English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 February 2020, 14:17   #1
mogouk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 15
Degrader/Relokick Bootable floppy image wanted to Boot into Kickstart 1.2

I know Relokick 1.3 and upwards is available and it works fine, but i need a way of booting from Floppy on a 1MB 1.3 A500 to load Kickstart 1.2 for games that only work on KS1.2 is it possible?
i'm sure there was a hacked version 1.2 of relokick years ago but i may of imagined it

this is for a friend of mine who does not want to go down the rom switcher route, as seals are intact, No Hard Drive, and wants to keep machine original as possible.

Any ideas? Thx in Adv

Mogouk
mogouk is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 14:41   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,893
Just tried with Tude; unfortunately KS 1.3 is the lowest it will go
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2020, 15:26   #3
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 774
Personally, I think keeping the seals intact is a not a good idea. It just means to me that the machine has not been inspected and serviced and maintained inside. The floppy drive would have also not been serviced and maintained too.
solarmon is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 16:14   #4
mogouk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 15
@solarmon, yes that would be my thought too, he is elderly and does not want anyone tinkering with it at all, he will be selling it he said, it is in mint condition, no discolouration and thinks it's worth a great deal more with seals intact. he has some Original software/games that he said requires ks 1.2 so he wants to demonstrate it loading the software, i will have to get a list of the games/software he has maybe there is a patch or something.
mogouk is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 16:37   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,893
So how did he originally play these games that supposedly require KS 1.2?
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2020, 16:47   #6
mogouk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 15
@DamienD no idea, last time i spoke to him he said his brother was a software developer, and he gave him a lot of software still shrink wrapped, this was before he even had a Amiga, but when he decided to buy an amiga it was a 1.3 Rom Machine.

personally i would just sell the 1.2 software, then sell the rest. saves messing, it's my fault as i said i can get you a bootable disk no problem, but it looks like relokick 1.2 does not exist.
mogouk is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 16:59   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogouk View Post
but when he decided to buy an amiga it was a 1.3 Rom Machine.
A much better option than purchasing a KS 1.2 Amiga.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogouk View Post
personally i would just sell the 1.2 software, then sell the rest. saves messing
Yup, that is the best bet.
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2020, 20:34   #8
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,257
Prob... just changing the Boot Image on ReloKick/S-Kick would do the job ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 20:45   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,893
I tried that with Tude i.e. rename the "kick33180.A500" file to "kick34005.A500"... crashes
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2020, 20:52   #10
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,257
Just tried it with S-Kick:
It just complained about the Relocation Table

Hence the hack needed..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	S-Kick_002.png
Views:	25
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	66247  
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:05   #11
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,593
Skick does support 1.2 make sure you have the necessary files(i.e you don't rename anything) but on a 1mb Kick 1.3 machine your very limited, no doubt something existed for the job but finding it....
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:16   #12
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,593
Mkick can Kick your machine to Kick 2.0 don't know if it supports Kick1.2 ?

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/MKick19

[ Show youtube player ]
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:24   #13
mogouk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 15
i did try editing relokick, degrader and also skick a few times before posting, but my knowledge is not that extensive, so thought i would post and hoped an expert would be familiar with this, i was so convinced i had seen a hacked relokick version 1.2 ? if it were that easy i'm sure there would be loads of bootable images around for this by now.
mogouk is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:25   #14
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,593
Skick doesn't need hacking but think it requires kick 2.0
You should be ok with MKick.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:28   #15
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,169
What games are there that work with Kickstart 1.2 but not 1.3? I think most "don't work on a 1.3 A500" games are actually because many/most A500s which came with Kickstart 1.3 actually have the ECS Agnus chip, and the incompatibility is there rather than the Kickstart version.
mark_k is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:31   #16
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,593
Didn't Archon require kick 1.2
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:33   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,893
My guess would be old games like Arcticfox and One On One (Electronic Arts).
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:35   #18
mogouk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 15
i think one is a basketball game i remember him saying!
mogouk is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:36   #19
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,593
Ye olde games.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:40   #20
mogouk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 15
seems like it's mainly pre 1988 games by Electronic Arts
mogouk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kickstart 3.1.4 (46.143) ROM image for Amiga 500 wanted matsp888 request.Other 23 19 October 2019 00:54
Kickstart 3 1.4 (46.143) f ROM image for Amiga 500 wanted matsp888 request.Other 0 22 June 2019 06:08
Please test this possibly-bootable CD image with your SCSI controller mark_k support.Hardware 46 06 September 2017 07:48
HOW TO: Create a boot floppy disk to load a bootable partition NubeCheCorre support.Other 3 18 February 2012 14:05
relokick / soft kickstart 1.3 oldpx request.Apps 17 01 July 2007 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09174 seconds with 16 queries