English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 March 2019, 10:20   #1
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 341
Best kickstart to use with AmigaOS 4.1 FE?

So I know it will boot strap its own kickstart, so maybe this is a pointless question, but does 3.1.4 work as a kickstart for AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition?
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 24 March 2019, 11:22   #2
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
So I know it will boot strap its own kickstart, so maybe this is a pointless question, but does 3.1.4 work as a kickstart for AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition?

You ask if you can install 3.1.4 kickstart on a classic system with PowerUP board, and still boot OS 4.1FE? Would be strange if it didn't work.
kolla is offline  
Old 24 March 2019, 17:22   #3
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 341
Yeah, that is what I thought. I mean one of the reasons I liked 3.1.4 is I could slap it in my system with the 68060 adapted A3640 and have it boot without custom ROMs. Just not sure if anyone had tried OS4 with it, or I would have to swap back to either 3.1 or the custom 3.9 I have.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 05 April 2019, 21:57   #4
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
So I know it will boot strap its own kickstart, so maybe this is a pointless question, but does 3.1.4 work as a kickstart for AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition?
Amiga OS 4.1 is a PPC based. Kickstart 3.1.4 is 68K based. Amiga OS 4.1 kicks out all 68K code, and uses PPC code. Then uses a 68020 emulator to run 68K programs. So, OS 3.1.4 would cause a crash in the booting process once OS 4.1 PPC is initiated. This is how I'm reading your wonderment.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 05 April 2019, 22:49   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,424
On WinUAE OS4.1, it also starts quietly with KickStart 3.1.4.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 April 2019, 23:30   #6
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/DC HACKER! View Post
Amiga OS 4.1 is a PPC based. Kickstart 3.1.4 is 68K based. Amiga OS 4.1 kicks out all 68K code, and uses PPC code. Then uses a 68020 emulator to run 68K programs. So, OS 3.1.4 would cause a crash in the booting process once OS 4.1 PPC is initiated. This is how I'm reading your wonderment.
I was mostly asking due to my CSPPC having a faulty / buggy PPC in it. 4.1FE would get to the point where the it would say it was going to enable the RTG graphics, but then just froze on a Pink screen. I had managed a few times to get ADoomWOS to launch, but then when I'd try it the next day, it'd lock up.


Sent that off to Stanchu to work on, so for now just rocking the 060@50mhz on the A3640 board. But eventually am wondering if I will be able to run 3.1.4 / 3.9 / 4.1FE without having to swap Kickstarts all the time :P
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 10:54   #7
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
That should not be a problem. The 3.1.4 kickstart is very much a 3.9 kickstart, all the modules in OS 3.9 ROM update are built into the 3.1.4 kickstart, most of them updated too. Likewise, many OS 3.9 components on disk exist also as updated versions in 3.1.4.
kolla is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 18:04   #8
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
I was mostly asking due to my CSPPC having a faulty / buggy PPC in it. 4.1FE would get to the point where the it would say it was going to enable the RTG graphics, but then just froze on a Pink screen. I had managed a few times to get ADoomWOS to launch, but then when I'd try it the next day, it'd lock up.
Ahhh...Okay. I had a faulty PPC also.. Stanchu and Hese are very, very good. For A4000, so you know, if you don't already, OS 4.1 FE is fun to play with when you're new to it but after a while you might find, as I did and figured, that it's a little too slow even with PPC (doesn't matter how fast). GFX board only makes it a little quicker than AGA. Picasso IV and CVPPC here.

Quote:
Sent that off to Stanchu to work on, so for now just rocking the 060@50mhz on the A3640 board. But eventually am wondering if I will be able to run 3.1.4 / 3.9 / 4.1FE without having to swap Kickstarts all the time :P
I have a multi-partition system on my 32GB CF connected to SCSI and CSPPC-SCSI. OS 3.5, 3.9 and 3.1.4 and OS 4.1...as well as some test partitions, and others for data, games, other programs. My ROMs are 3.1. I am very much okay with 3.1.4 being installed by patching and resetting. OS 3.9 breaks some games, as does 3.1.4 but if you are adventurous WHDLoad will help you bypass that. Unless you've making a boot-menu system as I've done.

For the most part the program Reset with the option "hard" ore using T.U.D.E. (GUI) will make it sweet instead of powering off/on between 68K OS's. I considered using ROMs also, but then...bye, bye 3.1 total compatibility. BigRAMPlus is without a doubt, a great idea if you really plan on getting into OS 4.1 for much with CSPPC. Also, if you don't know, disable the RAM Pager...it doesn't function well...often causes my system to freeze. Just disable it, and get all access..to RAM as per normal and even though it's much slower than CSPPC..it is usable..even if things seemed to have stopped.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 19:28   #9
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 341
Nice, curious about why one would need 3.5 and 3.9. I always thought they were very similar, and 3.9 was just a proper upgrade to it. I understand 3.1 though, since it seems most compatible with older software, and has a lot of cruft left out.
I have OS4.1 set up under UAE, and of course there it seems plenty fast. Will have to see if I have accurate emulation set or just full bore speeds.
slaapliedje is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HQC Kickstart 1.2 (cracked kickstart) T_hairy_bootson support.Apps 51 18 February 2019 20:25
Boot different AmigaOS by kickstart version? hyperlogos support.Other 18 02 October 2017 17:35
AmigaOS on TV fryguy Amiga scene 0 12 December 2013 16:54
A1200 Kickstart 3.1 - Light gray screen before Kickstart Sallinen support.Hardware 7 21 November 2008 21:22
Kickstart 2.0 vs. kickstart 3.1 on A600 fc.studio support.Hardware 19 21 October 2007 21:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07133 seconds with 15 queries