English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2006, 19:34   #1
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
1085s dodgy lines?

Picked up a 1085S video monitor (Commodore brand) it was advertised as fully working, but isnt..!

The pictures rock steady and clear, but there are lines going up and down the screen, a couple of lines, which when you turn the monitor on for the first time move up and down the screen really fast, and then they slow down a bit later on, after a few minutes they settle at the top, then the bottom of the screen, then start pulsing again..

Its like an interference effect, but there is nothing near the monitor to interfere with it, and its constant... any ideas?
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 15 August 2006, 15:00   #2
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Maybe the potentiometer which is used for adjusting the picture up/down & the one for narrowing/widening is a little bit bad ?
Overdoc is offline  
Old 15 August 2006, 22:37   #3
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
Hmm.. im not sure, but looking at the cable from the Amiga to the monitor, the insulation is cut at the monitor end, there are 3 pins missing from the 9 pin end.

Perhaps there is a problem with the cable, and the previous owner realised this, and not being able to get into the moulded cable, they cut the insulation..

I will make a new cable and try the monitor then.. im not sure if its the pots.. I doubt it though as the pictures nice and the horizontal and vertical work fine.. its like interference or when you put a mobile phone next to a tv making interference..
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 21 August 2006, 21:12   #4
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
I found out the problem I think.

I tried another Amiga with the monitor, and it worked great.

It seems the problem lies with the Amiga 1200. Its a first revision ever 1A, which apparently has a bug which causes the screen to flicker when the CPU is running?

I found a site where I can fix it by attaching a 3.3 uF capacitor to two pads on the motherboard..

Ace!
chaoticjelly is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debugging my dodgy asm! hypnoshock Coders. Asm / Hardware 5 01 May 2012 01:55
Ebay dodgy tin project.WHDLoad 16 05 December 2004 07:41
dodgy ebayer? tin Retrogaming General Discussion 14 09 July 2004 12:08
Dodgy Workbench Install? brian support.Apps 5 27 April 2004 23:32
Dodgy colour on CD32 MOS-6581 support.Hardware 3 11 July 2002 01:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06473 seconds with 15 queries