English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2017, 13:54   #1
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 10
Apollo 1260 SCSI performance

I have an Apollo 1260 (upgraded 1240) overclocked to 66 MHz and I was just wondering if the SCSI upgrade is worth it. I know it doesn't use DMA which is a shame, but that’s life. I would use it with a SCSI2SD adapter or similar device.

I’ve heard that it performs around 4 MB/s but is that true even with an overclocked 060? And does it use less CPU than the internal IDE even if it does not use DMA?

I get a bit less than 2,5 MB/s with the IDE port now with a compact flash card so an increase of around 1,5 MB/s is not worth the cost.

Is there anyone here with an Apollo 1260 and the SCSI module that can run a few benchmarks? I’m guessing that the SCSI module on the Apollo 4040/4060 is more or less the same so those benchmarks could be interesting too.
Joel_w is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 November 2017, 17:27   #2
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 152
the apollo scsi sucks and you will have to put an old noisy scsi hardrive to get around 3.5mb/s
stay with the compact flash and forget crazy ideas, the amiga software don't need a fast hardrive, 2.5 mb/s is fast enough for all apps and games
Mrz is offline  
Old 11 November 2017, 18:08   #3
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 414
You could use solid state drives with say an Acard SCSI->IDE bridge and a IDE->SATA or IDE->mSATA(card) adapter or similar.

There is also the CF AztekMonster and SCSI Disk which both take CF card directly. Both of them are based on Acard chips so they will be fast and quite compatible.

And last there is also the SCSI2SD, but that one might be a less good option as the older versions are slow so would not be faster than IDE and the more recent ones seem to have a harder time with compatibility from what I have read.

I find the Apollo SCSI a bit intriguing. I have only heard people saying that it sucks without being specific about in which ways it sucks (apart from not being a DMA controller). I also have never heard of anyone actually using it, which is odd. Also I have never seen any information that would answer other important questions, like if it can be used with large drives in combination with a suitable filesystem.

Last edited by patrik; 11 November 2017 at 18:19.
patrik is offline  
Old 11 November 2017, 19:42   #4
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
I find the Apollo SCSI a bit intriguing. I have only heard people saying that it sucks without being specific about in which ways it sucks (apart from not being a DMA controller). I also have never heard of anyone actually using it, which is odd. Also I have never seen any information that would answer other important questions, like if it can be used with large drives in combination with a suitable filesystem.
Exactly, that’s what I thought when I started to look into it. I know a few SCSI modules for the Apollo has been sold on Amibay so they’re out there but there’s very little information about them. I find it a bit odd since information about the Blizzard SCSI is easy to find. Sure, it was a much better solution but if you owned an Apollo that was not an option.

Maybe it’s because the Blizzard SCSI worked with the 1230 IV and that was a much more common accessory (I owned that combination once, before I could grow a beard).
Joel_w is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 09:55   #5
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 434
the apollo scsis are rare as they was so crap..
I have one here somewhere, tested it. and. oh damn it is bad..

also. it requires soldering to use..
Chucky is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 13:53   #6
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
the apollo scsis are rare as they was so crap..
I have one here somewhere, tested it. and. oh damn it is bad..

also. it requires soldering to use..
Yes but what made it so bad? The speed, compatibility or something else?

I didn't know about the soldering though, that makes it far less interesting I guess.
Joel_w is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 14:46   #7
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 434
it is CPU polled. so it consumes a lot of CPU.. thats the biggest deal.

and yup!.. look at pictures of the apollo, there are holes under the EPROM.. this is where you solder in the pins for the scsicontroller.. no idea what they was thinking doing that solution..
Chucky is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 19:07   #8
HelloBeautiful
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 60
I have one but haven't tested it
HelloBeautiful is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blizzard 1260 / Apollo 1260 size liviux76 support.Hardware 2 24 May 2017 17:02
Squirrel SCSI CD-ROM and Apollo 1260 problem zmiennik support.Hardware 3 19 July 2015 13:08
Apollo 1260 or Blizzard 1260? BarryB support.Hardware 74 10 January 2015 17:13
WTB: Blizzard 1260 or Apollo 1260 OldB0y MarketPlace 1 13 April 2010 23:42
Possible trade, Apollo 1260 @ 80mhz for Blizz 1260 Molcos Swapshop 3 13 November 2009 16:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13980 seconds with 15 queries