English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2020, 20:54   #1
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,065
Does anyone use Workbench's DiskCopy ?

Hi,

I would like to hear your opinion regarding Workbench's DiskCopy command (it resides in the System drawer).

Does any of you find a use for it nowadays? Should it be depreciated?

Thank you for your input.
gulliver is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 04:29   #2
amiwolf
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 79
DiskCopy is used whenever you move a disk icon onto a Empty disk or RAD icon, which I do reasonably often. Workbench would not operate fully without it or at least a replacement with the same name.
amiwolf is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 07:14   #3
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,065
I ask because I always prefered a third party disk copier.

I never used DiskCopy. I was a fan of XCopy. And there are other copiers which were very popular back then.

The thing is that I don't know anyone who actually uses it. So it is an intriguing OS subject for me wether that tool is still of relevance nowadays.
gulliver is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 08:59   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,670
The default tool aspect probably requires it to be present in the OS for backwards compatibility reasons. I don't think there is any reason to update or upgrade it in any way though. People will use better suited tools for actual copying, such as the wonderful SuperDuper.

The format tool is similar, it's there because we want to format quick our hard disks and it does the job. But again like with SuperDuper above, if I'm formatting a pile of floppies I always use the 3rd party tool MyFormat..
Jope is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 09:35   #5
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,107
I think I only used it once. To copy Workbench & Extra 1.2 disks right after we bought the A500 back then, as instructed by either the manual or tutorial disk
spudje is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 11:16   #6
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
To copy Workbench & Extra 1.2 disks
yeah, with only 512kb RAM and 1 Diskdrive you had to swap the disks how many times? 8?
Etze is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 12:25   #7
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,065
Yes, in the Workkbench 1.x era, it could have been pretty popular given the cost and availability of hard drives.

However today, it seems kind of like it is there because we had othing better to fill the disk with.
gulliver is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 20:09   #8
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 127
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
One thing to mention is that DiskCopy is OS friendly and multitasks well!

Although X-Copy and other tools were far superior regarding features, they often killed multitasking. For copying standard DOS disks, DiskCopy is very fine. Just don't forget to relabel the "Copy of" prefix of target drive.

BTW: Did someone test DiskCopy on other drives instead of floppy? Can it, for example, copy from 4GB SD card to another 4GB SD card of same geometry?

In my opinion, DiskCopy should be improved by allowing disk images as source / target parameters, as well. Basically it should become something like dd on Linux.

Last edited by BastyCDGS; 07 February 2020 at 20:17. Reason: Improvement ideas
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 22:37   #9
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,254
I did use DiskCopy when testing my Gotek Dive [Failed]

Otherwise I use X-Copy / D-Copy.

Last edited by Nobby_UK; 07 February 2020 at 22:49.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 08 February 2020, 01:34   #10
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by BastyCDGS View Post
One thing to mention is that DiskCopy is OS friendly and multitasks well!
That is absolutely true, and probably is its stronger point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BastyCDGS View Post
In my opinion, DiskCopy should be improved by allowing disk images as source / target parameters, as well. Basically it should become something like dd on Linux.
Interesting idea.
gulliver is offline  
Old 09 February 2020, 01:40   #11
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,574
Used it when I first started copying games. Quickly found out that a lot of games copied with it didn't work (still don't actually know why).
Hewitson is offline  
Old 09 February 2020, 01:50   #12
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Used it when I first started copying games. Quickly found out that a lot of games copied with it didn't work (still don't actually know why).
DiskCopy basically can't handle any of the tricks used by game developers to prevent copying. It can't handle extra tracks or tracks with deliberate errors. AFAIK it also can't handle tracks with non-standard sync words, long tracks, etc.
roondar is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 15:11   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,516
I rarely use it, but I do use it once in a while for duplicating system-friendly disks. Since I'm not that bothered with games, and definitely not bothered with running games from disk, the standard diskcopy utility is all that I need. So I would agree that it should stay, but doesn't need any work as such.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 21:07   #14
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,065
Thank you for your valuable replies.

It seems DiskCopy has its place, despite its shortcomings.
gulliver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
well i have update my Workbench to Classic Workbench mcbone Amiga scene 0 02 May 2015 21:22
Better Looking Workbench Washac support.OtherUAE 3 21 February 2012 17:28
Where to get Workbench from? Geon106 MarketPlace 11 17 February 2011 17:10
Workbench 2.0 spannernick MarketPlace 16 01 September 2004 01:13
workbench Traquer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 December 2002 22:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07943 seconds with 15 queries