English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 January 2019, 00:05   #1
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
Vlab-Motion board revision differences?

I thought I had this info somewhere but can't find it now.


Does anyone know what the differences are between the various revisions 1.0 thru 1.3 of the MacroSystem VLM are?


What were the bugs & fixes from one revision to the next?


Can earlier rev boards be upgraded?


Also, are there pinout details for the VLM's expansion header for the YUV module?


Thanks!
jaesonk is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 05:05   #2
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Hi,

I researched this subject quite a long time ago, so I am playing from memory, which may be not as good as it used to be.

That said this is what I remember:

One revision, had electrolitic capacitos changed to tantalum ones for better reliability.
The other had a minor fix that could be retrofitted to earlier revisions. It was seen as a blue small wire patch at the back of the pcb in that case.

The fixes involved workarounds for stability and enabling the use of later versions of MovieShop. Early unfixed boards could only work up to version 4.3 of MS without issues. Later revisions could go all the way up to 4.9 beta 7.

The YUV module only provides component output (no input). It was based around the Philips SAA7165. It sat on the expansion header of the VLAB.

I remember I also wrote by reverse engineering part of the pinout (it was not complete). Just trace back the signals on the PCB to the chipset. It basically is an interface for the VIP and output signals.
gulliver is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 15:28   #3
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
Thanks
jaesonk is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 19:09   #4
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
No problem.

BTW, do you happen to have a MacroSystem Multi Serial/Machine Control board in your DraCo?
I am looking for the driver diskette. Please let me know.
gulliver is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 19:41   #5
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
I do have machine control card and jog/shuttle controller for my DraCo. Let me check through boxes for the disk.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 19:45   #6
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Great!
gulliver is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 20:06   #7
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
Found it!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3170.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	808.7 KB
ID:	61864  
jaesonk is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 21:43   #8
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaesonk View Post
Found it!
Yes, that one!

I have the hardware but unfortunately I never got the disk.

Could you upload an ADF image of it to The Zone? Or just these two files included in it:
msmser.device and serial.prefs.

Thank you again.
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 01:13   #9
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
Ok. I fired up my DraCo and made the ADF. Uploaded to the Zone! with I-Browse.


The disk name is MC-Disk1. As far as I can remember there is only one disk.



I suppose that I should go through all my DraCo floppies and make some ADF backups.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 11:33   #10
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Yes, it is only one floppy disk.

Hi, I tried the floppy but it seems to be in DraCo only format or damaged, because WinUAE cant seem to open it.

Dou you please have a way to upload its content?

PS: BTW, it is a good idea that you back up all your DraCo floppies, but get them out in a standard format, not a DraCo one, because floppy disks will eventually become as difficult as unicorns to find. I did that with all my DraCo software.
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 20:50   #11
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
I made an LHA of the floppy contents and uploaded to the Zone! Let me know if that works for you.

I forgot about floppies being in DraCo format. The MC-Disk1 is a 1.4MB DraCo HD format.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 21:39   #12
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Thank you very much Jason, it works without issues.

After 5 years I finally got the board working with these driver disk!

If you need any help on anything DraCo related let me know.

Thanks again.
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 21:54   #13
number6
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 85
@jaesonk and/or gulliver

Do either of you know whether they released a/the s/w version that had .mpg export?


#6
number6 is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 23:29   #14
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by number6 View Post
@jaesonk and/or gulliver

Do either of you know whether they released a/the s/w version that had .mpg export?


#6
Hi,

Unfortunately, no direct .mpg export in any version.
You could however export frames and audio and use ffmpeg to convert them to .mpg on an Amiga/DraCo.
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 23:49   #15
number6
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Hi,

Unfortunately, no direct .mpg export in any version.
You could however export frames and audio and use ffmpeg to convert them to .mpg on an Amiga/DraCo.
Sorry. I gave you the wrong impression with my wording.
I have the .mpg export version. It was a menu item.
I simply was curious if they ever released it publically after the testing.

Take care,
#6
number6 is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 00:12   #16
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by number6 View Post
Sorry. I gave you the wrong impression with my wording.
I have the .mpg export version. It was a menu item.
I simply was curious if they ever released it publically after the testing.

Take care,
#6
Then you have a jewel.
What version is it? Date? I am really curious.

Could you upload it to The Zome! please?
gulliver is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 00:32   #17
number6
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Then you have a jewel.
What version is it? Date? I am really curious.

Could you upload it to The Zome! please?
Oddly I never mentioned it where a few of us had an interesting discussion:
ouch, 10 years ago?
Today, I also noticed that Jaeson had been doing a retrieval of some of the old info too: https://groups.io/g/Amiga-vlabmotion/message/1

I also see questions about this in relation to vampire also recently:
http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=9&note=22997

Seems there is renewed interest in history I suppose.

In my case my system is not assembled atm, and since even some standard files were supplied in the same custom format mentioned in the amiga.org thread, this would take some work to resurrect.

I'll certainly update you if I can do this and if all the parts are still working. heh.

#6
number6 is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 22:30   #18
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
@number6

Oh you remember! Was it ten years ago? Time flies

Both Jaeson and I seem to be the only remaining DraCo/MovieShop lunatics out there.

Let me know when you get access to your old data. It would be really interesting if you could share whatever you have left of your old testing days.

I am doing the best I can to preserve everything I have regarding the DraCo/MovieShop and the Casablanaca Classic, and so it seems Jaeson is doing the same to some capacity.
gulliver is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 22:42   #19
number6
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
@number6

Oh you remember! Was it ten years ago? Time flies

Both Jaeson and I seem to be the only remaining DraCo/MovieShop lunatics out there.

Let me know when you get access to your old data. It would be really interesting if you could share whatever you have left of your old testing days.

I am doing the best I can to preserve everything I have regarding the DraCo/MovieShop and the Casablanaca Classic, and so it seems Jaeson is doing the same to some capacity.
Excellent.
I have no way of knowing whom he has contacted, but (again the amiga.org thread) might be useful. Bohus Blahut might have info from the 1st Draco period that others don't have.
As I mentioned, we didn't know others back then. It was only many years later I heard from Bohus that he had a chart of unknown origin, that turned out to be mine. heh.

In case you are interested and don't have this, here is the article about the company written by Trevor:
Classic Reflections - What happened to MacroSystem?

#6

Last edited by number6; 03 February 2020 at 23:09. Reason: added link
number6 is offline  
Old 05 February 2020, 20:58   #20
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,074
@number6

I will try contacting Bohus.

I have read the article Trevor posted and it perfectly matches the information I have.
Thank you, it was an interesting read.

I tried contacting Jorg Sprave in the past, as he was the designer of the Vlab Motion, and also his brother Martin who did design the Toccata. But they never answered.

I also tried to contact Henning Friedl and Edwin Bielawski, which were the main software developers, but unfortunately with the same negative result.

Should I try to contact Erik Kloor?
gulliver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any VLAB Motion users? RMK support.Hardware 4 08 November 2017 20:32
Vlab Motion/Draco/Casablanca gulliver request.UAE Wishlist 7 06 January 2015 17:19
FS: Vlab Motion card v1.1 Gavilan MarketPlace 2 09 December 2009 15:30
VLab Motion alanc5 Amiga scene 5 25 February 2008 21:01
VLab Motion Software Installation Calgor support.Hardware 5 18 July 2007 05:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09169 seconds with 14 queries