English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2019, 16:43   #281
symbios24
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: greece
Posts: 45
cyberhead97 great news, please do not remove workbench 3.9

its good your image to include everything a complete setup

and if possible to do not force the Boot Selector menu to installed automatic with every workbench make it as an optional selection

is there a way to unhide and install for now ClassicWB 68K ??

and last with What WB i can install picasso96 with ??

Last edited by symbios24; 03 July 2019 at 20:41.
symbios24 is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 10:39   #282
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Amiga OS / Workbench 3.9 will remain as is.

The boot menu will be optional together with a lot of other options.

I can update Amibian v1.4.1001 with HstWB Installer 1.3.0, which comes with ClassicWB 68K.

Picasso96 should work with any WB, but on Raspberry Pi you may have to apply some manual tweaks. I recall having to copy a rtg.library last time I configured Picasso96 on Raspberry Pi, but don't remember the details. I do remember that Amiberry ran better than UAE4ARM when switching to a high resolution screenmode.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 21:28   #283
RoC
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberhead97 View Post
Thats great feedback. Thanks for testing



Due to the amount of different I plan to make a package that can install the following in any Amiga OS:
  1. Amiga boot selector menu
  2. DOpus 4.12/4.16
  3. MUI 3.8
  4. WHDLoad 18.5
  5. Accelerator utils for ACA, Furia, Blizzard, Apollo card + more



This package can be updated more frequently than HstWB and have all the essentials Amiga users need for their day to day use.



I could name it essentials.



This wouldn’t require use of HstWB Installer or self images and can be made to work on any Amiga OS and made easy to update.


Sounds a great plan. By having a separate essential package, updates are timely going into it.
RoC is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 11:54   #284
symbios24
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: greece
Posts: 45
hi, is it possible to put a custom game folder in userpackages directory so for example to install modern game engines ported for amiga eg: quake 1/2 duke nukem 3d and many more
that this site has : http://aminet.net/game

Last edited by symbios24; 07 July 2019 at 17:56.
symbios24 is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 08:39   #285
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by symbios24 View Post
hi, is it possible to put a custom game folder in userpackages directory so for example to install modern game engines ported for amiga eg: quake 1/2 duke nukem 3d and many more
that this site has : http://aminet.net/game
Sure, that's actually one of the reasons why I added the user packages.

As an example you could make a user package for AmiQuake with following steps:
  1. Download AmiQuake from http://aminet.net/game/shoot/AmiQuake.lha.
  2. Create a new directory named "AmiQuake" in user packages and extract AmiQuake.lha in it.
  3. Copy original Quake game resource files.
  4. Create a file called "_installdir." (no extension) or copy one from "eab-whdload-games" user package directory.
  5. Edit "_installdir." and write the path to where AmiQuake will be installed, eg. "DH1:Games/AmiQuake".
  6. Run the self install image and verify that it has detected the "AmiQuake" user package in the initial steps. If not, then something could be wrong with the "_installdir." file.

If you just want to install this AmiQuake user package in an existing image, you can download "user package installation" from https://hstwb.firstrealize.com/relea...tion_1.3.0.zip and extract it to parent directory of AmiQuake user package directory.

You should then have a file and directory structure like this:
  • AmiQuake (your AmiQuake user package)
  • C
  • S
  • UserPackage-Installation
  • UserPackage-Installation.info

Then start WinUAE, FS-UAE or other Amiga emulator and add the directory containing the file and directory above as a harddrive. In Workbench you can open the harddrive and double-click "UserPackage-Installation" to install AmiQuake.

It's also possible to run the user package installation on an Amiga by transferring the files to the Amiga.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 12:04   #286
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
I have updated ClassicWB FULL and ADV packages to support Amiga OS 3.1.4.

Then I started updating ClassucWB ADVSP and got some issues with the icons in Workbench looking distorted. ClassicWB ADVSP uses NewIcons so there might be some tweaks I need to apply to get it working properly.

Does anyone know what I'm missing? (see last screenshot)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_full_3.1.4_2.png
Views:	113
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	63676   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_adv_3.1.4_2.png
Views:	45
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	63677   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_advsp_icons.png
Views:	57
Size:	18.2 KB
ID:	63678  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 15:44   #287
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberhead97 View Post
I have updated ClassicWB FULL and ADV packages to support Amiga OS 3.1.4.

Then I started updating ClassucWB ADVSP and got some issues with the icons in Workbench looking distorted. ClassicWB ADVSP uses NewIcons so there might be some tweaks I need to apply to get it working properly.

Does anyone know what I'm missing? (see last screenshot)

Looks like one/more of the icon colors get(s) mapped to the window background colour. What happens if you change the window background to something completely different?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 22:09   #288
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
Looks like one/more of the icon colors get(s) mapped to the window background colour. What happens if you change the window background to something completely different?
It doesn't seem to change much with no pattern or one of ClassicWB patterns, see screenshots

Notice that the "Data" icon looks normal and all others are distorted or garbled. The "Data" icon uses a regular Amiga OS 3.1 icon and all other icons are NewIcons.

I suspect that it's somehow related to Amiga OS 3.1.4 libraries and NewIcons.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_advsp_nopattern.png
Views:	34
Size:	7.5 KB
ID:	63682   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_advsp_background.png
Views:	38
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	63683  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 23:38   #289
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
I tried renaming Libs:newicons.library to Libs:newicons.library_, which results in a dot for all NewIcon icons. I expected this result after reading other threads about ClassicWB, Scalos and icon.library from PeterK.

