator.

may anyone report the fps and cpu/amiga ?

zone: dgen68k-WIP.lha (no_audio version only)

#1) btw: default joystick keys: a s d and cursor keys.
emufan is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 19:01   #28
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Promise today I will check it out emufan and do full report.
xboxown is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 19:16   #29
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 46
Posts: 1,416
Extremely slow, and is running on WinUAE 68020+FPU, JIT. Maybe i am missing some files. Also requires ixemul.library with FPU to run.

nobody is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 19:35   #30
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Promise today I will check it out emufan and do full report.
ok, just want to hear about speed / fps, but what nobody reports is not great
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Extremely slow, and is running on WinUAE 68020+FPU, JIT. Maybe i am missing some files. Also requires ixemul.library with FPU to run.
i'm running it with 030/882 JIT + fastest possible and get 50-60 fps - 3 ghz cpu on win7 - 64 bit winuae 3.5.
ixemul library is 63.1 - i guess it is fpu version.

running without JIT it slows down to 1-2 fps - no fun at all.

i have no clue how, but replacing the 68000 emulator with direct access to the cpu,
would make a difference, i guess.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dgen68k.png
Views:	160
Size:	7.2 KB
ID:	54356  

Last edited by emufan; 28 August 2017 at 19:42.
emufan is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 20:42   #31
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 46
Posts: 1,416
OK i tried on my other laptop, AMD A10-4600, 4-core, 2.7 Ghz and i get around 43 fps average. Amiga OS 3.9 and WinUAE 030/882 JIT. I guess Vampire maybe could run it properly. All modes work with "F5" key same with Windows version.

nobody is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 21:20   #32
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
OK i tried on my other laptop, AMD A10-4600, 4-core, 2.7 Ghz and i get around 43 fps average. Amiga OS 3.9 and WinUAE 030/882 JIT. I guess Vampire maybe could run it properly. All modes work with "F5" key same with Windows version.
yep, the average was below the max values here too, but it is playable.

i found another megadrive emulator- Generator - build for amiga ppc, which seems to use another
way to "emulate" the 68000. does not to use sdl.
i try to build it.

#1) is does build with gcc6, 2 version: cybergraphix version does crash.
but native amiga screen mode version (320x ... 8bit) with sound does work

#2) zoned: AmiGen68k-WIP.lha (this is version 0.34)
AmiGenT68k.exe --> native amiga screen mode version with sound
AmiGen68k.exe ----> CyberGraphx version, does crash with P96 , maybe working with real CGx software

use from shell, without a rom filename it will list command-line options - try NOSOUND option.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	generator-cgx.png
Views:	175
Size:	11.6 KB
ID:	54361   Click image for larger version

Name:	generator-native.png
Views:	147
Size:	3.0 KB
ID:	54362  

Last edited by emufan; 29 August 2017 at 02:25.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 00:26   #33
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
yep, the average was below the max values here too, but it is playable.

i found another megadrive emulator- Generator - build for amiga ppc, which seems to use another
way to "emulate" the 68000. does not to use sdl.
i try to build it.

#1) is does build with gcc6, 2 version: cybergraphix version does crash.
but native amiga screen mode version (320x ... 8bit) with sound does work

#2) zoned: AmiGen68k-WIP.lha
AmiGenT68k.exe --> native amiga screen mode version with sound
AmiGen68k.exe ----> CyberGraphx version, does crash with P96 , maybe working with real CGx software

use from shell, without a rom filename it will list command-line options.

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!



Something to look for when I come home! You are intending to release all these cool emulators you are porting to aminet eventually, right??! It will be shame for them to be just here in eab and then disappear in time!
xboxown is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 00:40   #34
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
yes, I will do so. once we run out of ideas, i will put it on aminet.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 01:27   #35
James
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 795
Thanks for all your efforts on these ports.
AmiDog released versions of AmiGenerator for 68040, but eventually dropped them in favour of PPC. I've uploaded the last two versions to the zone (no source and no sound). Maybe he could help you?
Fishy_fiz ported an old version of DGen (also zoned) several years ago. It has sound but is a bit glitchy. You could try contacting him too...
James is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 02:24   #36
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
thanks James, i'll have a look into these uploads
i wasnt aware of those 68k ports, just had a quick look on aminet and found ppc ports only.

meanwhile i found another version of AmiGenerator: v0.35 which uses Picasso96 and ahi,
made for OS4 i thiink. there are some undeclared variables I cannot find in the OS3.9 NDK :/
Code:
if ((timer->TimerMP = AllocSysObject(ASOT_PORT, NULL))) {
...
error: ‘ASOT_PORT’ undeclared (first use in this function)
error: ‘ASOT_IOREQUEST’ undeclared (first use in this function)
error: ‘ASOIOR_Size’ undeclared (first use in this function)
error: ‘ASOIOR_ReplyPort’ undeclared (first use in this function)
is there a replacement for them in OS3.x?

this timer thing is the last object file before it goes to linking the whole thing - sooo close

#2) i've added the timer.c - just some lines, anyone can help here?
Attached Files
File Type: txt timer.c.txt (2.1 KB, 117 views)

Last edited by emufan; 29 August 2017 at 02:45.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 04:48   #37
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Some reports to the emulator. Dgen the one you just released without audio it works, quality of video is superb but the fps is exclusively 1. It is running anywhere between the range of 1 fps to 2 fps only.

As for the other emulator AmiDgen68k, unfortunately this emulator crashes no matter what I do anywhere between ending with 8 or A.

That is my report in the matter.
xboxown is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 07:56   #38
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 46
Posts: 1,416
I found some old info about Windows Dgen and says it should work properly on P1/166 Mhz so maybe should run ok on Vampire cards. It needs RTG, FPU and ixemul.library version 48+. Probably would run better on Workbench 3.9.
nobody is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 12:12   #39
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 46
Posts: 1,416
Not so interesting system but maybe this could be ported too, I don't know if it exists already.

http://dcmo5.free.fr/v11/dcmo5v11en.html
nobody is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 16:18   #40
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Not so interesting system but maybe this could be ported too, I don't know if it exists already.

http://dcmo5.free.fr/v11/dcmo5v11en.html
ahh, the great Thomson machines. this is a good idea.
I was about to buy one as my 1st computer, but i went the C64 road

Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
That is my report in the matter.
thanks
trouble is the "T" version does need a 8bit 320x... screen - so AGA,
this should work, if Apollo team releases the AGA core ( 3.0 ?!).
the CyberGfx version seems to have a problem with Picasso96, i think it does need the real CyberGfx software/driver.

the 0.35 version uses Picasso96, so this might work better. i could "fix" the timer issue,
but now i'm stuck with a simple undeclared thing:
Code:
obj/uip-amiga.o: undefined reference to `P96Base'
*ahh* there is a link lib, *brb*
Code:
Picasso96API.lib: file not recognized: File format not recognized
This lib contains an autoopen function for SAS C version 6.
how does one build P96 stuff with gcc ?

Last edited by emufan; 29 August 2017 at 17:10.
emufan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
porting an app written in C powrslave Coders. C/C++ 1 13 March 2017 04:44
Porting an Amiga game to PC CYBER_SLUNK Coders. General 4 31 January 2017 19:14
Porting Photoshop to Amiga KONEY Coders. General 25 29 December 2016 23:49
porting vlc ? turrican3 request.Apps 4 25 June 2011 21:27
Help porting Mindscape's Legend Queller request.Other 6 30 October 2010 12:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:51.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11171 seconds with 16 queries