English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2020, 15:45   #1
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 308
Guru on boot after hard drive removed

Hi,


I have an A4000T with my boot harddrive on a CyberSCSI cable and a second harddrive on IDE. With both drives in place, the system works perfectly.


If I remove the IDE drive, the system gurus almost immediately (as far as I can tell, before the s-s is executed) on booting with 80000008 = privilege violation, even though the IDE drive isn't the boot drive.


Why is this weirdness happening
And more importantly how do I fix it so I can take the IDE drive out of the system?


FWIW the boot drive is formatted with SFS.

Last edited by Wrangler; 18 February 2020 at 16:52. Reason: Adding machine type
Wrangler is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 17:28   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,508
Just speculating, but could it be a mismatch of filestystem versions? As in, the SCSI drive is formatted to a version of SFS that is installed in the IDE drive's RDB, and when removed, the version in the RDB of the SCSI drive is incompatible? I'm not sure on the system behaviour if there are two different versions of a filesystem loaded at the same time.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 18:15   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,666
My speculation also concerns filesystems on each drive's RDB.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 21:44   #4
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 308
@daedalus: That is inspired!! I wouldn't have thought of that in a million years.


I think you may be onto something. Having looked at the RDBs for both disk, the IDE disk is running SFS 1.277 on FileSystem#0 whereas the SCSI disk is running SFS 1.279 on its FileSystem #0. This is according to rdbtools - I haven't found an Amiga program that gives detailed RDB info.

To fix this then, do you think I should load v1.277 in HDToolBox and "Change" to that filesystem with the same partition sizes? (I'm running under OS3.9)

Extra info:

IDE drive:
  • Partitions are 0x53465300 = SFS0
  • Filesystem is 0x53465300 = SFS0, v1.277

All matches up

SCSI drive:
  • Partitions are 0x53465300 = SFS0
  • Filesystem is 43465300 = CFS0, v1.279

So a mismatch of the DOS type. I wonder if that's a factor?

Anyway, question is: is the filesystem the important one and I need to change the RDB in HDToolbox to match, or is there another fix?

Last edited by Wrangler; 18 February 2020 at 21:57. Reason: Extra info added
Wrangler is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 06:21   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,666
You need to install SFS v1.277 with the dostype 0x53465300 to your scsi drive. Perhaps also remove the SFS v1.279 from there as your partitions do not use it.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 07:40   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
So a mismatch of the DOS type. I wonder if that's a factor?
It's not only a factor, it's the only reason. The DosType is the key which assigns a file system to a partition. If you make partitions without a matching file system, these partitions are not accessible. If the boot partition is not accessible, you get a guru.

The DosType is a unique key in the system. File systems are only loaded once and put into a list in filesystem.resource. So a file system stored on one HDD can be used by other HDDs as long as the one HDD remains in the system. If you remove the HDD which holds the file system, partitions on other HDDs using this file system become inaccessible.

And by the way, CFS means "stupid user didn't follow the instructions".
thomas is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:53   #7
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 308
Follow the what? Instructions?!

But seriously, thanks guys, that was amazing. All fixed and IDE drive removed. Thanks!
Wrangler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't boot from a hard drive tonnikaxatane support.WinUAE 9 03 July 2018 11:21
why cannot I boot hard drive directory or hard disk image jotd support.WinUAE 2 31 October 2017 18:00
Need someone to test dual-boot hard drive B14ck W01f support.WinUAE 2 07 August 2015 13:50
FS-UAE boot on hard drive joufflu support.FS-UAE 3 13 May 2012 17:12
How to boot up and ignore the Hard Drive? Cauterize support.Hardware 7 26 January 2012 00:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06783 seconds with 15 queries