English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2012, 13:30   #1
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
PS VITA Amiga UAE

Anybody got PSPUAE working on the PS VITA through VHBL (Vita Half Byte Loader)?

There seems to be heaps of SNES and Mega Drive emulators but no real talk about whether PSPUAE is working on it yet.

The Vita has a beautiful screen, would love to play some Nitro on it.
twenty90seven is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 September 2012, 15:16   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty90seven View Post
Anybody got PSPUAE working on the PS VITA through VHBL (Vita Half Byte Loader)?

There seems to be heaps of SNES and Mega Drive emulators but no real talk about whether PSPUAE is working on it yet.

The Vita has a beautiful screen, would love to play some Nitro on it.
It should work as its a usermode app, I dont have a vita to try it on.
FOL is offline  
Old 13 September 2012, 15:57   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Would it take advantage of teh Vita's extended capabilities, though? For example, overclocking.
Akira is offline  
Old 14 September 2012, 00:01   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Would it take advantage of teh Vita's extended capabilities, though? For example, overclocking.
With out looking, i would hazard a guess at it would need to be ported to work natively on vita.

So using hbl which uses the psp emulator on vita would give same results.
As the psp emulator runs exactly like original psp.

As I said though, I never got a psp vita, Doubt I will now.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 03:38   #5
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
Hi guys, so I was able to install PSPUAE on the PS Vita using VHBL, but I can't select an ADF to insert into the drive. Same probelm as this guy

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/index.php?topic=9478.0

So in short:
PSPUAE 0.72 installs using VHBL
PSPUAE boots up and you can get to the PSPUAE 0.72 menu's
You can view/scroll adf files in disks.
Thats where things end, unable to insert adf in either drive
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 08:43   #6
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
The Atari St emulator works on the PS Vita (caSTaway) - I was playing Nitro, and it has a different level design on the Atari ST, with people that can be run over, and traffic to dodge!
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 19:31   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty90seven View Post
Hi guys, so I was able to install PSPUAE on the PS Vita using VHBL, but I can't select an ADF to insert into the drive. Same probelm as this guy

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/index.php?topic=9478.0

So in short:
PSPUAE 0.72 installs using VHBL
PSPUAE boots up and you can get to the PSPUAE 0.72 menu's
You can view/scroll adf files in disks.
Thats where things end, unable to insert adf in either drive
As I said I dont have a vita, something has obviously changed.
Dont know when I will get time to finish v0.80. If I do I will take a look.
It proberly just needs updated libs released with vhbl.
FOL is offline  
Old 17 September 2012, 14:51   #8
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
As I said I dont have a vita, something has obviously changed.
Dont know when I will get time to finish v0.80. If I do I will take a look.
It proberly just needs updated libs released with vhbl.
Thanks FOL :-)
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 16:40   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
To update.

I need some people with Vita's to try and find out whether CMA / Vita makes all files READ ONLY. It appears that PSPUAE freaks out with files are READ ONLY. Im guessing when extracting to Vita, its making all files READONLY (or deleting file attributes).

I need this confirmed, So I can then decide what to do.
FOL is offline  
Old 18 May 2013, 01:06   #10
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
Hi FOL, how can I assist? I could hook my Vita up to the PC via the FTPloader and then right click on the files in Windows Explorer and see if they say they are read only?
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 18 May 2013, 14:40   #11
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty90seven View Post
Hi FOL, how can I assist? I could hook my Vita up to the PC via the FTPloader and then right click on the files in Windows Explorer and see if they say they are read only?
Yep, im guessing it makes all files read only.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 09:04   #12
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
Hi FOL, sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

I tried to ascertain the attributes for the ADF files within the PSPUAE folder on the PS Vita, by using a FTP client on the PS Vita. However because it is FTP, it would not show the attributes.

The only other method for getting files on the PS Vita is Open CMA (Open Content Manager Assistant) but it does not have a file browser. The way it works is that you package the PSPUAE emulator and the Adf files into a Zip Folder, select transfer from PC to PS Vita.

Once you are in the PSP emulator on the PS Vita, the PSP emulator unpacks the Zip folder and installs the PSPUAE emulator.

I see from the Ultimate Amiga board you have been working on PSPUAE 0.83 but presume this is still a sticking point. I think you can probably assume that the files on PS Vita are read only, but I am not sure how to change this, as I have described above the only two methods I know for getting files on to the Vita, and as it stands the Vita FTP client is the only method that lets you browse the files once they are on the Vita.

Hope this helps to some extent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Yep, im guessing it makes all files read only.
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 11:56   #13
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
I have been working on solving this.
I have added code to force opening files as writable but it ignores the code.
Not sure why at the moment, next I will add some debug code, to see what its doing. Your able to select ks files as it looks at the file, not the dir.

Still trying to fix hdd support, after speaking to Toni, he has confirmed what I thought. Its selecting the hdf correctly, but mounts it with a minus value.
Its possible the source doesn't allow 64bit, but it could also be the toolchain.

I have added z3 Fast Ram support for newer psp's, I have sucessfully got up to 26MB RAM uasable. Just need to fix the savestate saving and loading correctly.
Need to also get it to disable when not using 020.

I have also spent a good 3 days, tweaking compile flags to squeeze as much speed as possible. Since last official release we have got atleast another 4 to 7 FPS. However it depends on what you run, I have stuck to the same adf to be sure of any improvements.

I managed to fix the famec build, so I want to add that to current PSPUAE, so there is no need for seperate releases.


EDIT:- horace has managed to get around problem on ViTA.
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/index....html#msg45531

Last edited by FOL; 22 June 2013 at 12:05.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 13:14   #14
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
I have.... [ Show youtube player ]

But I still think a long term fix is needed (there is no reason it should not work on ARK and other vita exploits)
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 13:51   #15
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
I have.... [ Show youtube player ]

But I still think a long term fix is needed (there is no reason it should not work on ARK and other vita exploits)
I agree.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 16:23   #16
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
Thanks FOL and Horace. I have posted a reply over on the Ultimate Amiga boards. I am running the Urbanix exploit, with TN-V (not the newer TN-V 3) and have tried PSPUAE 0.72 and 0.80 beta 2 and I can't click on the adfs (ie I can scroll through the menu but can't select the adfs). I have posted video up on youtube:

[ Show youtube player ]

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I agree.
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 16:44   #17
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 109
OK - I can now confirm that PSPUAE is also working for me on TNV-3! Thanks very much! also using v0.72. But I think that the magic ingredient is TNV-3.
twenty90seven is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superfrog HD coming to PS3 and PS Vita darkwave Nostalgia & memories 84 06 November 2013 23:00
G-FS-UAE (GUI/Frontend for Linux FS-UAE) Speedvicio support.FS-UAE 12 05 November 2012 21:14
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 21:24
[FS-UAE] Extract strings from FS-UAE memory starwindz support.FS-UAE 2 06 August 2012 20:49
PS vita and emu stuff newb alert pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 27 24 January 2012 17:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36300 seconds with 12 queries