English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 August 2009, 13:31   #21
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 51
Posts: 2,692
What's money where happiness is concerned...?
Peter is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 13:33   #22
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CU_AMiGA View Post
crazy price for a machine you can barely do stuff on!!!
Believe me, Sting can... Sting can
TCD is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 13:39   #23
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 34
Posts: 962
i am not saying the machine isnt nice, but its the fact there isnt much stuff that seem to be on there and that it cant run the older st stuff!
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 13:42   #24
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
I'd only use it for demo coding/watching so I don't care much about the lack of software for it.
TCD is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 14:04   #25
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
What's money where happiness is concerned...?
So true, so true!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CU_AMiGA View Post
i am not saying the machine isnt nice, but its the fact there isnt much stuff that seem to be on there and that it cant run the older st stuff!
If I would care about running old ST stuff I could use either my 1040ste or my 1040stfm. However, I don't. The Falcon is a very interesting machine (btw, a plain A1200 is barely usable either!) to code for which is the only reason why I bought it. I don't care about apps or games or whatever.
StingRay is online now  
Old 06 August 2009, 14:56   #26
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 34
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
So true, so true!



If I would care about running old ST stuff I could use either my 1040ste or my 1040stfm. However, I don't. The Falcon is a very interesting machine (btw, a plain A1200 is barely usable either!) to code for which is the only reason why I bought it. I don't care about apps or games or whatever.
some of us dont have money/space for more macines. plus your comment about the a1200 being barely usable is way off the mark. i hope you enjoy your falcon tho!
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 15:08   #27
skan
Registered User

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utinum
Age: 44
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by CU_AMiGA View Post
i am not saying the machine isnt nice, but its the fact there isnt much stuff that seem to be on there and that it cant run the older st stuff!
Quote:
Originally Posted by CU_AMiGA View Post
some of us dont have money/space for more macines. plus your comment about the a1200 being barely usable is way off the mark. i hope you enjoy your falcon tho!
Sorry, but I just fail to see any reference between these 2 statements...
skan is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 15:38   #28
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 34
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Sorry, but I just fail to see any reference between these 2 statements...
sorry, but i just fail to see wot you are saying. its pretty known that the a1200 can run a large majority of the huge amiga library whereas the falcon030 (as good specced and nice the machine was) barely had anything released for it. and could not run much st software. although it sounds like Sting?Ray will have some fun with it as it sounds like he s a programmmer!
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 15:52   #29
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,818
Cool Have some neat project in mind StingRay?
Photon is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 16:04   #30
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,334
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Cool Have some neat project in mind StingRay?
of course he does, and of course he won't spoil the fun by talking about it here
coze is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 22:27   #31
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
FALCON - For A Lot of Coins Obvious Nerdness?
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 22:38   #32
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
FALCON - For A Lot of Coins Obvious Nerdness?
Clap clap. How much time did you need to come up with this "joke"? So much for the "Nerdiness".
StingRay is online now  
Old 06 August 2009, 22:44   #33
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
It was great joke as great as I am. Really.
s2325 is offline  
Old 07 August 2009, 14:51   #34
Effy
http://www.amigaclub.be/
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Age: 52
Posts: 677
Send a message via MSN to Effy
Fact is that a skilled Falcon use can make the thing play mp3 songs without any additional soundcard or MASplayer like we do on Amiga ... that DSP inside the Falcon makes it very useful for some things ...
Effy is offline  
Old 07 August 2009, 15:46   #35
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Cool Have some neat project in mind StingRay?
Of course. Like porting my 3d engine and other things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
It was great joke as great as I am. Really.
Then I don't want to hear your bad jokes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Effy View Post
Fact is that a skilled Falcon use can make the thing play mp3 songs without any additional soundcard or MASplayer like we do on Amiga ... that DSP inside the Falcon makes it very useful for some things ...
To be entirely fair, playing mp3's is perfectly possible on Amiga w/o any soundcard, at least on 030+ Amigas. I do agree however that the DSP is useful, it's quite appealing actually (not only for sound playback! ).
StingRay is online now  
Old 07 August 2009, 15:58   #36
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
Of course. Like porting my 3d engine and other things.
Oh no! Obi-Wan has turned to the Dark Side!

More seriously - is coding on the ST rewarding in any different ways to the Amiga? Might be worth trying... Any HRM equivalents available for the ST?
pmc is offline  
Old 07 August 2009, 16:25   #37
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
FALCON - For A Lot of Coins Obvious Nerdness?
For Atari Last Computer Out Now
Facking Atari Leeches Commodores Owesome Ninjineers
Flawed Atari Leet Comes Out Negatively

Last edited by Paul_s; 07 August 2009 at 16:32.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 07 August 2009, 20:39   #38
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I know that is what he wanted, but everyone tries to shave a few €'s off when they buy. Haggling is part of the fun of buying classic stuff.
Quite funny, someone in your job position should make a lot of money, I mean we are not exactly talking about an A600 for £5?

Surely someone in your position should be able to get a raise?

Falcon is kinda rare, kinda sought after. 250 euro is a good price.
cv643d is offline  
Old 07 August 2009, 21:27   #39
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by CU_AMiGA View Post
i am not saying the machine isnt nice, but its the fact there isnt much stuff that seem to be on there and that it cant run the older st stuff!
What makes you think you can't run ST stuff on it? Dbug have patched many ST games to run on the Falcon. Most system legal software works fine on it too.
frank_b is offline  
Old 07 August 2009, 21:29   #40
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
Oh no! Obi-Wan has turned to the Dark Side!

More seriously - is coding on the ST rewarding in any different ways to the Amiga? Might be worth trying... Any HRM equivalents available for the ST?
Every bit as rewarding as hacking on a miggy. If you like 68k hacking you'd like the Falcon/ST/STe
frank_b is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale: > 160 rare C64 games boxed: Synapse, Broderbund, Atari, Epyx... Hacky MarketPlace 0 26 June 2010 23:52
Atari C-lab Falcon For Sale!! SPARKYPETE MarketPlace 22 11 September 2008 01:49
For sale: Atari ST games... Big-Byte MarketPlace 9 16 November 2006 02:36
Amigas, C64, atari, megadrive for sale Traquer MarketPlace 7 01 September 2005 12:18
Atari Legend. Finally an Atari ST database similar to HOL! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 23 04 December 2004 06:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10693 seconds with 15 queries