English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2020, 18:54   #1
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 168
Burnt Rapid Road - what can I do now?

Well, i've just burned Rapid Road controller. THIRD in my life. Only by connecting a pendrive. LED does not light up and controller is not recognised by Poseidon stack anymore. This time yet warranty probably already ended. What can do now? Is it "fixable"?

PS Is it really hard to add some electronic "something", don't know, to secure that if it's so sensitive? #angry
arti040 is offline  
Old 28 January 2020, 23:54   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,479
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I would email Jens and see if he can offer a repair service.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 01:50   #3
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 550
Best thing to do in the future would probably be to never plug into the controller directly and use a hub for plugging/unplugging your devices.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 09:20   #4
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 168
Best thing to do will be to not buy RR anymore Somehow it's the only controller I have (and I got almost ALL Amiga related ones - Thylacine, Subway and Highway) which broke... 3 times.
arti040 is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 17:31   #5
dkedrowitsch
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Boyertown, PA USA
Posts: 35
What kind of Amiga do you have it installed in?

If it's in a 1200 I seem to recall Jens mentioning RR is sensitive to power rail transients potentially triggering latch-up conditions (infinite current) in the RR CPLD, permanently damaging it. To prevent this it's important to have a solid 5V throughout the system, which in a 1200 can be difficult with some replacement power supplies that barely provide 5v to the input choke on the motherboard.
dkedrowitsch is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 18:17   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,516
Yep, Jens seems to blame PSUs, either the original (it's getting old and unreliable) or 3rd party (it's not good enough), yet doesn't really have an alternative suggestion to what boils down to basically just those two choices. Given that it's designed specifically for the A1200 clock port, it seems quite poor that it can't handle typical conditions found in an A1200, especially when there are other USB controllers that don't seem to show such issues.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 18:41   #7
clebin
Registered User
clebin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 330
It’s lucky my Rapid Road didn’t work for years because of driver problems. Who knows what damage I might have done should I have actually plugged something into it?

Great purchase. /s
clebin is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-Surf 100/ Rapid Road, OS 4.1FE slaapliedje support.Hardware 0 17 July 2019 06:56
XSurf 100 and Rapid Road USB ports Dynamic_Computi support.Hardware 11 09 September 2018 06:41
Rapid Road + CF issue. fluffkitten support.Hardware 2 26 June 2018 18:43
uninstall all Poseidon/ Rapid road files klx300r support.Apps 4 10 April 2017 01:25
Peripherals confirmed to work with Rapid Road USB eXeler0 support.Hardware 11 23 February 2016 15:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08142 seconds with 15 queries