English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2020, 23:15   #1
falken
Registered User
falken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 47
Workbench installed. What now?

I open this thread to see if you can tell me what are the applications / tools / commands that you install just after installing the system. Those without whom you cannot conceive the use of Workbench and who, because of their extreme utility, are indispensable to you.
falken is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 23:21   #2
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,677
lha
malko is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 02:12   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,575
Lha as mentioned above, lzx, unzip, anticlick, KingCON, etc.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 08:04   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Dopus4
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 13:10   #5
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Dopus4
Absolute must have, even more so if you are not familiar or comfortable using the command line.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 13:28   #6
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 446
Oh gosh, this really depends on what you want to do and your personal preferences.

I mean, if you don't want to navigate through your drawers to start up tools (programs), there are several different ways of launching tools - ToolsDaemon allows you to add extra menus to your workbench menus, AmiDock allows you to add a "Dock" (like on the NeXT and Apple Mac OS X), and there are options to add a "Start menu" style launcher (I have not looked into this myself).

It also depends what hardware you're running it on, and which version of Workbench you're using - there is more that will run on 3.0 or higher than there is that will run on 1.3 or lower. And some things will require AGA or a graphics card, while some will be happy to run on any OCS or better machine.

It also depends on how much you want to customise things - do you want to tweak icons or even design your own?

There are things like MagicWB and NewIcons, MUI, AHI audio system, it all really depends on what you want to do. Also WHDLoad for launching games from the hard disk drive that may not have a hard drive installer, or that don't work correctly with your hardware and/or software.
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 10:23   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,517
As said, it depends on what you want to do with the system, but it also depends on what version of Workbench you installed. If it's 3.9 for example, you have less need for installing lha because it comes with a pretty good graphical unarchiver included. Similarly, NewIcons, AHI, Amidock, MagicWB, new Shell replacements etc. aren't needed because they're either included or their functionality is integrated into Workbench itself. For me, the only things I add as soon as I install OS 3.9 are MagicMenu and drivers for PCMCIA CF card adaptors (compactflash.device and fat95).
Daedalus is online now  
Old 17 February 2020, 11:10   #8
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,574
I love Amiga music

So, after the system is installed, i always add Eagle Player (to listen to Amiga music modules) and Exotic Ripper (to extract those modules from productions)

You can find both programs on aminet
chip is online now  
Old 17 February 2020, 19:29   #9
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,254
I use SID (1.06) ---
Always thought D-Opus a little Heavy.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 22:11   #10
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
I use SID (1.06) ---
Always thought D-Opus a little Heavy.
DiskMaster is lighter
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Workbench Be installed to CF Drive via Gotek? nathanm1991 support.Other 8 11 October 2019 17:51
Installed 3.x ROMs and.. Nothing on the Workbench guy lateur support.Hardware 18 11 June 2017 21:08
Accidentally installed Magic workbench... Synthesize Me support.Other 2 07 November 2011 00:52
What Enviroment is installed here? D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 7 03 November 2008 19:38
Installed OS 3.9 but.....!!! dmrvf support.Hardware 8 11 June 2003 16:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07395 seconds with 13 queries