Now that I'm only seeing dots and no garbled icons I'm more certain that is a Amiga OS 3.1.4 and NewIcons issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_advsp_nonewicons.png
Views:	33
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	63687  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 10 July 2019, 08:53   #290
symbios24
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: greece
Posts: 45
possible fix

cyberhead97 press f12 go to display and check the line doubling box and press resume i hope this will fix the distorted issue
WB-OS-3.9 has the same issue after checking this option is looking fine
symbios24 is offline  
Old 11 July 2019, 00:26   #291
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by symbios24 View Post
cyberhead97 press f12 go to display and check the line doubling box and press resume i hope this will fix the distorted issue
WB-OS-3.9 has the same issue after checking this option is looking fine
I'm already using line mode set to double and the screen stays clear. It's only the NewIcons that doesn't work properly.

I have tried various tweaks installing NewIcons again, but none of these work.

For ClassicWB ADVSP I have therefore disabled NewIcons library and replaced all icons with the ones from ClassicWB ADV and now it works for Amiga OS 3.1.4.

Then I have ClassicWB FULL, ADV and ADVSP packages updated to support Amiga OS 3.1.4.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_advsp_3.1.4_1.png
Views:	40
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	63699   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_advsp_3.1.4_2.png
Views:	31
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	63700  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 11 July 2019, 09:19   #292
symbios24
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: greece
Posts: 45
Amigaos 3.1.4

cyberhead97 where do you got amiga os 3.1.4 is it an iso?
is there a link anywhere?
symbios24 is offline  
Old 11 July 2019, 10:42   #293
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,925
Purchase from http://www.hyperion-entertainment.com/ and participating Amiga dealers.

...and it comes on floppy disk.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 July 2019, 11:24   #294
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Purchase from http://www.hyperion-entertainment.com/ and participating Amiga dealers.

...and it comes on floppy disk.
As DamienD writes, you can buy it from Hyperion Entertainment online shop, which is where I bought mine.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 11 July 2019, 22:48   #295
frozen
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberhead97 View Post
I'm already using line mode set to double and the screen stays clear. It's only the NewIcons that doesn't work properly.

I have tried various tweaks installing NewIcons again, but none of these work.

For ClassicWB ADVSP I have therefore disabled NewIcons library and replaced all icons with the ones from ClassicWB ADV and now it works for Amiga OS 3.1.4.

Then I have ClassicWB FULL, ADV and ADVSP packages updated to support Amiga OS 3.1.4.

So when a beta of HSTWEB 1.4?
frozen is offline  
Old 12 July 2019, 00:20   #296
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,925
Chill man; Rome wasn't built in a day
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 July 2019, 23:08   #297
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by frozen View Post
So when a beta of HSTWEB 1.4?
I'm working on it and I'm almost done updating ClassicWB packages . Now I have also updated ClassicWB 68K package to support Amiga OS 3.1.4, so only ClassicWB LITE and P96 left. I won't focus on ClassicWB OS39 package to support Amiga 3.1.4 for this release as I still have to examine how that would work or even if it would work.

I'm probably going to skip beta this time as there is only a few fixes for HstWB Installer, so I will be releasing HstWB Installer v1.3.1. Most changes will be in the packages with Amiga OS 3.1.4 support.

It takes some time to make a release as its roughly 10 GB now for all the different images that has to be prepared and uploaded for each release.

But if the kids fall a sleep early (... and my wife ) over the next days, I might have the release ready late next week .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_68k_3.1.4_1.png
Views:	29
Size:	10.8 KB
ID:	63719   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_68k_3.1.4_2.png
Views:	32
Size:	18.8 KB
ID:	63720  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 13 July 2019, 09:09   #298
symbios24
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: greece
Posts: 45
Will you include ClassicWB_UAE and ClassicWB_GAAE also in this release ?

also amigaos 3.9 will be possible to install it as before?
symbios24 is offline  
Old 13 July 2019, 14:07   #299
frozen
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberhead97 View Post
I'm working on it and I'm almost done updating ClassicWB packages . Now I have also updated ClassicWB 68K package to support Amiga OS 3.1.4, so only ClassicWB LITE and P96 left. I won't focus on ClassicWB OS39 package to support Amiga 3.1.4 for this release as I still have to examine how that would work or even if it would work.

I'm probably going to skip beta this time as there is only a few fixes for HstWB Installer, so I will be releasing HstWB Installer v1.3.1. Most changes will be in the packages with Amiga OS 3.1.4 support.

It takes some time to make a release as its roughly 10 GB now for all the different images that has to be prepared and uploaded for each release.

But if the kids fall a sleep early (... and my wife ) over the next days, I might have the release ready late next week .
Ok thanks for your work.
frozen is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 13:07   #300
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by symbios24 View Post
Will you include ClassicWB_UAE and ClassicWB_GAAE also in this release ?

also amigaos 3.9 will be possible to install it as before?
I have started converting ClassicWB UAE to a package for HstWB Installer and add Amiga OS 3.1.4 support at the same time. I will also include ClassicWB GAAE in this process.

It will delay the release a bit.

I have also considered converting BestClassicWB.
cyberhead97 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HstWB Installer for Classic Amiga AMIGASYSTEM News 15 11 October 2018 22:57
Legal Issues if Sharing RP9 Snapshots? tygre Retrogaming General Discussion 17 18 September 2014 20:04
Making cf_ClassicWB_FULL.hdf bigger? emuola project.ClassicWB 3 06 June 2009 00:23
New ruling making retro-archives legal? Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 3 24 November 2006 19:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11191 seconds with 16 queries