English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 December 2018, 19:15   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Getting the "Evil's Doom SE" demo to run...

Heya guys,

Anyone know how to get the this "demo" running without issues: Evil's Doom SE?

Installed the game, after launching I see this:



...followed by this:

DamienD is offline  
Old 17 December 2018, 20:56   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
...got a little further once by messing about:



...but afterwards:



It shouldn't be that difficult to get this "demo" running... nobody has any advise / assistance to offer?

Edit: just read DrBong's comments in another thread; seems it's not just me having issues:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
I can't get this demo to work, so I can't comment. Maybe Evil's Doom SE was only going to be the original game with some nice eye candy cut scenes. Most (if not all) of the HOL screenshots I ripped were from the video trailer on Aminet (which is also mentioned in the HOL notes ):

http://aminet.net/search?query=edoommovie
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 12:26   #3
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,462
I've not found a working configuration
(however it requires KS30, with 3.1 there is a stupid bug about the interlaced mode setup)
ross is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 13:14   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
I've not found a working configuration
(however it requires KS30, with 3.1 there is a stupid bug about the interlaced mode setup)
Yup, I know it requires KS3.0 (same as with Evil's Doom)

...anyway, I'm giving up on this [unreleased] game; spent too many hours playing about in order to get it working but without success
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 13:14   #5
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 47
Posts: 3,691
Can this program work at all ?
Maybe it's just a broken/unfinished demo...
meynaf is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 13:21   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Probably not... it was the screenshots on HOL that threw me off, so I thought someone must have had it working: Evil's Doom SE

...but DrBong has explained that these were actually taken from the video trailer on Aminet so:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
I can't get this demo to work, so I can't comment. Maybe Evil's Doom SE was only going to be the original game with some nice eye candy cut scenes. Most (if not all) of the HOL screenshots I ripped were from the video trailer on Aminet (which is also mentioned in the HOL notes ):

http://aminet.net/search?query=edoommovie
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 16:02   #7
ExiE
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: T/C
Posts: 131
There is finished complete version for sure. I knew a guy who bought a copy right from the author(s)...
Edit: Well not sure if it was SE version or not. It was long time ago.
ExiE is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 16:08   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExiE View Post
There is finished complete version for sure. I knew a guy who bought a copy right from the author(s)...
Edit: Well not sure if it was SE version or not. It was long time ago.
What you say is related to Evil's Doom, not Evil's Doom SE
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 16:27   #9
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,722
I remember wanting Evil's Doom (or SE, I forget) quite a bit back then. I seem to remember playing a demo version. Still disappointed it never came out.

But Now I head a full version of Evil's Doom exists!?
Woa, that's very interesting. Any idea on where to find it?

Because that'd make my Christmas for sure
roondar is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 17:57   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
I will upload the Evil's Doom Final Iso to FTP -> Uploads/Retro-Nerd. This is the most complete version with fixed bugs. But i get only garbled graphics. It worked for me though some years ago. Maybe you guys get it working in WinUAE.

edit: Done!

edit2: Text from this version:

Quote:
Publisher: Olympia Team, Titan Computer
Coder: Mladan Tripalo
Graphics: Hrvoje Colic, Mladan Tripalo, Bernard Kos, Bojan Pecnik
Musician: Vlado Tomic, Mladan Tripalo
Sound Effects: Bojan Pecnik

Game Notes and Information:

- The original game have a lot of bugs and never was finished.
- The Special Edition version was never released.

Information about 1.8 (This version):

- This version is based on 1.0, 1.7 and 1.7b with all know bugs fixed.
- Removed loader command from the original version.
- Fixed a bug with the intro sequence, now you can skip it without problems.
- Removed the game protection-codes.
- Fixed level 4th underwater level under Belcoon lake.
- Fixed old mines/hell door next to sign that says "Stairway to Hell".
- Fixed old mines/hell next floor down. door down middle corridoor, one that turns you round when you run down it.
- Fixed the final enemy, now you can kill the final enemy and finish the game.
- Fixed and reworked monitors ONLY works with PAL mode.
- Add speed up for 68020 and 68030 cpu.
- Fixed to run with less memory.
- Add Manual from the original game.
- Add full solution levels to finish the game.
- Add the Evils Doom SE promotional video.
- Add savegames (all levels).

This version has been possible by DaNi, SaiyA and Flovious

Special Thanks to:
Monstrusoft, Vitux, SOY, Cammy, CebollinO, Ultrapepe, Josep alemany, Xevious, syze, el_pulpo, fireb0y, vaporatorious, Pypo, Leki
Anubis, Gogeta, _FuSteS_, DrBoom, Fesema, Slince, NoDoS, Nuku Nuku, Skid and all testers.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 18 December 2018 at 18:11.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 18:48   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
But Now I head a full version of Evil's Doom exists!?
Woa, that's very interesting. Any idea on where to find it?

Because that'd make my Christmas for sure
...I'm sure there's an old thread about this; too busy to search right now though

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I will upload the Evil's Doom Final Iso to FTP -> Uploads/Retro-Nerd. This is the most complete version with fixed bugs.
Weird; works fine here in WinUAE... well, the .HDF I created anyway

Grab my .HDF from here

For real Amiga users; I guess you can mount the .HDF and then just copy the files across to your own hard drive.
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 19:01   #12
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,008
i have the 1.8 version that was available from EAB Server from 2013 and it works without graphics problems.
Evil's doom SE never released even if on Vesalia you coud find old catalogue with box scan of the game.
Seiya is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 20:39   #13
speshady
Registered User

speshady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: currently in Glasgow, from Derbyshire/England
Age: 46
Posts: 89
If you share the SE version you have got, then i could try it out on my A1200 and also WinUAE. cheers
speshady is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 23:29   #14
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I will upload the Evil's Doom Final Iso to FTP -> Uploads/Retro-Nerd. This is the most complete version with fixed bugs. But i get only garbled graphics. It worked for me though some years ago. Maybe you guys get it working in WinUAE.

edit: Done!
Thanks!
I'll be trying it out for sure. Christmas came early this year
roondar is offline  
Old 19 December 2018, 00:16   #15
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Can we get back on topic please guys?

This thread is not about Evil's Doom, but getting the Evil's Doom SE demo to run...
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 December 2018, 18:45   #16
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,008
yeah, SE edition doesn't work
Seiya is offline  
Old 19 December 2018, 21:43   #17
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,722
So I noticed. This afternoon, I spend some time trying to get it to run.
I've tried running it on both WinUAE and my real A1200 using a whole bunch of different strategies and it always ends up on that red screen.

Bummer, I was hoping that perhaps using a real machine might make it work.
roondar is offline  
Old 19 December 2018, 21:58   #18
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Thanks for trying guys, appreciate

I've literally spend over 4 hours and been at various stages i.e:
  • Initial screen as show in post #1.
  • Olympia logo.
  • Various "Evil's Doom" screens; the last one shown in post #2.
...but then; "red screen of death" afterwards and goes no further
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Evil's Doom ErikBauer project.aGTW 75 13 March 2020 22:59
Evil's Doom Neil79 support.Games 72 13 October 2019 14:41
Evil's Doom SE tomcat666 request.Old Rare Games 7 27 October 2007 16:11
Evil Doom djcasey request.Old Rare Games 2 24 June 2007 13:30
All about Evil's Doom dido support.Games 0 01 August 2002 12:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08961 seconds with 13 queries