English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2007, 19:46   #1
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
A500 RF Shield Remove Backplane ? (How?)

I'm trying to fully disassemble an A500, I've almost done it but it seems that the backplane is attached to the rear of the case.

There are some nuts which appear to have screws that hold all of the PCB mount connectors on the backplane onto the rear of the A500 case, I have tried turning one of these with a pair of pliers but it will hardly budge at all (totally stuck)

Anybody have any ideas or do I need a special tool to remove them?
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:02   #2
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 49
Posts: 1,079
That what i use to remove them but you could try a socket spanner maybe..

Last edited by spannernick; 16 July 2007 at 20:10.
spannernick is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:04   #3
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
Ok cheers.. ive just been advised to tap them with a hammer and then use the pliers.. they are called "hex jack screws"..
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:06   #4
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaoticjelly View Post
I'm trying to fully disassemble an A500, I've almost done it but it seems that the backplane is attached to the rear of the case.

There are some nuts which appear to have screws that hold all of the PCB mount connectors on the backplane onto the rear of the A500 case, I have tried turning one of these with a pair of pliers but it will hardly budge at all (totally stuck)

Anybody have any ideas or do I need a special tool to remove them?
Nah, the A500 mobo + RF shield isn't attached with any screws except the one at the exp. port, floppy drive.

It's held at the front though by a plastic clip which is a part of the bottom case

Just lift the mobo at the front , there's a small cavity in the RF shield at the bottom which often get's stuck in the case so lifting the mobo slightly often helps removing it
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:17   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,682
Yes it is, by the said hex jack screws around each d connector in the back of the mobo.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:18   #6
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ View Post
Nah, the A500 mobo + RF shield isn't attached with any screws except the one at the exp. port, floppy drive.

It's held at the front though by a plastic clip which is a part of the bottom case

Just lift the mobo at the front , there's a small cavity in the RF shield at the bottom which often get's stuck in the case so lifting the mobo slightly often helps removing it
I lifted it up from the plastic clip but its attached to the rear.. with these screws on the connectors..
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:19   #7
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
I guess I will just bend the RF shield, then bend it back after i've finished..
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:20   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,682
It will be rather difficult to get it bent back straight. Be sure to check for short circuits after you've bent it back.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:24   #9
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
Hmm ok well maybe I won't do that then.. I guess it doesn't help that my pliers are ever so slightly bent at the end, and I don't seem to have another pair..
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 20:25   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,682
I have a small nut driver from a jeweller's tool set. Very handy for this purpose. :-)

Just about all the other pieces of that tool set are lost, but the one correct size nut driver is always on my keyboard.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:34   #11
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
Sorted it now.. thanks guys

Now I have the pleasure of desoldering 16 IC's
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 17 July 2007, 00:16   #12
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 49
Posts: 1,079
WOW i use to do that in 92 in a computer shop with cbm 64s,atari st 520s,Would have to take the memory ICs out of a broken atari st to put in another one to make it 1 mb(1040)..
spannernick is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Project Shield john4p News 1 08 January 2013 20:19
RBM "onboard" Zorro backplane DarrenHD support.Hardware 10 29 October 2010 14:28
how to remove metal shield from a500's rear panel? jolly11 support.Hardware 4 31 August 2009 08:43
A600 Custom RF shield? Photon Hardware mods 0 03 July 2009 19:40
Scandoubler and RF shield. asm1 Hardware mods 7 20 February 2009 20:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07673 seconds with 15 queries